We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Zoo is always worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kansas City Zoo

Kansas City Zoo
6800 Zoo Dr., Swope Park, Kansas City, MO 64132
816-871-5700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 98 attractions in Kansas City
Type: Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: You need at least a day to explore this expansive zoo that features a 95-acre African environment where more than 400 animals roam.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“This Zoo is always worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Kansas City Zoo is always a good value and a great day. The zoo is always adding new animals and experiences. I visit about every other year. It would be great if they could open the IMAX theater again.
I would recommend to bring your own lunch, food and service is not very good.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    143
    72
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I love this place! It keeps getting better every time we go! The staff is so friendly and nice!! The zoo map is very easy to follow and there is almost always a friendly staff member around to help you!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Perfect sized zoo for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed visiting this zoo with our grandson and his parents. We went on a Friday so it wasn't too crowded and we could easily walk around to all the areas. The Australia section was a bit hard to find since we missed it right in the beginning. The polar bear was particularly active that day and is seen so easily as he swims underwater. We also enjoyed the aerial ride and the tram ride as well as the swinging bridge. Luckily the swinging bridge wasn't swinging at all that day but I understand it can be a bit scary when bigger kids are making it swing. There's a nice snack shop near the giraffe exhibit too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
185 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Great zoo (tips included)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I'm a zoo lover and have been to around 25 zoos around the country. Would rate this in the top 10 for sure. Big zoo too, the only one i can think that is bigger is San Diego's. Nice exhibits in that the animals here have a ton of space, you definitely don't feel sorry for them as being couped up....they have room to roam and run. Their australian part was interesting in that the kangaroos and some other small animals roam free and you can walk amongst them. They don't attack, but like to watch you as you watch them. Very unique. Loved the polar bear exhibit, top notch. Boat ride across a lake and skyride in some ski-style chair lifts as well as customary train rides can help take a break from all the walking. Big big park so plan on at least 4 hrs here. We tried to rush through it and it still took 2.5 hrs to do. Exciting new Penguin exhibit coming in 2013.

Tip: Don't wear new shoes as you'll be doing a lot of walking.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We Love the KC Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The zoo is one of our family's favorite places to visit - especially the Polar Bear! My kids really have fun watching him swim and push off of the glass that shows him under the water.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kansas City Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Kansas City Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kansas City Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kansas City Zoo to your Saves list