We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Fare, Sugar Overload” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonefish Grill

Bonefish Grill
6334 North Lucerne Avenue, Kansas City, MO 64151
8167468179
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 1,214 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 45/64th St & I29
Pleasant Hill, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Fare, Sugar Overload”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The fish isn't fishy and the entrée was excellent but it's impossible to find any dishes without a great deal of sugar. Perhaps offer some sauces that are not so sweet?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bang me please !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

You have to try the bang bang shrimp ! It's the very reason my family and I visit Bonefish! The other menu items are wonderful also, including Lilys chicken and the salmon. Delish!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food but what's up with the manager?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had dinner on Sunday evening, Jan. 15, 2013. We were greeted and seated quickly around 6:00p.m. We ordered wine but it took quite a while for it to come. The waiter (Tyler) actually came to take our order before we had our wine. My husband said we'd wait until we got our wine. The wine came and my husband ordered the Bang Bang shrimp as an appetizer, which he loves. We both were going to have the Dorado (Mahi Mahi) special but when we started to order the waiter said, "Oh, sorry, we ran out of that". It would have been nice to have known that before we started to order. I ordered the tilapia and garlic mashed potatoes and my husband had the Lily's chicken entrée. Both entrees were very good. While we were dining, I noticed that someone that appeared to be the manager to be speaking with a couple that were sitting behind us. He stayed at their table about 20 minutes and then came back with bread for them and then talked about 10 more minutes. I asked our waiter if that was the manager (explaining there was nothing wrong), he said it was. It was obvious, that the manager knew the couple. What I found very strange was that the restaurant was getting very busy at the time and I know our waiter could have used a little help. The manager finished talking to the couple and just walked back to the kitchen. He did not go to any of the other tables to check on food or service. We were there from about 6:00 to 7:30 and never did I see the manager go through the restaurant and check on anything. We enjoyed our dinner but as I said our waiter (Tyler who was trying his best) was a bit overworked and could have used a little help from the manager (at least he could have come around and asked). I think maybe I've watched too many TV food shows to see how things are suppose to be done.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
699 reviews 699 reviews
451 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had just flown in to Kansas City and our airport food lunch just wasn't holding us anymore. We decided to give Bonefish a try and I'm so glad we did.

We arrived around 4:45 pm and were seated immediately. Our waitress was named Stephanie and she was friendly, upbeat and knowledgeable about the menus.

Hubby ordered the filet w shrimp. I had the pork chop. Yum. I also had the beet and goat cheese salad. Delish! I also had the pumpkin ravioli.

I didn't finish my entree so that I could save room for dessert. And that was a smart move! We shared a slice of the house-made key lime pie. Yum!!!

The bill for all of that food was around $50. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"Good food for empty tummy"!;-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We've been here twice, foods and service were really great!. If your a seafood lover this is the right place for you.

Light was dim which give a kind'a romantic ambiance but if your reading the menu it wil really give you hard time especially if you have eye sight problem.
It was not a spacious restaurant that you really need to wait for available table so I suggest for a weekdays dinner so it won't be that busy.

Overall this is our favorite restaurant in our travel here in Kansas,MO.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bonefish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonefish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.