We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KU visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Kansas City International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Kansas City International Airport to your Saves list
Days Inn Kansas City International Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11120 Northwest Ambassador Drive, I-29 Exit 12, Kansas City, MO 64153   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    81
    66
    39
    30
See reviews for
82
50
35
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galena, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a weekend getaway. The hotel was very nice and clean. The room was very comfortable. The staff was very knowledgeable about the area attractions and we enjoyed the local restaurants, movie theater and a casino. The only issue was that the fire alarm went off. We called down to the front desk who told us to please leave the building immediately, which we did. We sat in front of the hotel talking with the other patrons and staff. The fire department came and checked the hotel and then gave the all clear to go back in. I thought the staff handled the situation very professionally and appreciated the way they made sure that every room was empty and that people did not go back into the building until they were sure that it was safe. I would definitely stay here again and hope to do so soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Okay, for the price it is not bad. I travel to KC about once a month and all I need is just a place to crash. The hotel is short staffed as there is nobody that watches the counter when they have to make a trip to the airport. It is not far but have had to wait up to 20 minutes in the lobby before to get checked in. Rooms are spacious for the price. The bathrooms are small but doable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Between work and family fun I travel quite often. I can honestly say this was the worst hotel stay I have had in a few years. Reading my other reviews it can be seen that I generally give a fair review and dont expect to much from hotels that are generally regarded as budget to moderately priced hotels. This was an all around bad stay that started with poor customer service from the general manager. Check in was difficult and our group was not the only one having issues. The cleanliness of our room was below average, furniture was damaged, breakfast was poorly stocked with sour milk and the overall cleanliness of the hotel was terrible. I have to say we did recieve better customer service with some of the night crew and the indoor pool was decent sized, but outside of that I would explore the several other options in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

The Good: Comfortable mattress, not too loud for being close to the airport, accommodating early shuttle service, very nice staff.

The Bad: Parking listed as 'free public', but it's $5/day to park and fly with one night stay, breakfast doesn't start until 5am (the staff did get us packaged muffins and milk @ 4am), dated decor, not really any close restaurants( but shuttle can be taken), hotel definitely is showing wear and tear, but not too bad for a cheap place for one night.

The Ugly: I called to book early and asked specific questions about parking costs, shuttle, and breakfast times. Every answer I received was incorrect! Staff did accommodate us though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambler_9, Manager at Days Inn Kansas City International Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for writing a review. we do not mislead but we have no control of websites accept days inn.com where true information is available. and we sell park and fly packages that includes parking. free parking is for the night that guest stays not for long term parking that is why we sell packages online and directly at hotel. so please when you making a reservations in advance please ask for park and fly packages if not then we charges $5.00 per day parking so please call us directly or visit daysinn.com.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was by far one of the WORST stays I have ever experienced. I'm not prissy. I've been to some luxury hotels and some "just adequate" places. We were booked at the airport Holiday Inn for 2 nights but got into town early and got a room here. BIGGGGG mistake!
When we arrived the shuttle driver dropped our stuff out in the driveway. We had no help into the lobby. No reception, no hello, not even a smile. We had to roll our bags AROUND paint trays left in the middle of the lobby (middle of the day). After navigating the obstacle course we managed to make it to the front desk and all the Indian Staff...obviously family. Nepitism at it's worst. We got cold stares and the one person who seemed to speak the best English checked us in and told us check out was at noon. As we were walking to our room we were stopped and told we had to pay an extra "pet-fee" though on Priceline it said tthis was a pet friendly hotel...they were not happy and eager to collect an extra fee from us.
After cramming into the elevator we prayed we'd reach our room (only 2nd floor) because the elevator lurched and banged the whole way up. But it get's better!
When we get into the room: Carpets greasy and dirty. Walls a mess holes, stains streaks of God knows what. trying not to be biased I hoped at least a warm shower would relax everyone. But alas...the bathroom though appearing tidy at first glance...REEKED of urine! I could barely sit on the toilet without gagging and was couldn't believe it smelled like a man's urinal! We skipped showers and kept the bathroom door closed so cats wouldn't get sick.
The next day at 11:00 they began knocking on our door, and ringing us on the phone asking when we going to check out. By this time my mother was livid. We left and on the way downstairs were told check-out was actually at 11. Not clear on Anything there and just dirty, dirty, dirty!
Breakfast was below average. No fruit...eggs, and just the coffee that was available tasted like someone filled the water from our dirty toilet. Could not wait to leave. Of course they let us sit out front without even asking if we needed a shuttle ride back to the airport...or if we had accomadattions elsewhere and needed a taxi. Ultimate lack of caring for customers.
I wouldn't stay here again if I was broke and hadn't slept for a week! i would stay in the airport, curl up on my carry-ons as a pillow and use the airport bathrooms. It would have been a better experience and i would have been able to get something edible.
Whoever says this hotel is acceptable must be used to staying in squatters filth and being treated like trash because I rarely bother to write reviews. A few spectacular stays that were noteworthy. But this is the first time I was compelled to tell of a miserable experience in an effort to warn people away from the dilapidated NIGHTMARE. With the paint in the lobby it was apparent they are trying to "re-model"....themselves. No professionals involved! And it SHOWS. Ackkkkkk!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here. The only plus was we didn't get robbed or murdered in our sleep. Supreme nasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Kansas City International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kansas City International Airport

Address: 11120 Northwest Ambassador Drive, I-29 Exit 12, Kansas City, MO 64153
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Kansas City International Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn at Kansas City International Airport"Making Great Things Happen!"This Days Inn is only a 5-minute drive from Kansas City International Airport and offers a freeshuttle service from 4am to midnight and later(must call property for later flights). It features an indoor pool and spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi.Offers park and fly program.Guest rooms at Days Inn Kansas City International Airport are furnished with a work desk and a lounge chair. Each includes cable TV, bath toiletries and a hair dryer.Kansas City Airport Days Inn serves a deluxe continental breakfast includes waffle and biscuits and gravy and much more for extended hours 5 am to 9 am. The front desk is available 24-hours and a business center is in the lobby.The KCI Expo Convention Center is one mile from the Days Inn Airport Kansas City hotel. Zona Rosa Shopping Center is a 10-minute drive from the hotel and downtown Kansas City is only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Kansas City International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kansas City International Airport Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Kansas City International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.