We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105 (Formerly Radisson Hotel & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #39 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Paola, Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Walking distance to many attractions in KC. The suite was beautiful and very large. Anytime I have things to do downtown, I'll stay here. The walkin closet was large enough to put a bed in it.
The view was stunning. Perks were nice too, executive lounge with cocktails and appetizers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear mrspcamp,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your visit at the Crowne Plaza - Kansas City Downtown.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and were able to take advantage of our Executive Lounge; the view of the city is beautiful. Being in such a prime location to so many attractions, restaurants and different venues is also a big plus.

We look forward to your next visit and can't wait to have you back as our guest again!

Thanks,

Ashley Blair
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    102
    51
    26
    26
See reviews for
43
66
17
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I come to Kansas City a few times a year for my job and every time I choose to stay at this hotel because of the excellent customer service I receive. Every time I check in, Rachel always greets me by name with a big smile. The rooms here are comfortable, clean and I love the welcome gift that is always waiting for me. I stay at a lot of different hotels and I must say that no other places value the fact that I am a platinum member like this one. I always look forward to going to the lounge after a long trip. The young lady, Lorianna, who is the bar tender in the lounge always knows exactly what drink I want and gives great service. Whenever I order room service it arrives quickly and the food is delicious. The house keepers do a wonderful job at making sure my room is tidy by the time I return from my meetings, I never have to ask for clean towels and extra soap, shampoo etc. Everyone that I have came in contact with at this hotel is friendly and willing to bend over backwards for whatever it is that I need. I have no complaints about this facility whatsoever! I wish all of the places I stay through out the US were exactly like the Crowne Plaza in KC!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Justjosie443,

Wow! Thank you for such wonderful comments about the Crowne Plaza - Kansas City Downtown. I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoy your stay each time you visit.

I want to thank you for recognizing our associates, I have shared your comments and it has really made their day! We take pride in providing great customer service and appreciate when it is recognized.

I am pleased to hear you enjoy the comfort of our rooms as well as our Executive Lounge; it does offer great snacks and drinks plus a beautiful view of the city.

We can't wait to have you back the next time you are in Kansas City.

Thank you!

Ashley Blair
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here one night to see a show at Kansas City Music Hall. This hotel is right across the street from the Music Hall. Definitely the closest hotel, a very easy walk. Our room was clean and we had no problems at this hotel. We will stay here next time we attend a Music Hall Show.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear tdrm,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the Crowne Plaza – Kansas City Downtown. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially our location. It is very convenient to several of venues throughout the city.

We look forward to having you as our guest again the next time you attend a show at the Music Hall.

Thank you!

Ashley Blair
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I only stayed here 1 night in November 2013, but I wish I could have stayed longer.
The hotel is great and in a wonderful location downtown Kansas City. The walk to Power and Light was under 5 minutes.

Pros:

- upgraded to executive room / suite as a Platinum Member (the suite even had a walk-in closet, first walk-in closet I have ever seen in a hotel room)
- fast elevators
- fast internet speed
- very nice executive or platinum lounge (that does not charge for drinks)
- great water pressure
- extremely nice and clean rooms
- multiple power outlets everywhere

Cons:

- absolutely none come to mind

All in all, this was an awesome property and I will certainly return on future visits to Kansas City.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Majones7,

Thank you for your excellent review of the Crowne Plaza – Kansas City Downtown, as a valued IHG Rewards Club member we appreciate your feedback.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed everything about your stay; we would love to have you as our guest again in the future so you are able to enjoy the Concierge Lounge and one of our spacious suites again.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience with us!

Ashley Blair
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have had nothing but great experiences at this hotel. I usually come in for big concerts like the recent Pink show....which was a lot of fun. Gwen at the front desk was super nice and really made me and my crew feel at home. I'll be back for some concerts in 2014. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear MoverShakerUSA,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza - Kansas City Downtown! I am happy to read that you had such a wonderful experience while staying in our hotel and a even happier to read that you will be back!

Thank you for recognizing our associates, I have shared your comments and it made their day!

Thank you!

Ashley Blair
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here for three nights to attend a conference at the Convention Center. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly--ready to bend over backward to accommodate you in any way possible. Excellent breakfast and Manager's reception for HI rewards members.

Room Tip: Room was incredibly spacious. We had a king suite and it was more than enough to make us feel at hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear DFoster_12,

Thank you for your kind words about the Crowne Plaza – Kansas City Downtown. Our staff takes great pride in making sure every guest encounter is a pleasant one and will do whatever it takes to make sure each and every guest feels welcome. I am pleased to hear you were able to enjoy our Concierge Lounge and our breakfast in the restaurant. Next time, we hope you will try the dinner and desert menus – our Chef has come up with some delicious menu items.

We look forward to your next visit to Kansas City and welcome you back!

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience.

Ashley Blair
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The elevator was not available for the parking garage so I had to carry all my luggage down the stairs and then to the other set of the elevators to get to my room. When I called 3 days later to find out if the elevator was working, I was told it was never broken. The room was ok; although the plumbing needs to be updated. The service was inconsistent. Sometimes I had a very helpful person; other times the person was rude and did not follow through on my request.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear megustaleer,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the service you received during your stay. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza
Address: 1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105 (Formerly Radisson Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.