We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #47 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Humboldt, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Okay, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

I stayed in this hotel because I was attending a function at the convention center. It was very convenient for that purpose. There is a bus that stops just outside the hotel (the MAX bus) that makes it very convenient for seeing the city. The hotel is okay, but needs some updating and renovations. The room did show signs of wear throughout - a torn lamp, some scuff marks on the wall, and a mark on the bedding - nothing major, but altogether it made it feel a little worn. The room was small, but the bed was comfortable. The hotel seemed to use some kind of highly scented cleaning product in the room, which I found to be unpleasantly strong. No problems with hotel staff, and when I had a problem (towels left in a pile on the bathroom floor after cleaning) it was resolved promptly.

  • Liked — Close to convention center
  • Disliked — Needs a renovation
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    114
    70
    32
    34
See reviews for
55
71
20
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

The rooms need a major overhaul - dirty carpet, dirty furniture, peeling wallpaper, bathtub with dirty non-slip stickers on the base of the tub...just gave me the eeby-jeebies. For $119 per night in KC, I felt robbed. I wouldn't take my flip-flops off in the room.

The only good thing about this hotel is its location to the Convention Center and the new Power & Light District and Sprint Center. If you want to be walking distance to either of these venues, and don't care about having a nice room, or you find a way to spend only $50 per night on a room at the Crowne, then do it. Otherwise I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We decided to go to Kansas City last minute for Memorial Weekend. We booked this hotel on Hotwire for $69/night plus taxes.

Location: The hotel is downtown, adjacent from the Convention Center. There are restaurants within walking distance. It is about a mile from Union Station/Crown Center. About 5 miles from Westport/Country Club Plaza.

Rooms: Rooms were fine. Beds were comfortable. There was no mini-fridge but there was a coffee maker in room. The bathroom was a little small. There is a pool on the 7th floor but we did not use it so can't comment.

Parking: There is also a $13 per day parking charge that allows for in/out access. The parking garage elevators were not always working but it wasn't a big deal to walk down/up a few flights.

The only complaint I had is that I went on a 1/2 hour search for a bottle of water. Vending machines are on random floors - some had food vending, others had soda. I walked around forever trying to find a machine that had water. I finally gave up.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Parking garage elevators
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

We stayed at this hotel as a stop on a road trip. We got a great deal on the room and I wasn't expecting much for how little we paid. The lobby was very nice, and the staff was very courteous. We had a late dinner in one of the restaurants inside the hotel and it was very good. The room itself was a little on the small side, but the Sleep Number bed more than made up for it. I slept like a rock, which is saying a lot considering I usually never sleep well in hotels. We ordered room service breakfast and it was decent and on time. Thank god the hotel had restaurants inside, or we would have starved, we couldn't find anywhere to eat nearby besides an adults only bar! The Marriott light show was really cool too if you get a chance to see it. Overall I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The super comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — Nowhere to eat nearby.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

There is nothing that special about this hotel. The grand, open lobby is deceiving and makes you feel like you are about to experience something wonderful. The first step out of the elevator into the claustrophobic hallways lead us to our small room with a decent view. I guess the room wouldn't have seemed so small but the ceilings were very low and made us feel stifled. The walls are thin and we experienced alot of noise disturbance. I guess that is why they provide the handy sleep kit. Can't complain about the Sleep Number bed and nice pillows/linens. TVs are outdated and very limited in channel options. Friendly and courteous service and the location is convenient to all that Kansas City has to offer, however, price of parking is not included with the hotel.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teague, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

My father and I came into KC on 12 March for the Big 12 basketball tournament with other family members joining us 15 March for spring-break. At various points we had rooms on the 26th and 27th floors.

Our experience with the Crowne Plaza was positive. The rooms had ample space, seemed to be newly renovated, had comfortable beds, and provided great views over the city.

We found all employees of the hotel to be friendly and service-oriented. The front desk personnel in particular do a great job. One thing the hotel does very, very well is provide written directions to various points of interest in the city. We found this to be invaluable.

As a downtown hotel, many restaurants are geared to the lunch crowd. However the Light & Power Entertainment district is only 3 blocks away (in the direction of the Sprint Center) and provides a good selection of restaurants and bars.

The Crowne Plaza is perfectly located for events at Municipal Auditorium and the Sprint Center. Casino Cruiser (city bus service with bus stop just outside the Marriott) provides cheap transportation to 3 casinos.

We had no complaints from the 6 members in our party, ranging in age from 12 to 73. We were quite satisfied with the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodway, TX
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

We were recently in Kansas City for the Big 12 Basketball Tournament. We had stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and found it to be totally inadequate. We thought surely in 3 years, some changes would have been made, especially since there is new ownership.
Check-in went smoothly in spite of our being told that the reservation had been cancelled.( They did upgrade us from a queen to a king, and I can guess the cancellation was for the former room)
The room was so small that we were literally climbing over each other and our suitcases the whole time we were there. The carpets are old and have not been updated for a long time. There was one chair, but there were two of us.
The worst, however, was the tiny bathroom. There was a pedestal sink with absolutely no room to put anything. It was practically impossible to put in our contacts or shave, since the lavatory stopper was stuck in the "open" position.
Another problem is that the surrounding restaurants mostly close at 3 p.m., making it most difficult to find anything to eat between sessions except the hot dogs in the Municipal Auditorium, where the tournament was conducted. The only reason for staying at the Crowne Plaza is that it is directly across the street from the arena. As great as that was, it was overshadowed by the miserable conditions in the room.

  • Liked — proximity to sporting event we attended
  • Disliked — most inconvenient room ever
  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Address: 1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.