We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105 (Formerly Radisson Hotel & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #39 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a good hotel very near the convention center. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The room was clean with a good typical size bathroom. They allowed me to print my boarding pass in the business center for free which is very nice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Scrappy30,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good stay with us and you found our staff welcoming and helpful and enjoyed the comfort of our rooms.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to the Kansas City area.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    102
    51
    26
    26
See reviews for
43
66
17
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Let me begin by saying that Crowne Plaza is a nice hotel with a good location, and I'm sure many people will probably have good experience. HOWEVER, this is by far the worst hotel experience I've ever had...

My friends and I chose the Crowne Plaza precisely for its location for my bachelorette party. We arrived late afternoon and went straight up to the room. The FIRST room they gave us took us by surprise because one of the beds looked messy as if someone had been laying in it. There were also room keys on the table, which was strange. The room was *freezing* and was stuck on cold so the only way to get it to stop was to unplug the whole unit. We called down to the front desk to complain about the air situation and they said someone from maintenance was being sent up. Then my friend went into the bathroom and discovered URINE on the toilet seat. So we called down to the front desk and ask for a different room. The maintenance guy was young kid and came to escort us to the second room.

We couldn't even get into the SECOND room they gave us as the lock on the door had no electricity. There was even a post-it on the door that said the room's key lock wasn't working. The kid called down to the front desk and talked for a bit trying to find a place for us to go. He mentioned to us that someone had been moved out of the first room we were assigned (hence, the messed up bed, room card, and urine) and yet they gave that room any way. Anyway, we explained we had dinner reservations and needed to shower quickly. He called down to the front desk again to no avail, telling us we could use the executive lounge and get free drinks--we explained, again, that we need to shower. Which then led to us being told to go use the shower down in the workout room....REALLY?!

Finally, we ask to speak with a manager, and we went down to the first desk. The manager argued with us about just being up at the second room and the card worked, but the maintenance kid chimed in that it wasn't. The manager told us she had no options because they were at 100% capacity. We asked if everyone had checked in for the night and if not, we needed to be given priority because the room was pre-paid, and we were there now. After a few more minutes of arguing, she "magically" found a room. After a few more remarks were exchanged about how she was saying they were at capacity then found a room. She just shrugged her shoulders and said "sorry".

The THIRD room we were given was just fine, but this entire ordeal from check-in to getting in the last room took an entire hour. We were late to dinner, obviously. The hotel did nothing for us, not even a free breakfast. When we checked out and asked to speak with a different manager or a GM, we were just given a card and they said you can "email" your complaint.

I've never had so many problems with a hotel! It's not a cheap hotel at $200 a night, and they didn't express the least bit of care. Like I said, I'm sure other people have had and will have good experiences, but I will never recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Emily D,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had getting a room and we are sorry that it made you late to your dinner. We've shared your comments with our team so we can do a better job. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please don't hesitate to give me a call.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean rooms, good location. This was good enough for me since we just needed a place to sleep. Stayed in a room with a great view. Starbucks is inside - loved that, City Grill has a good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Rebecca M,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Kansas City Crowne Plaza Downtown. We are glad to hear you found the staff friendly, the rooms clean and the location worked out well for you, also thank you for staying for breakfast and visiting our Starbucks.

We look forward to having you back again the next time you travel to Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newalla
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

At the front desk, James Loony checked us in and was very helpful, suggesting Maker's Mark for dinner, when I requested some recommendations, which turned out to be perfect, and giving me a late check-out so I could wait in our room for my husband to conclude his business. The bed was comfortable; the extendable, lighted 5x makeup mirror in the bathroom a nice addition (and a first for hotel bathrooms in my experience); the view from the 26th floor enjoyable; and the room otherwise satisfactory except for these items: The tub was so slippery as to be an accident waiting to happen; the tile appeared to be mildewed (also a first, but of the negative variety); and the free Wi-Fi perhaps had insufficient bandwidth (?? -- I'm no techie) and was useless throughout out stay (KCCEF was only sporadically available).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Lauren K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay here at the Kansas City Crowne Plaza Downtown. We appreciate you recognizing one of our front desk associates and we are glad the dinner recommendation turned out to be perfect. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our beds and the magnified extendable mirror and you certainly can't beat the view from the 26th floor. We have shared your comments about the tub and internet with our team so we can investigate.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were fortunate to get a suite for the regular price. Now we are spoiled. Very nice room, except bathroom-toilet & shower compartment very small. The carpeting appeared a bit old. TVs were great with HD. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately or may be not, Kansas City downtown is not very active, but you can get all you need, such as a fairly priced grocery store, a movie theater, and lots of restaurants in close walking distance. The KC convention center is a couple of blocks away, in case you have to attend something there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear RealPerson65,

Thank you for your review of the Kansas City Crowne Plaza Downtown. We are glad you got spoiled by one of our spacious suites and you enjoyed your stay and you found the our staff to be helpful and friendly.

We hope to have you back as our guest again the next time you visit Kansas City.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrae01
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Downtown Kansas City. You are close to everything. We had a great stay except for the fact that our room was across the hall from the room with the ice machine. Both nights I would wake to the ice machine filling or someone getting ice numerous times. We were in town to run a half marathon so sleep was especially important.
The room was comfortable and clean. The shower is short. Not a problem for us but taller people may have a hard time ducking down. Also, our tub drain was slow and the tub backed up with water during showers.
We noticed charges on our bill for three phone calls that we did not make (in fact, we were running at the time the calls were placed). The front desk removed the charges and apologized.
I would consider staying at this hotel again if we are in KC.

Room Tip: We were on the 19th floor which had a great view of downtown - just avoid the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear terrae01,

Thank you for your review of your past stay at the Kansas City Crowne Plaza. Hearing from our guests helps us provide the best experience possible. We are glad to hear you found the room comfortable and clean and enjoyed our Great Location. We apologize for the ice machine noise, the slow tub drain and the mistake on your bill. Hopefully that didn't affect your performance on your 13.1 mile run.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great location, which is right next to the Power & Light area. Especially good service by the front desk; Ashley was a delight to work with. Could use some new carpets and a little updating but this place really makes for a convenient stay in the Kansas City area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guy S,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. We are glad you had a Great Stay and we appreciate you recognizing our front desk associates. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to Kansas City.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza
Address: 1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105 (Formerly Radisson Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.