We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Visalia, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean rooms, good location. This was good enough for me since we just needed a place to sleep. Stayed in a room with a great view. Starbucks is inside - loved that, City Grill has a good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Rebecca M,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Kansas City Crowne Plaza Downtown. We are glad to hear you found the staff friendly, the rooms clean and the location worked out well for you, also thank you for staying for breakfast and visiting our Starbucks.

We look forward to having you back again the next time you travel to Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    120
    74
    35
    36
See reviews for
59
76
20
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newalla
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

At the front desk, James Loony checked us in and was very helpful, suggesting Maker's Mark for dinner, when I requested some recommendations, which turned out to be perfect, and giving me a late check-out so I could wait in our room for my husband to conclude his business. The bed was comfortable; the extendable, lighted 5x makeup mirror in the bathroom a nice addition (and a first for hotel bathrooms in my experience); the view from the 26th floor enjoyable; and the room otherwise satisfactory except for these items: The tub was so slippery as to be an accident waiting to happen; the tile appeared to be mildewed (also a first, but of the negative variety); and the free Wi-Fi perhaps had insufficient bandwidth (?? -- I'm no techie) and was useless throughout out stay (KCCEF was only sporadically available).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Lauren K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay here at the Kansas City Crowne Plaza Downtown. We appreciate you recognizing one of our front desk associates and we are glad the dinner recommendation turned out to be perfect. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our beds and the magnified extendable mirror and you certainly can't beat the view from the 26th floor. We have shared your comments about the tub and internet with our team so we can investigate.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were fortunate to get a suite for the regular price. Now we are spoiled. Very nice room, except bathroom-toilet & shower compartment very small. The carpeting appeared a bit old. TVs were great with HD. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately or may be not, Kansas City downtown is not very active, but you can get all you need, such as a fairly priced grocery store, a movie theater, and lots of restaurants in close walking distance. The KC convention center is a couple of blocks away, in case you have to attend something there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear RealPerson65,

Thank you for your review of the Kansas City Crowne Plaza Downtown. We are glad you got spoiled by one of our spacious suites and you enjoyed your stay and you found the our staff to be helpful and friendly.

We hope to have you back as our guest again the next time you visit Kansas City.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrae01
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Downtown Kansas City. You are close to everything. We had a great stay except for the fact that our room was across the hall from the room with the ice machine. Both nights I would wake to the ice machine filling or someone getting ice numerous times. We were in town to run a half marathon so sleep was especially important.
The room was comfortable and clean. The shower is short. Not a problem for us but taller people may have a hard time ducking down. Also, our tub drain was slow and the tub backed up with water during showers.
We noticed charges on our bill for three phone calls that we did not make (in fact, we were running at the time the calls were placed). The front desk removed the charges and apologized.
I would consider staying at this hotel again if we are in KC.

Room Tip: We were on the 19th floor which had a great view of downtown - just avoid the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear terrae01,

Thank you for your review of your past stay at the Kansas City Crowne Plaza. Hearing from our guests helps us provide the best experience possible. We are glad to hear you found the room comfortable and clean and enjoyed our Great Location. We apologize for the ice machine noise, the slow tub drain and the mistake on your bill. Hopefully that didn't affect your performance on your 13.1 mile run.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great location, which is right next to the Power & Light area. Especially good service by the front desk; Ashley was a delight to work with. Could use some new carpets and a little updating but this place really makes for a convenient stay in the Kansas City area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guy S,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. We are glad you had a Great Stay and we appreciate you recognizing our front desk associates. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to Kansas City.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The Crowne Plaza Hotel near the Power and Light District in Kansas City reminds me of a property that appeared on that "Hotel Impossible" renovation TV show, but didn't learn much from it. The hotel was mostly dead -- missing that hustle-and-bustle that I prefer -- until about 3am, when the guests in neighboring rooms could be heard through the thin walls and doors. That, coupled with the dirty pillows/curtains/shower curtain and the small beds (our reservation was for 2 queen beds, but we were given 2 double beds instead) made this hotel a major disappointment for all 4 of us. In addition, the hotel didn't have complimentary breakfast that people expect these days, and the "restaurant" was more or less a bunch of tables and chairs pushed together in an empty room. There was a bar but no bartender. I would pay the extra $20 and stay at the close-by Hilton or Marriott, which are closer to the P&LD anyways.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear jrebrovich,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm sorry the hotel didn't meet your expectations and I apologize for the housekeeping issues. Hopefully you let us know about them so we could take care of them for you. I have shared your comments with the team so we can do a better job. I'm not sure where you got your reservation information about queen beds as we have double and king beds throughout our hotel.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I have nothing but great things to say about this property. The location is perfect, the parking is convenient (and very reasonably priced), and the staff are AMAZING. I want to give a huge shout out to Ashley (supervisor) and Gwen (front desk agent). They are a pleasure to work with and make you feel like the most important guest on the property. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Traveler1Nebraska,

Thank you for such a great review of our hotel and recognizing our associates. You can't beat our location for all the activities downtown and we are glad you found the parking to be convenient.

We look forward to having you back for another great stay the next time you travel to Kansas City.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Address: 1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.