We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOOPING IT UP IN KC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #38 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Edwardsville, Il.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“HOOPING IT UP IN KC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel during the NCAA basketball tournament. My overall impression was that I would have no problem staying here on a return visit to KC. The hotel is located a couple of blocks from the Power & Light entertainment district/Sprint Center. Registration was pleasant and fast. The king room was in good condition and adequately sized for two people. Room storage is good, including a closet and two very deep drawers. They do make you work for the in-room coffee. The TV, light and coffee maker all compete for two outlets. The coffee make loses this battle. So...if you want coffee you have to crawl under the desk to plug it in (and unplug it later.) My wife really like the back-lit magnifying mirror in the bath room. There is no in-room refrigerator. Room WiFi is average. There is a Starbucks in the lobby. The prices are better than you can find in most DT locations. The three elevators are very fast. We ate breakfast in the hotel dining room one AM and found our dishes well prepared. Expect to pay hotel restaurant prices. There is local Max bus that runs in front of the hotel. You can take this bus from the River North area to the Country club Plaza area. $3 all day fare.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear JRTheChief,

Thank you for your review of your past stay at the Kansas City Crowne Plaza Downtown. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and the king room. I have shared your comments about the power outlet with our Chief Engineer so he can find a solution and I appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time your visit Kansas City.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    111
    59
    30
    30
See reviews for
50
68
20
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clay Center, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the NCAA basketball tourny. This hotel is within walking distance of the sprint center and the power and light district. Our stay here was very short and the hotel is average. We had a king suite and the room was nice. The bed was comfortable and the room was pretty clean. We were given a handicapped room which was fine but we did not ask for it. The toilet made a horrible, very loud, humming noise everytime it was flushed and the sink in the bathroom dripped continously even though I repeatedly tried to turn it off. The view from the room was nice and would be really neat in the summer when the outdoor pool was open because it overlooked the pool. Valet parking was great and our vehicle was retrieved very quickly! It's a nice place to stay but not worth the over $250 we paid for the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear laura21496,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. I'm glad to hear you found your suite nice, the bed comfortable and the room clean as well as the nice view and great valet parking. I apologize for the toilet noise and the dripping sink; I would have hoped you would have let us know, so we could have taken care of that for you, during your stay. Our rates are very comparable in the downtown market during major sporting events. I'm sorry you didn't feel it was worth the money.

We hope that you will be our guest again the next time you travel to Kansas City.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was supposed to be business hotel quality. Although the hotel location is good for downtown amenities, the hotel experience was well below what I'd expect from a 4 star hotel. The decor was tired (and I Was even supposed to be in an executive room) and the customer service ranged from below average (check in) to complete indifference (the lobby bar / food and check out).

Try one of the other downtown hotels - I will be next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Dave W,

Thank you for your review of your past stay here at the Kansas City Crowne Plaza. Hearing from our guests helps us provide the best experience possible. I am very sorry we didn't meet your expectations and I would be interested to hear any details about your stay you may want to express. I can be reached at jwynn@thehotelgroup.com or by contacting the hotel directly.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had been booked in a neighboring hotel & experienced many, many problems. We were able to check out of there, as someone in our party found us rooms at the Crowne Plaza, for even less than we had spent on a teeny-tiny, old room at the other place.
We felt as though we had stepped into heaven upon stepping into our room. It was huge, new, clean & had a beautiful view overlooking the city and a sunset, We were treated to a wonderful breakfast in the mornings and a cocktail hour in the evenings, after acquiring access to the concierge level.
Great service, great room, great price, & Starbucks in the hotel, not much more to say, except stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for the city view with a sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear kjm1164,

Thank you for the great comments about our hotel. I'm glad you were able to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer. The next time you travel to Kansas City, we hope we will be your first choice.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Worst hotel I have stayed at in awhile. Location is good. For two days a bag of dirty towels was left in hall along with a microwave. Restaurant was overwhelmed at breakfast so that chef had to come out and help. Breakfast buffet was cold and items were depleted and not refilled. Noisy. Decor was tired. I will not return.

I travel about 40 days per year for work and pleasure. This was by far my worst experience in a few years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Hmm1960,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We're very sorry we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with our management team so we can do a better job with the items you mentioned.

The next time you're in Kansas City, we hope you will come back and see the changes we have made and tell us what you think.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stay at the Crowne Plaza every trip I make to KC. The location is unbeatable, just a short 5 minute 2 block walk to the Sprint Center and Power and Light. The beds are OUTSTANDING Sleep Number beds! One of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. Also serves great views of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Jacob S,

Thank you for your review of your past stay at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. You can't beat our location or the views of the city. I'm glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and we look forward to having you back as our guest again the next time you travel to Kansas City.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The great view was my favorite part of this hotel. Yes, the rooms were a bit hotel dated, but it was not awful or 80's or anything. They were clean, the bed & sheets were great & it was quiet. The entry was nice & the room service food was good as well. I really thought that aside from the view/windows that the next best thing here was the friendly staff. They really seemed caring & I felt that they tried to be friendly even on my short stay there. My third like on this hotel is the location- it is really easy to get to downtown areas by car or walking from here & also easy to get on the highways. Not a bad choice at all for a business traveller or a group/couple coming in town for a weekend of fun- I would return if the opportunity came up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Keleeisenhauer,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. I'm glad you enjoyed the great views from the hotel. I have shared your comments about the cleanliness of your room and the friendliness of the staff with everyone, they always like to hear that our guests are happy with our service.

We look forward to having you as our guest again the next time you travel to Kansas City.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Address: 1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.