We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Independence, Missouri
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We didn't stay at the hotel, we went to the Bar at Crowne Plaza. Lisa,our server was very attentive, and informative when I could not choose from the many items that looked tempting on the menu. Rick eventually chose the bison burger with the sea salt french fries, I chose The house salad with basil vinaigrette and the Turkey croissant. The Chef was very accommodating when I wanted to make a few changes with a salad which was by the way, delightful. The portions were more than expected,and the food phenomenal for a very reasonable price. We will DEFINITELY be back, and I'm sure on a regular basis. We also looked in at there High End restaurant and it looked beautiful. We will be trying it also.


Sincerely,
Sheila Simonds

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    120
    74
    35
    36
See reviews for
59
76
20
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I come to KCMO on a regular basis. My boyfriend and I decided to celebrate his birthday downtown. Selecting Crowne Plaza was a great choice. It's near the Power and Light District so enjoying the scenery was really convenient! The rooms are plush and modern. I appreciated the amenities such as free wifi and business center so I can take care of basic needs. I haven't had a chance to eat at the restaurant yet but the menu is enticing. Will try it the next time I book a room!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Although downtown Kansas City is in the midst of major roadway and bridge renovation and construction in all directions I found the Crown Plaza located downtown to be an oasis of comfort and calm amidst the storm of jackhammers and detours. I can only imagine how much greater it will be when all of the of the civic distractions disappear. That being said the management and staff went above and beyond the industry standards of service to ensure that my birthday weekend was one to remember for all the right reasons. Keep up the good work CP and I will continue to recommend you to family and friends.

J Darren Tinker

Room Tip: I feel the best rooms are facing eastward upper level which enable you to see the Power and Light di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Fully enjoyed our stay. All of the employees save one were great. The parking lot elevators were not working Sunday morning. When I told the manager, who was busy chatting with a bellman, of the problem, he blew it off with, "they are always slow at check out time." On our ride down in a different bank of elevators a man and his little boy told of one the the parking lot elevators being stuck on their floor. Had the manager seemed at all interested, I would have shared that. As it was, we had to drag our luggage up four flights of stairs. With this type of leadership, it is amazing that the rest of the employees are so good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed one night (Friday) in August to attend a Royals game with family. I confess I normally would have picked a more budget-oriented place (HI, HI Express) on outskirts but wanted to see what downtown had to offer.

This hotel is nicely finished and in a prime location. Rooms we were assigned were very large, clean, two flat screen TVs, etc and the service was also very well done. We did have access to the concierge suite with a great continental breakfast and a very gregarious and friendly host on a Saturday morning. Tremendous views out over the Kansas River area and with an air show on great views of airplanes doing acrobats.

My only caution would be that on a weekend with proximity to the Power and Light district the hotel seems to attract its share of drunken frat boys to the lobby, elevator areas and it isn't quite the mix one seeks when traveling with elderly parents. But, the rooms and floor I stayed on were very quiet (24th Floor).

Room Tip: Room 2424 is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Great hotel at a great price. My husband and I live about an hour an a half from Kansas City, but decided to stay in KC for our anniversary. We wanted to be close to power and light, the Plaza and crown center. We chose Crowne Plaza because it had good reviews and was not ridiculous on price, plus it was close to every thing. The only negative I can say was the parking sucked. When we arrived we got a spot easily (around 5:00 p.m.), but upon returning from dinner on the plaza there were no spots left. We had to stalk people to snatch their spot. Other than the over crowded parking garage, we had a great stay. The room was very clean, and the sleep number bed was comfortable and in good working condition. The bar staff was excellent, she stayed open to take care of her guests, even though her shift should have ended at 11pm. She was very helpful in suggesting great places to visit within walking distance. I left my phone in the room after checkout, but when I returned the cleaning staff had already reported it and it was waiting for me when I returned to retrieve it. Great place to stay if your looking to have a fun evening in Kansas City.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Recently attended a concert at the Sprint Center. This hotel is within walking distance to the Sprint Center and the Convention Center as well as Power and Light area with restaurants. The room was very nice and comfortable. Hotel has Starbucks in the lobby and a bar and restaurant. The restaurant does not offer quick service. The atmosphere is very business like.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Address: 1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.