We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #38 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Iola, Kansas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“No complaints.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011 via mobile

Nice downtown hotel. Have stayed several times each without issue. Location is a short walk to P&L Sprint Center etc. Or a cheap cab ride. Staff is great and always helpful. Parking is a few dollars cheaper than other area hotels. Rooftop outdoor pool is also a plus. Guess it can be a little loud on weekends but....I might have some guilt there myself. Definitely plan to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for your comments and for your loyalty to our hotel. It’s always great to hear when our guests enjoy the location next to the Power & Light District. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Robert Avila, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    108
    58
    28
    29
See reviews for
50
68
20
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Humboldt, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed in the Crowne Plaza a few years ago before it was renovated and the recent renovations are definitely an improvement. Comfortable room overall, but not a whole lot of amenities. Extremely small bathroom - very hard to move around in it without bumping the door or counter. Free wi-fi in rooms. There is a nice free breakfast if you're a member of the hotel's reward program. Small but adequate fitness center. Convenient downtown location, steps from the convention center. It's in the Power and Light district, which is brightly lit up at night and there are bright lights shining up the front facade of the hotel. My room was on this side, and there was a lot of light in the room during the night as a result. Didn't bother me, but it might be an issue if you need total darkness at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. It is certainly great to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated facilities and downtown location near the Power & Light District. We strive to create a memorable experience for each and every guest, and sincerely appreciate hearing what our guests have to say. Thank you so much for staying with us, and we would love to have you stay with us again next time you’re in Kansas City!

Sincerely,
Robert Avila, General Manager/Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

This was a perfect location for a business conference.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown! We hope to host you again for your future business travels.

Sincerely,
Robert Avila, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayett, IN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Spent eight nights and nine days at this hotel. For me, a hotel stay is good when the staff is kind and helpful. I would especially like to thank AL at the front desk for helping us pick out the perfect dinner spot and for answering all of our questions. I've also got to mention ANDREW down in the Salon area who has been nothing but wonderful and kind. You two make the Crowne Plaza the great stay that it has been!
We've had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor and loved the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. It is always wonderful to hear about the great service our staff members provide our guests, and we have recognized them. We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Robert Avila, General Manager/Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I ended up staying here after being disappointed in the hotel that I'd originally reserved. The front desk staff gave me a walk-up rate that was the same as the hotel that I'd just left. The doorman and front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating to me. The front desk staff even printed off a list of things to do in the area and brought the list to my room.

I do appreciate how attentive the attendants were on the concierge floor. The breakfast attendants even remembered the juices that I liked to drink in the morning and the evening attendant remembered my favorite night time cordial. They were all very professional and represented the quality that Crown Plaza's are known for. The concierge attendants are definitely an asset to the hotel.

At first, I was skeptical because my room was in front of the elevator....I am a very light sleeper. I never even heard it. Imagine that! The bed was so soft and comfortable. I normally never take hotel toiletries but...these were the bomb. Very soothing (I have allergies).

If you want great quality and a comfortable stay, stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. I am so happy to hear about the excellent service that our front desk, bell, and concierge staff provided to you, and we will be sure to recognize them. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and for staying at the Crowne Plaza. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Robert Avila, General Manager/Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

$300.00 Unauthorized charge on our bank statement. We stayed as a part of a wedding group on the 19th floor. One of our relatives was in our room smoking a cigar. The Maintenance man (In our room for non-working phone) turned us in. Front desk employee Nelda called us in our room, scolded us for smoking, told us not to let it happen again OR they would "impose" a $300.00. We promosed that it wouldn't happen again, and it didn't. Guess what we found on our bank statement when we returned back to Colorado. Yep!!! A $300.00 charge on our account as well as the 300.00 for a 2 night stay = $600.00 total. Liars and Thieves!!! Spoke with Evan Gulen "front desk manager" REFUSED to give it back, under ANY circumstances. Lets not even get into the fact that there is NO Bell hop Service, NO Valet and 13.00 per day for parking, not to mention the graduation party staying there at the same time, hooping and holloring in hallways at 3:00am looking for the pool for 15 minutes. No EFFECTIVE security either. I have filed complaints with VISA and Kansas City BBB. Don't be Fooled, Don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City Downtown. We do pride ourselves with 100% smoke free guest rooms of which we do notify our hotel guests upon arrival, via their registration card along with signage in the guest corridor and guest room. I do realize that it was a “relative” that was in the room smoking, however we must incur a cleaning fee to remove any smoke smell for the next hotel guest. As you spoke with Evan our Assistant Guest Services manager, who did offer to reduce the charge by $100 as a faith of good will, the remaining smoke charge will remain.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us, we hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza again in the future.

Robert Avila
General Manager/Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011 via mobile

The location was perfect but won't be back. The lobby smelled of raw sewage all day, rooms needed carpet and fresh paint badly, lighting in hallways was poor as well as lighting in bathrooms.

We paid for parking at hotel garage but when we came back at 9:00 the garage was full from a prom and wedding in hotel. There was also a frat party and at 3:00am we woke up to a bunch of drunk guys in hall and next door.

The worst part was the Sleep number beds. One had a broken control but was set at hardest level and felt like a poll ran down middle of bed....very uncomfortable!;

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPKCGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced with your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel, and comments from our guests help us to do that more effectively. I have passed on your feedback regarding our facilities to the engineering department. I am sorry to hear that you had trouble finding parking; we always do our best to accommodate our guests with parking, but unfortunately with a public garage downtown it can fill up from time to time on the weekends. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and for staying at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City.
Sincerely,
Leonard Clifton, Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown

Address: 1301 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Kansas City. Conveniently situated in the heart of downtown Kansas City's Power & Light Entertainment District adjacent to the Bartle Hall Kansas City Convention Center, this luxurious Crowne Plaza Hotel offers stunning views of historic downtown Kansas City. The Crowne Plaza Kansas City is located within walking distance to the Power & Light District, H&R Block and the Sprint Center Arena. We have nine spacious, high-tech meeting rooms to meet your needs. Take a dip in the outdoor heated pool, work out in the fitness center, grab a bite at the City Grill, enjoy a drink at the City Bar, or wake up to a nice Latte in our Starbucks. Rooms come fully equipped with free high speed Internet access, a work desk, and room service. Your comfort is our top priority. Whether for business or leisure, vacation, traveling, or simply getting away for an evening, Crowne Plaza Kansas City is the place to meet. Within minutes of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts, Midland Theater, Crown Center and the County Club Plaza, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is centrally located to all retail and entertainment venues Kansas City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kansas City
Kansas City Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.