We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1995 Macon Street, Kansas City, MO 64116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #66 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you read any of my other reviews you will see that I care about a few things when travelling for business - location, comfort of bed, cleanliness, and shower. This place has it all and was at a super reasonable price. When was the last time you got a hotel for $100 that wasn't a pit? This hotel appears to be newer or it has had a great upgrade. Front desk very helpful and friendly. The neighborhood isn't Beverly Hills but seems safe. It is easy to find right of the freeway and very close to Harrah's Casino. BEST OF ALL, it is a 5 minute drive from some of the best barbeque I have ever had. DO NOT MISS Smokin Guns Barbeque on Swift Avenue. $22 for 2 beers and the 3 meat platter with 2 sides that I could barely finish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
10
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had I seen the neighborhood by daylight, I would not have stayed here with my two young boys as a single woman travelling alone.
Totally passable comfort and semi-friendliness. Awful color scheme circa 1970's.
Salt water pool was fun for the boys.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear MississippiMama17,

Thank you so much for your comments. I am delighted you liked our hotel pool. I would like to apologize if you found our hotel location less than satisfactory. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Canada, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

this Hotel is a good destination in the Winter and an awesome one in the Summer. Staff are a cut above and really turn the charm. There is an attached restaurant with some great server's. Carolyn and Patty are always friendly during the week and Donna makes everyone smile on the weekends. Marvin Drew really keeps the welcome coming; he steps in any role as needed; when the staff get busy He easily keeps the good vibes moving by switching into greeter; cab driver or even front desk receptionist. His leadership rallies the troops and the never let you feel that your presence is any other than appreciated. Overall; the staff make a good location into an outstanding Hotel. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

dunno if the horrendous odor of the room was the fumes from the gypsum factory's continual smokey output or not. Initially thought about askin for different room but assumed entire place smelled that way from the factory. Next morning found air freshner bag in the heater. guess it coulda been that. or the combo. or ? Don't remember room number but was on the side of the factory. factory noise and semi's in and out of the alley/roadway rite along side the hotel seemingly all nite. Staff was nice and breakfast spread was great. Room and hotel seemed well kept and clean.

Room Tip: front parking lot side may not have the factory noise. but who knows about the odor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear tombstone59,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I am pleased to know that you find our hotel clean and well kept, breakfast great and staff nice. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are happy you experienced it as such. Please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively effected by the noise and smell from the neighboring factory. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason, your comments will surely be looked into.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was a great Hotel. Very quiet and clean. We stayed two nights with teenagers and had two suites. The bathroom was a bit small with the sink in the living area but that was no big deal. The breakfast was excellent. Hot biscuits n gravy, eggs, bacon waffles. Usually the breakfast is bagels and muffins. The coffe was great with flavored creamer. We will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is just off I-29 with easy access to and from the interstate highway. The room was quiet in spite of being next door to a fairly noisy factory-type building. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and, again, quiet, though a bit small. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was in two parts with toilet and shower in one room and the sink in the main bedroom area. The breakfast was typical Holiday Inn Express with their automatic pancake machine, a couple of hot dishes as well as cereals and pastries. The scrambled eggs were well cooked and the ham was tasty. All in all the stay was of good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our room the first night was comfortable, quiet and very clean. Our second night we asked if there was possibly a room on the third floor that would give us a view of the 'city'. The front desk attendees went above and beyond to make it possible for us and our second night we enjoyed a suite which was once again, most comfortable!!! Breakfast had a wide variety of tastey entries for the hungry OR healthy person.

Room Tip: Room on top floor was comfortable. There were commercial storage units next to the hotel, but we lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City

Address: 1995 Macon Street, Kansas City, MO 64116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Quality Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express North Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.