We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4535 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #67 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I had read some not so great reviews but took a chance and I'm SO glad I did! I arrived in town earlier than expected - while I couldn't get into my room at 9am, the manager said she'd see that I got a room as soon as she could arrange it. I had breakfast across the street and by the time I was finished I had a room! I was somewhat anxious to see the room since some of the reviews were 'iffy'. Wow. I was MORE than pleasantly surprised. My room looked very nice, clean, smelled very fresh and looked modern. I chose not to have my room serviced while I stayed but the housekeeper was pleasant when I asked to exchange my towels out for clean...no problem. Bed was comfy and I slept very soundly. Now, one of the best things about this Homestead is the location...just a couple blocks from KCs best shopping and dining! I loved it. The one and only thing I wasn't wild about was the fact it appeared that the front office goes unstaffed at night. The hallways are long and the elevators are behind closed fire doors...just sort of a creepy feeling at night for this terminal scaredy-cat. Although, I have to say the part of town this location is in is VERY well patrolled by police and VERY safe. I not only "would" stay here again, I honestly "look forward" to staying here again!

Room Tip: 114 is a very nice room close to a side exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of our hotel. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of this company, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    13
    13
    13
See reviews for
16
11
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I want to Thank the staff at this Hotel. The stay was amazing I enjoyed everything from the great customer service of the staff and awesome housekeepers. I can't thank you enough for the job you did on our stay. This location is also very great with most things in walking distance. There is help around the clock, and a great laundry facility comes in handy for us who stay over a period of time. I would Definitely stay again in the near future. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, like home away from home. I enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Ryan,

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Homestead Kansas City - Country Club Plaza. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a ""home away from home"" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This isn't the fanciest place I have ever stayed, but I found the room to be clean enough. The bed was not very comfy and the pillows weren't great, so I would bring my own pillow next time. But it was so nice to have a refrigerator/microwave/burners in the room - what a treat it was to go to the grocery store and then have meals in the hotel room! The location is close to downtown and my in-laws loved that there was a mile loop park to walk in in the mornings right across the street. Plenty of parking -- all in all, a good stay. Just a note: there aren't shampoo/conditioner bottles in the bathroom, so bring your own!

Room Tip: If you stay on the first floor, you can park around the back and have a door that enters right into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
"It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Homestead Kansas City - Country Club Plaza. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The location of this property is great, right in the mix of all that the plaza has to offer. There was ample free parking and the woman at the front desk was cheerful and pleasant.

My room was on the second floor and as soon as I got off of the elevator, the smell of smoke hit me. As I walked down the long hall to my room the smell just got stronger.

When I got into the room, the smell of stale smoke was evident everywhere. There were also two ashtrays in the room letting me know that I had gotten a smoking room. When you get on Homestead's website they do warn you that you cannot be guaranteed a non smoking (or smoking) room. So, I knew upfront that there was a chance I would be stuck in a smoking room.

The room and general areas are dated and show signs of wear and tear, but are generally clean.

The room is decent sized and has a full kitchen. As with most extended stay properties, the amenties are very few. Two towels in the bathroom, two pillows on the bed and the cheapest fixtures and furnishings you could imagine. Everything in this place is geared to save a buck. Housekeeping comes by once a week unless you pay for more.

There was a nice flat panel TV that was a departure from the overall cheapness of the property however.

For the most part, the property was very quiet. That was good because sometimes these cheap extended stay places are havens for druggies, pimps, and prostitutes.

I rated it as average. At $44 a night I felt I got what I paid for. All I would say is that if being in a smokey facility or room would bother you, don't book at a Homestead.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Homestead Kansas City - Country Club Plaza. Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about our staff. I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.

I do appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns about the condition of your room. Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent a situation like yours from occurring. Only certain rooms are designated as smoking rooms, the rest as non-smoking. It should never be the case that a guest who requests a non-smoking room is placed in a smoking room when the preferred room type is available. In response to your comments, I have met with hotel management and staff to find out how such an experience occurred and to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The front desk had to go up and check to see if our room was ready, she came back and said probably 10 more min to have a seat, IN THE HALLWAY! There is no lobby. Waited over 20 min, she finally remembered we were sitting there and said that we could go check if it was ready. We were given a half piece of torn paper with their policies, $3 per day for new towels, $5 per day to make the bed too!!! The room is very dated, the bathtub caulk is full of mold, the toilet had a hard time flushing, the sink was fully clogged and about to over flow while brushing my teeth, the sink drain was rusty, no tissues, no soap, no shampoo, the tv had bad reception I had to pull out the dresser and fix it. Bad move,what I found behind the dresser is beyond words! The bed was the hardest I'd ever slept on. Our room was next to the entrance and we could hear the door slamming all night and early morning. For over $100 a night this was unbelievable, I've stayed in better hotels that were $39 a night. I don't know how anyone could give this dump a good review

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Teresa,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Homestead Kansas City - Country Club Plaza. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, mo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I'm in KC every week or two for business and have lost count how many nights I have stayed here. Staff is always outstanding and responsive. Wifi is a must for what I do - it's free. If I want to eat out or entertainment the plaza is a couple of blocks away. If I don't feel like eating out the rooms have a fridge, stove, microwave, pots, pans & utensils. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Another important factor for me is whether concentrating on work or sleeping the noise level is always minimal. In the 6+ months I have been staying there I have never had a bad experience. If you want the latest greatest over-priced place to stay they are down the road. This facility is consistently friendly, clean, comfortable, and my preference when in KC.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Location is optimal if you are going to the two art museums (Nelson Atkins, Kemper) or the best shopping/dining area in the city (County Club Plaza), within walking distance. Access to the free parking is easy.

My stay was quiet and uneventful. Free Wifi was a plus, the room was clean. Flat screen TV and an easy chair. Wish the reading light was a little better in the chair.

Did not use the kitchen, as no utensils are included, but the coffee maker, MW oven, refrig are nice to have. Towels were included in the bathroom.

Property is dated with wear and tear, but for the price ($50 Priceline Bid, plus tax) it was truly just fine, and then some!

Main hall had that old apartment house odor, but once in the room it was gone. Operable window, view into tree. Front desk staff was professional and friendly. I would have stayed more than one night, but Priceline would not let me extend for the same rate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Grant,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are committed to providing every guest with outstanding accommodations, so I was pleased to read your remarks about your room and location. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory due to the property being “dated.” For that I am truly sorry.

Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent an unacceptable situation like yours from occurring. All rooms are regularly cleaned and disinfected upon a guest's checkout as well as during applicable periods of the stay, then inspected by a manager who determines if it meets our quality standards. Obviously, your experience indicates that our system broke down. In response, I have met with hotel management and staff to find out why and to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza

Address: 4535 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Extended Stay, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Kansas City - Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Homestead Suites Kansas City
Homestead Kansas City
Kansas City Homestead Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.