We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this historic hotel and restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Bed and Breakfast
219 W. Ninth Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Love this historic hotel and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our third time to stay at the Savoy. It has always been a delightful experience. The historic hotel is filled with old photos, a job application from Harry S. Truman, etc. Our room was great for relaxing; there was a ten-cup coffee pot with china cups and saucers. Bed was very comfortable with adequate number of pillows and blankets. Temperature was to our liking although there are still radiators there so I'm not sure of the extent of guest control. Window a/c units were in each room of the suite. For us, the "shabby" unfinished parts of the hotel were fascinating; the completed rooms were lovely. The bathroom was old as would be expected in a hotel of this vintage. Plumbing worked fine; shower was in a footed tub with plastic curtain pulled around it--no problem unless you expect a large glass enclosure. Location is great (easy walk to Kauffman center and the water and light district); breakfast is unbelievable in variety and quality. Service was very good. Price is very reasonable and parking is free. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    13
    13
    16
See reviews for
10
58
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, MO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lots of character, nostalgic and ecclectic! All of these make it a great place to stay. Room was very clean and bed comfy! Great old-world charm. Breakfast was great and service very attentive. Close to all of Downtown KC spots. Free parking and they were ok with leaving our car for the day while we worked a trade show at the Convention Center. Did not eat dinner at the Savoy Grill, but did go down for a drink and although getting to the bar was awkward having to walk through tables with diners, was fun to talk to bartender and hear stories about the VIPs that dined in booths over the years. Location, price, clean, great breakfast and free convenient parking make this a great choice for Downtown KC!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from the IHOP OneThing conference and choose to stay at the Savoy because of the location. The hotel was great! The price was very good for the location. This is a very old hotel with alot of character. The breakfast is amazing and the service is excellent. Best Lobster bisque and crab crepes ever! We definitely recommend this hotel and will be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the hotel a few times and look forward to it every time we visit Kansas City. Just understand that it is an older hotel and will have some quirks. It is located a couple blocks from some jazz clubs and is attached to the Savoy Grill. The River Market and Power and Light district are also a few blocks away, so there are things to do and see in the area. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are quiet and relaxing. The best thing about the hotel is the breakfast and should not be missed. Sure I can scrambled eggs and pancakes, but why when I can have Eggs Benedict lobster bisque, lamb chops and crab meat crepes for breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Old, mysterious and a favorite place of mine. I had lamb chops every breakfast, and slep like a queen in my huge room with the enormous windows open. That said, my husband would hate it- he likes sleek and new. There is something so intiguing about this place. If you are expecting Holiday Inn, forget it. if you want to go back in time- enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had the worse night sleep whilst staying at this hotel. The floors creaked, the pipes made clanking noises to loud to be ignored behind the bed head, the gas heaters made loud hissing noises every hr or so, there was a constant loud dripping coming from a pipe i could not locate to turn off and to add to all this the loud horns on the trains that were being used at all hours of the night ensured you woke from whatever shallow sleep you were in.
The room was fractionally acceptable but i slept fully clothed not wanting to get under the covers.
The windows are not double glazed therefore you hear everything from a conversation on the ground level to the bar music 2 blocks away.
The lobby was not tidy and the restaurant was unavailable for breakfast.
It got to a point of being so bad i contemplated leaving the hotel and going down the road to find another place for the night.
Im shocked that the rate for this place is so high!

Room Tip: I can only imagine rooms away from the street would be quieter but it still wont cancel out all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary and I knew it was an older hotel, but it sounded intriguing. I reserved the deluxe Victorian suite. First, I was directed to an elevator that looked and sounded like it was on its last leg. After getting off the elevator I took the wrong turn and found myself in a hallway full of closed up, boarded up old rooms. Very spooky and scary. No wallpaper, just peeling plaster. When we got to our rom, we found a smelly, mauve carpeted suite containing a broken old sofa and several mismatched furnishings that looked as if they were purchased at GoodWill. There was a fake fireplace with some fake flowers in it, there was one television, but because the couch was broken, we could not sit on it. There was no TV in the bedroom, so we could not watch TV unless we sat on the floor. I explained this to the woman at front desk before I left and she just said, "Oh, I'm sorry."

Now for the good stuff. We had a very good dinner at the Savoy Grille which is a beautiful space. We loved the breakfast, which was served in a very nice dining room by friendly, helpful wait staff. The lobster bisque is the best I've ever tasted. Everything was perfection. Just too bad about the room. Old and quirky is god. Dirty and broken is bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Bed and Breakfast

Address: 219 W. Ninth Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Savoy Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy b&b
Hotel Savoy Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.