We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Way to Go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Worlds of Fun Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kansas City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Worlds of Fun Village
4545 Worlds of Fun Avenue, Kansas City, MO 64161   |  
Hotel amenities
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Way to Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

There were 4 adults and a 2 year old in our group. We chose a cabin. It was clean and very peaceful. The surroundings were beautiful. The fact that you can bring your own food and grill right outside your cabin was wonderful. Couldn't quite walk to the parks but the drive was short and you didn't have to pay for parking so it was fine. The cabin was plenty big enough for all of us and the loft was cute even though we didn't use it. Everyone associated with the WOF Village were more than helpful. Everyone there was so friendly. We had an amazing weekend. I recommend it highly. You couldn't have asked for more! We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

First, we got in pretty late but was told that there is always staff to check you in. That may be the case, but you have to call security and wait for them to get there. This took about 10 minutes but after traveling 6 hrs with 3 small children, waiting 10 minutes kinda sucks. We were literally the only people staying in the cabins and were put in one that was closest to the highway. Made for restless sleeping.

We stayed in one of the "large" cabins with my family of 5 (2 adults, 2 two-year olds, and an infant). I'm so glad we opted for the larger cabin because we were constantly tripping over each other. I know it's supposed to sleep 6, but the two futon couches are folded so much in the middle that there is no way two people could sleep on these things because you'd both roll to the middle. Also, with both futons folded out, they actually touch each other so you'd have to have four people who REALLY like each other. My twins shared one futon but slept on it the short way which made them look like they were sleeping in a recliner. Now, the loft area is pretty big and once the kids are a bit older, that would have been a great place for them to sleep. And, thank goodness we didn't bring a pack-n-play for the infant. I honestly have no idea where we'd put it. Outside? Instead, we have a small fold-up bassinet thingy that she sleeps in so we put her in the bedroom with us, but that meant our suitcase sat in the kitchen. This is the smallest bedroom I've ever seen fitting only a twin sized bed and one bedside table. Oh, and a skinny closet to hang clothes up - but who has hanging clothes when you're visiting World's of Fun?

On to the kitchen. There is virtually nothing in the kitchen outside of what you could find in a hotel: microwave, dorm sized fridge, and sink. Oh, and a coffee maker. However, with a hotel, breakfast is usually provided whereas at these cabins, I feel the idea is to eat there before walking to the park. There is plenty of cabinetry, but nothing in them. I guess because I was staying in a cabin that toted a kitchen with grill outside indicating that you could cook, there might be some basic kitchen-ware, but that's not the case. Good thing I planned for that because there was nothing. So, for the price of the place, I would have expected there to be SOMETHING to help you have meals at the cabin. They don't need to provide much, just some basics like condo's do when you rent them out.

The grounds and cabins are very clean and nicely kept. But, I would have expected that considering how new they are. And this is even someplace I'd stay again because you're not sharing walls with your neighbors (did I mention I have 3 kids under 3?) but only because there are no other alternatives. I'd even pay a little more if it meant that I didn't have to bring basic kichen-ware just to be able to have breakfast and grill something for supper.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The Worlds of Fun cabins are a fun and convenient place to stay when visiting Worlds of Fun or Oceans of Fun. The cabins are well laid out,very clean, and nicely decorated. There is a nice small kitchen for cooking. They have picnic tables and a grill.The grounds are very nice and kept up, The staff is freindly but not enough staff on hand for prime check in time. The price is decent considering you get more than just a hotel room. You can actually walk to the park but they will also give you a parking pass (a savings of 12.00) You also get discount tickets into the park. We all had a great time there and I would not hesitate to reccommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: The cabins are a much better choice than the cottages. More room too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great location to stay for our family vacation to World's of Fun and Oceans of Fun...easy access to both parks, cute and clean cottages, nice pool area. Loved the outside cottage decks..would recommend Worlds of Fun Village...great discounts on park entry tickets helped offset cost of cottages.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our family of seven chose to stay here when we saw that one cabin could accommodate our whole family, and for not much more cost than one hotel room. The cabin was clean (although the outside garbage can had not been emptied and was full) and fun for the kids, with the loft for them to sleep on. The fountain outside our cabin was not working and the water was murky. All of the cabins were not in use and I wish they had put us in one near the fountain that was working. It was a little too far for the small kids to walk to the enterance of the parks, but still nice to be right there. We had a nice stay and will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pryor, Oklahoma
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed in an RV. The place was level and very clean. The employees were very friendly and helpful. We had trouble with a breaker flipping and maintance was their in 10 minutes to fix the problem. Our children enjoyed the pool and I liked their was a life guard on duty.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We booked a "cottage" for two nights as we were bringing our daughter to WOF with a friend to celebrate her birthday. The village is difficult to find (go to Oceans of Fun, not Worlds of Fun). Once we arrived, the staff in the office had difficulty with the booking and computers. It was raining and, apparently, rain wreaks havoc on their computer system. That makes sense as the televisions went in and out and Internet access was slow and sporadic. The cottage was to comfortably sleep 6. One double bed and two bunk beds in the one bedroom made it next to impossible to turn around. Aparently 4 were to sleep in this room. I am guessing it would be Sleepy, Dopey, Sneezy and Doc. There was a futon in the front room, large enough for one, but per the description, should sleep another two, Bashful and Happy it would seem. Grumpy would be the most comfortable in the car. The bunk beds were not made, just had sheets and blankets folded and tossed on and were next to impossible to make as the top bed was approximately 18 inches from the ceiling peak, less at the ends. The television remotes did not work. The telephone worked but was so full of static it was useless. The four of us were incredibly cramped and uncomfortable. Needless to say, we took a refund for the second night and stayed comfortably in two connecting rooms at the Radison for less than the cost of the cottage. Blech! Never again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Worlds of Fun Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worlds of Fun Village

Also Known As:
Worlds Of Fun Village Hotel
Worlds Of Fun Village Hotel Kansas City
Address: 4545 Worlds of Fun Avenue, Kansas City, MO 64161
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worlds of Fun Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Worlds of Fun Village to your Saves list