We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4233 N Corrington Avenue, Kansas City, MO 64117   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HHonors 2X Points Package
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel was perfect for our weekend getaway. It is very convenient and close to Worlds of Fun (and Oceans of Fun) as they are essentially across the street. Would be nice if they had a shuttle to avoid the parking fee, but not a deal-breaker. There is not a ton around the hotel, but we didn't need much in walking distance. There is a Wendy's two doors down which was nice to grab and take back to the room at the end of the night. The room was decent size and clean. The hotel was pretty quiet except for a few motorcycles that decided to gun it around 1:30am. Breakfast in the morning is the standard Hampton Inn & Suites hot breakfast - eggs, biscuits, waffles, sausage, cereals, pastries, juice, etc...which is perfect for us and a nice way to save a little cash. The staff was helpful and got us a clean room ahead of standard check-in. Definitely will stay here again when the kiddos want to do WOF again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    66
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
92
40
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I've stayed here twice so far. Reception is friendly and about as quick as it can be. Room was clean and the shower was remarkably powerful. I like this place because it has everything a Hampton Inn should have. Not much to do outside, but who cares. Head around the corner to Mr. Lee (or sometimes written Mr. Lei's) Sushi for a nice mom and pop restaurant. I'm intrigued by the huge church next door -- maybe I'll visit that on the next stay.

Room Tip: Hampton Inn quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stopped here for a week on business a couple of weeks ago.
Had a pretty bad stay mainly due to the teenagers next door who would wake me at 1am and 5am on a nightly basis. Other than the noise from them there is alot of road noise in the rooms.

Location is pretty awful. Close to "worlds of fun" but I like to walk to somewhere to eat at night. The choices here are Wendy's, Waffle House and a rather dodgy bar. The aforementioned dodgy bar is good on a Monday night with $5 pitchers and 50c wings but that's about where it ends.
Ended up stopping at the sports bar in the Casino for food. Excellent fish tacos.

Breakfasts are your typical Hampton fare. Basic.

If you're stopping in this area use the Hampton in Liberty 10 minutes up the road. Stayed there last week with 2 more weeks to go. More restaurants / shops within walking distance than you can eat at in a month.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights during Nascar races. Was concerend that it would be noisy, but it was not, which was good, we were pooped. The checkin experience was excellent, the 2 ladies working the desk did great and were helpful in directions. The room was clean, we like the Hampton bedding, the room was a tad tighter than some Hamptons but still large enough, we had 2 beds. The water pressure was more than adequate and there was plenty of hot water. The beds were great, had 2 good nights sleep. The elevator is speedy, the breakfast was good, the breakfast area was clean the the ladies handling the food were on the ball. The breakfast was hot and ample and they kept things filled up.

this was not our first choice for Hamptons, it was not as convenient to the thngs we wanted to see, the other Hamptons were booked. Having said that, the experience at this Hampton was pleasant and if this property is in the area you are looking for in KC, give it a try, i think you will be pleased. i might also add that there is a ramp for I35 right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The breakfast was consistently great as are all the breakfasts we have eaten at the other Hampton Inns we have stayed at. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the pool was not too bad. No hot tub available though. The location is kind of cramped, but there was a street out back with spaces for our truck and boat. Very close to Worlds of Fun. The only issue I noted was the smell of cigarettes as you entered the building. I think someone had been smoking consistently outside right by the entrance. This could be a guest or staff, not sure. Kind of gave me a wrong impression of the place at first. Really friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

In general, I wasn't disappointed in this Hampton. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location was good for getting around KC.

I wasn't as impressed by the breakfast as I have been at other Hamptons, but that may be a function of the sheer volume of people trying to eat and the Hampton staff trying to keep up with them to keep items stocked and fresh. I also wasn't impressed by discovering a rag left by housekeeping in my shower or the front desk's attitude about it. I don't expect a free room for an oversight that anyone could make (which a white rag in a white shower is), but a quick Sorry would have been appropriate.

The hotel is located in a "hotel row" and would benefit from a shuttle to the amusement parks across the highway. Otherwise, guests pay $12 to park, which is unfortunate enough that we didn't go to the second park.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

I was skeptical about staying at this location since it is near the amusement park thinking it would be a little worn. It was not. Rooms were very clean as was the whole hotel. Helpful front desk staff. Breakfast was the usual Hampton Inn fare. It would be very close for anyone going to Worlds of Fun. Will probably use again when I return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun

Address: 4233 N Corrington Avenue, Kansas City, MO 64117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#20 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Near Worlds Of Fun Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.