We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, New, Boutique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotels by Marriott Kansas City Westport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotels by Marriott Kansas City Westport to your Saves list
AC Hotels by Marriott Kansas City Westport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   560 Westport Road, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Q Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice, New, Boutique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My experience was OK. It was a new boutique hotel. There is amazing scent that is released every time the main lobby doors open to welcome guests. The rooms were quiet, probably due the well off clientele this hotel attracts. The obvious atmosphere of the hotel is new and boutique, but functionality is to be desired in some areas. The double beds, are full not queen sized. The counter space in the bathroom is none existent, and the bathroom doors, although chic, and modern, do not provide much privacy when in the shower or relieving yourself. The breakfast was $14(not worth it). Staff was very accommodating. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
6
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
188 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Everything good. Renovated, great location, super clean, comfortable, affordable, free wifi and great service. If there was an issue it was the tepid water temp for showers and the $15 European breakfast (though well done).

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We enjoyed staying at this month at this newly-opened hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the courtesy transportation to the Plaza area was prompt, professional, and congenial and much appreciated. The rooms are very clean, but the lighting was very poor--far too dim to shave, apply makeup, or work at the desk. Also, the shower area, although attractive, was quite claustrophobic and very small. (In addition, the door to the shower/ toilet area was frosted glass--no privacy.) Do note, too, the beds are only double beds or one queen--no king beds, I believe.

The bar was arranged nicely and very inviting to guests in the lobby area. Complimentary coffee and a pastry would offer a nice gesture to guests. We travel to KC frequently and might stay in the future, but at this point in time, other hotel options are, perhaps, a bit more "user-friendly."

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at AC Hotels by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello and thanks for your review! I'm happy to hear that you liked our hotel, amenities, and service.I'm sorry to hear that you were not a fan of the bathroom.We actually do offer rooms with king sized beds and rooms with two double beds, as well as junior suites, I hope that when you return to Kansas City, that you will stay with us again and I can meet you in person.
Sincerely,
-----Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very modern and clean in both look and feel. Really love the vibe of this place! The location is great, too: food and drink options are plentiful in immediate walking distance.

But really it's the people who made the greatest impression. From the first smile from the valet to the above-and-beyond helpfulness of the service desk members, every person I met was a joy and made my stay better. I'll happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at AC Hotels by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We do pride ourselves on service and I'm glad that we delivered! I'm glad that you like our sleek new hotel. Westport is a great neighborhood and has a lot to offer our guests. There are many restaurants and shops to choose from.
I hope I get a chance to meet you in person, when you return.
sincerely,
---Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful rooms, amazing shower experience, comfortable bed, gorgeous room. The breakfast was the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. Ever. Buy the breakfast, you will not regret it. I will be coming back. Great location, too. The rain head shower was heaven. The room was very modern and the hotel was quiet. It is right across the street from World Market.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at AC Hotels by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, 6 days ago
I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear how much that you liked the hotel and especially the shower. We pride ourselves on our European heritage. I hope that you will return soon and look forward to meeting you in person!
sincerely,
----Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been so impressed with this hotel. Not only are the accommodations top notch, modern, and clean, but the service is ON POINT. The ice machines weren't working and we requested a bucket from the front desk. They got busy and didn't get us the ice in time before we had to leave. When we made it back for the night we found a handwritten card in our room, along with a fresh bucket of ice, telling us they had paid for our breakfast the following day. At breakfast we got to meet David, the head chef, who was so passionate and wonderful. He even made us these special Nutella & coconut covered fresh strawberries. A++ experience at an incredible value. Can't wait to stay here again!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at AC Hotels by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Wow, thanks for the great review! I'm sorry to hear about the ice situation, but I very happy to hear that our staff made it up to you. It's great to hear that our service is what made your stay A++. I hope that you will return soon.
sincerely,
----Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful 2 night stay as a weekend getaway for my wife and I. The hotel decor is modern yet warm with a lot of wood tones. We were pleasantly greeted each time we came in the hotel when the staff was not busy.

The rooms are very modern, with a double sided mirror that is bathroom vanity on one side and a mirror toward the living area on the other. A frosted glass door leads to the bathroom. I appreciated that they have dual flush toilets and a very nice Grohe shower system with a really nice sleek linear drain. The feel in the bathroom is great.

The room itself is pretty normal size, with a sitting area that works great to read the paper (they had KC papers downstairs you could take up to your room). Lighting fixtures were all LED that I could see, and they had undercabinet lights that worked good for mood lighting or just leaving on as a nightlight.

Another really cool feature of the room that I've only seen in European hotels was the 'Master' switch. You could basically hit a switch at the door that kills all lights in the room. Perfect for leaving the room lighting as you wish and just hitting the switch to shut everything off as you leave.

The alarm clock was mini (perfect as everyone uses cell phones), there were nice LED reading lights on either side of the bed, and there were also USB charging outlets on each side.

There was also a small fridge with free water, and enough room to put a bottle or two of wine.

The staff here was just amazing, I would come back if only for that reason. They were extremely nice when we asked if we could take a corkscrew up to the room, had an excellent dining recommendation (Char Bar, walking distance, see my review there), and gladly came up to zip my wife's dress when she was dressing for our date and I was out (although who wouldn't want to do that). I cannot say enough about the staff.

Location is wonderful, you are of course close to some great eating in Westport and about a 5 minute drive from Country Club Plaza.

Room Tip: great couples hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at AC Hotels by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review!
I'm glad that you like the sleek and modern feel to our new hotel.
The best part to hear from your review, is that the staff was that impactful during your stay and that you mentioned that you would return just based on the service that they provided.
I hope to meet you in person the next time you're here.
Sincerely,
----Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to AC Hotels by Marriott Kansas City Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotels by Marriott Kansas City Westport

Address: 560 Westport Road, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Q Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotels by Marriott Kansas City Westport 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Hotels by Marriott reflects the souls of the cities in which they reside. They offer a unique combination of quality, timeless European design, comfort and true authenticity. It's a whole new way to travel. Stylish Hotels for Urban Spirits, a new way to connect to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Marriott so you can book your AC Hotels by Marriott Kansas City Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q Hotel And Spa
q Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotels by Marriott Kansas City Westport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.