We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and frugal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport to your Saves list
AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   560 Westport Road, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Q Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #41 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and frugal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Got a Living Social Deal and a friend and I stayed here. Had a great time. Room was big and clean, it's a 'green' hotel, recycles and composts, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.We were just steps from several restaurants and lots of fast food, dozens of shops and bars, and the Dueling pianos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are glad you were able to come and stay with us. We are proud that our eco-plan has gained us national notoriety and brought eco-friendly lodging to the Kansas City area!

Travis Vathauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    136
    67
    38
    35
See reviews for
60
177
45
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AURORA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is my favorite place to stay in Kansas City. In the Westport entertainment district, Walking distance to Country club plaza, (free shuttle too). Made to order omelets and waffles (free breakfast), close to Pryde's (great kitchen supply store). From here it is an easy 1 mile walk to the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art and just a block farther to the Nelson Atkins. The staff is friendly, from the front desk through the back end staff. The rooms are modest, but clean, well appointed and cared for. I have never had a bad stay here and have used this hotel for over 5 years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your continuing patronage to our Hotel! We hope to continue with your business for many years to come!

Travis Vathauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel was nice and clean. The hotel checkin was easy. The reception hour in the small bar off the lobby was adequate. It got petty busy and there was only one bartender so the line got pretty long. The breakfast was acceptable. Nothing fancy but no complaints. The hotel is just one block from Westport. If partying in Westport is in your plans this hotel is in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for staying here at The Q Hotel! Our location is a great perk to our Hotel. We strive to make everyone’s stay here a great one. We hope you consider us on your next trip.

Travis Vathauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, KS, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Third time to stay at this accommodating hotel. Staff is so friendly and eager to serve. The happy hour and full breakfast are to good to be true. Received a two nights for the price of one special. Just can't beat it. Another plus is the courtesy car. Took us to the front door each evening to our dinne reservations on the plaza. Awesome especially during the cold winter months! Needless to say, we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are so glad that you keep coming back to stay with us. One of our greatest accomplishments is getting our customers to return over and over again. We are happy that you choose to stay with us and we will continue to offer the services that set us apart from the others!

Travis Vathauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

And I had thought that customer service had become passe, but the Q has brought it back. Whoever hires the staff is to be commended because every employee I came in contact with gave above average service. Most notably, however, was Trey. He took a genuine and heartfelt concern for my safety getting in and out of the shuttle and he kept a keen eye on all the passengers so everyone would be safe. He worked hard to find me the best rate he could. His entire attitude from beginning to end was friendly, professional, and highly personable.

Janice R.
Martin, TN

Room Tip: Check out some of their packages when you book online. Couldn't rate the pool because I never sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Janice, I am so glad that your stay here at The Q Hotel was a pleasant one. I am glad that our employees made a strong impression on you. This is what we strive for with every employee at the hotel.

Travis Vathauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We arrived earlier than expected and although no rooms were ready, we were treated very courteously and professionally by the staff and felt welcomed right away. The hotel's location is ideal, so we spent the time exploring the area.Throughout the two-night stay, the staff was always available to answer questions and handle any issues brought to their attention. The evening reception and morning breakfast were both wonderful! While a couple of pieces of furniture in the room were scarred, there was nothing to really complain about. (Perhaps this was all part of the effort to be "green" and not be wasteful?) Overall, it was a great stay BUT, a couple of days after we checked out and paid, I realized there was still a hold for one night's stay on my checking account. I contacted the front office manager, who responded quickly and worked with me and my bank to get the matter resolved. (Thank you, Travis!)

I would definitely stay here again and have recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay here at The Q Hotel. I was happy to help you get things worked out with you bank after your stay, and sorry for the glitch which caused the problems. And thank you for the referrals, word of mouth is better than any advertising that can be bought.
We look forward to your return to stay with us!

Travis Vathauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The staff @ the hotel made our experience an enjoyable one. Donald, the General Manager, went out of his way to see that all our needs were met, and then some. From Kelly, who helped with our reservations, to Travis @ the front desk. Ashley, the cocktail magician @ the bar, the breakfast goddesses Rita and Brandy, and our drivers Russell & Luthor, everyone was ready and willing to go the extra mile. While not exactly an "extended stay" hotel, my 2 week stay was quite pleasant. I definitely will be back and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Kansas City!

Room Tip: The hotel offers a green environment with recycling. They offer free shuttle in and around Westport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff! We are glad that your stay was enjoyable, while being away from home so long. We look forward to your next visit to Kansas City!

Travis Vathauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport

Address: 560 Westport Road, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Q Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Currently closed for construction.* AC Hotels by Marriott reflects the souls of the cities in which they reside. They offer a unique combination of quality, timeless European design, comfort and true authenticity. It's a whole new way to travel. Stylish Hotels for Urban Spirits, a new way to connect to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q Hotel And Spa
q Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.