We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport

Save Saved
You added AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   560 Westport Road, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Q Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Joplin, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Q many times, and I have yet to give them credit. The hotel is a bit dated but overall it is always a great stay at an inexpensive rate. Located between The Plaza and downtown, perfect for getting around KC. The staff always goes out of their way to help you with anything you may need. They have a shuttle to take most anywhere (within reason) which is great so as to not drink and drive. Free breakfast in the morning, and not just some dried up muffins etc.. Fresh made omelets & waffles as well as many other items to choose from. Overall you can't go wrong with The Q!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for posting the review of our hotel. We really appreciate our repeat guests, and are glad that you have enjoyed the location and our breakfast! Rita does make some amazing omelets.

Hope to see you again soon-

Travis Vathauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    136
    67
    38
    35
See reviews for
60
177
45
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Ok so the hotel is not located in downtown but it is placed nearby a couple of good bars, panera, golds gym and a supermarket among other small businesses. It is very convenient for a person who wants to save a buck or two. Also for a quick stay without being at the airport.

It is a 20-minute ride to the airport but it is nice to get away from the airport.

The hotel is cute with a small bar and nice padded bench window seats. The rooms themselves are a right sort of pastel color decor. I'm not a fan of the sink being outside of the barroom but the room did had a nice soda bed.

The things that I didn't like we're the hair dyer, the thermostat and the fact that it only had one phone at the desk. It was sort of annoying to get up from the bed, walk to the desk and reach the phone since there was not a 2nd one on the nightstand.

Overall it was good. The front desk was knowledgable of the area and places to go. It was a nice to get that information from small area hotels unlike big chain names.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for writing the review of our hotel. I am glad the staff members stood out from those at chain hotels.
I am concerned that you did not like the hair dryer in the room, if you would want to get in touch so I can find out exactly what the issue was, I would appreciate it so that we can work on making changes.

Hope to see you again soon

Travis Vathauer
General Manager
travisv@theqhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I decided to celebrate my 49th birthday with an overnight in Kansas City, was told this was the place to stay and it definitely didn't disappoint. We arrived with free parking, free shuttle service and the location is within walking distance of stores, quaint shopping and places to eat...everyone was curtious and helpful. We had amazing service checking in with both, Matt & Trey helping us...to our shuttle drivers Nick, David A, David S. You helped make my celebration a great one...thank you!

Room Tip: If you have more than 3 it's best to probably get a 2nd room...the beds were doubles/full size i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Marie--
I am so glad you enjoyed spending your birthday with us! We try to make all of those events just a little extra special.
I will be sure to make sure the employees you mentioned see that guests do appreciate all their hard work.

See you soon-

Travis Vathauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We met up with friends over the winter holidays in Kansas City and found the Q online. They were offering a "2 nights for 1" special, so that attracted us, along with the free parking, shuttle service to area attractions and restaurants, complimentary happy hour and hot breakfast. We were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and accommodating; the facilities were clean and updated. A fire was going the entire time in the lobby fireplace, which made it very cozy. The hotel is located in the Westport district, so restaurants are accessible on foot. The shuttle was still handy, though, for places a bit farther away (it has a 2 mile radius, I believe). We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your kind review of our hotel. I am so glad that our staff and amenities made your stay enjoyable! (The shuttle has a 3-mile radius).

The Buy 1 Get 1 special runs through February 28th! Maybe we will see you again before then.

Travis Vathauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked Q but then was told it was in a bad part of town so we cancelled it and changed locations. Luckily, the Q was still available so we switched back and we are so glad we did. Other family members stayed at the Q too and all of us were impressed. While the rooms are a bit small (think European singles), the service was excellent. The continental breakfast was a highlight of our stay. Made to order omelets and waffles drew large crowds so don't wait to the last minute. While I would have liked to see vegan options like soy milk, it was refreshing to see that level of recycling.
The shuttle service was another added bonus. They were quick with getting a shuttle for us when we needed to get somewhere last minute.

We will certainly book the Q again the next time we visit KC.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Your review was very kind. I am so happy you decided to switch back to our hotel. The Westport area is not nearly as bad as its reputation. The local businesses have worked hard to make sure it stays safe.

Also, I will look into some more vegan options for our breakfast!

Hope to see you again soon

Travis Vathauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed at the Q in the past on our anniversary so we decided to stay there again this year. Shortly after our arrival we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of champagne. As always the staff was great and very accomodating. Shawn Duke, hotel manager, was very gracious as always (and will be sorely missed). It's always great having local transportation provided. The stay was fantastic. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay over your anniversary. We work hard to make sure our staff is one of the best. Yes, Shawn will be missed by guests and co-workers a like.

Hope to see you again soon

Travis Vathauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Q for 4 nights while visiting family in the area. We enjoyed our stay and will return to Q. It was different than the usual hotel with its Eco-friendly atmosphere which is expressed in many ways--- their Prius, recycling, bulk soap dispensers in the shower. We especially enjoyed the service. All the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, they had an extension cord for our Volt so we could charge it during our stay. The breakfast staff was wonderful---Brandi makes great omelets. The location is convenient to the Plaza and Westport. The lobby area with its fireplace was a warm place to gather for conversation. We were Quite happy with the Q.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHotelAdmin, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind review of our property. We work extra hard to make sure every guest leaves as satisfied as you all were. I will also make sure Brandi sees the positive review!

Shawn Duke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport

Address: 560 Westport Road, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Q Hotel & Spa)
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Currently closed for construction.* AC Hotels by Marriott reflects the souls of the cities in which they reside. They offer a unique combination of quality, timeless European design, comfort and true authenticity. It's a whole new way to travel. Stylish Hotels for Urban Spirits, a new way to connect to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q Hotel And Spa
q Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel by Marriott Kansas City Westport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.