We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
sydney
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

As I had never been to Kansas before I thought I would check out what people were writing about where to stay in Kansas. The Raphael had mainly positive comments hence my stay. What a beautiful hotel. Service amazing location amazing rooms beautiful. I loved my stay in Raphael . It is a small boutique hotel which I loved. Only negative I could say is dont order the sorbet for dessert from the restaurant. As all you receive is 3 small spoonfulls.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theraphael, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Thank you for your comments I will review your impressions of the sorbet with our Executive Chef.

Best Regards,

Carol Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    79
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
77
225
34
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed at the Raphael one night between Christmas and New Years. It was our second time there. Our key did not open our room, requiring another trip to the front desk. The toilet seat was loose.The refrigerator in the sitting room was so loud that I unplugged it in order to watch TV. The volume control on the bedside radio was stuck in one position that was too loud to comfortably listen to.
I would have told them about these issues at checkout but I wasn't asked how our stay was. The treadmills in the fitness center are in good shape, Startracs with the built in TV's, but we just didn't feel the love this time, especially for @$200 per night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theraphael, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
I am so sorry you we were disappointed with your stay at the Raphael. Please contact me to directly so I may personally address your concerns.

Best Regards,

Carol Chandler
General Manager
816.802.2130
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Great location - you can walk to the Plaza. Also, they don't charge extra for parking like many hotels do, and the parking is very convenient. Staff were extremely nice and helpful. Room and amenities were impeccable. One morning we were having trouble with one of our 3 televisions, and we reported it to the front desk on our way to breakfast. By the time we got back, it was fixed, and maintenance had left us a nice note saying that they'd been there, and to let the front desk know if there was still a problem. As a nice touch, they also left two precious little hammer shaped chocolates with the note. Housekeeping left delicious chocolate chip cookies, and room had a convenient Keurig coffee maker with high quality coffee.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theraphael, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback. I will share with my team and do hope you will stay at the Raphael every time you are in Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Reserved a King Suite Plaza View, the view of the Plaza lights was great. Nice room, comfortable bed, so convenient for strolling on the Plaza at night. Our breakfast the next morning at Chaz was great. Can't wait to go back again next year!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theraphael, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and for staying at the Raphael Hotel.

Best Regards,

Carol Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed in a King Plaza-View Suite (room 311). The room was incredible! Large, clean and very comfortable. Very reasonable at $219 for a room looking out over the Plaza Christmas lights. Can't wait to stay there again.

However... we tried to have drinks and appetizers at the restaurant affiliated with the hotel ("The Chaz"). The calamari was so salty we had to send it back... and the bruchetta we got to replace it was coated in oil and vinegar and was not appetizing. The bartender was in a hurry and not helpful and spent most of his time arguing with wait staff and his bar back. The restaurant was so bad we left and ate elsewhere. Too bad... because the rest of our stay was awesome.

Bottom line... The Raphael was amazing... just avoid "The Chaz".

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theraphael, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience in Chaz. I would love the opportunity to discuss your comments further. Please contact me at your convenience to discuss.

Best Regards,

Carol Chandler
816.802.2130
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

As a native Kansas Citian, I was looking forward to introducing my east coast husband to the famous Plaza Christmas Lights with a view from a posh room at The Raphael. Imagine my disappointment when the "view" was only from one far corner of the very small room, visible, basically, by one person at a time. The view was, more accurately, of the brick front of the other wing of the hotel. When I complained immediately to the desk, they said the hotel was booked and they didn't have anything available. Considering this was a Wednesday-Monday stay, I feel we should have had priority over a weekend only booking and been moved to a better room. Or offered some form of compensation. Although the entire staff was very nice, the clerk was obviously unable/unwilling to do any better for us. Since this was a trip to visit family, I didn't want to start it out haggling/ negotiating/ complaining with the hotel, so I just dropped it. However, overall, the Raphael just does not live up to the "boutique" hype. Except for a convenient location, steps away from the Plaza shopping and restuarants, I could have done just as well with a chain hotel and avoided the disappointment factor and saved considerable money.
The room was very small, the "elegant' tiled bathroom was as cold as a meat locker. We jokingly called the towels and robes "loofa" towels because you sure got an exfoliation treatment using them. We had to send breakfast back twice in the restaurant because it was cold and undercooked. Sigh...I had really expected so much more. When staying home is an upgrade you are in trouble! I am sorry to say, I can't recommend the hotel. Wish I could.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theraphael, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Please contact me directly so that I may personally address your concerns.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Best Regards,

Carol Chandler
General Manager
816.802.2130
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I stayed here for a romantic New Year's Eve with my boyfriend last year - it was kind of a big deal because we were going to be parted for four months the next week due to an out of town assignment, and it was also our first overnight trip together. The room itself was nice, if quite small. I have to say that I think the giant yellow checked wallpaper is VERY loud and far too visually assertive to be considered part of a relaxing environment, and I don't think it looks particularly posh. Giant yellow picnic-blanket check print... I'm not sure where it belongs, but probably not where you're sleeping, right? Evidently it is in every single room and there's no getting away from it. We stayed at the Raphael largely to be close to the Plaza, because we had dinner reservations and no desire to involve cars or cabs in them on New Year's Eve. Our plan was to do some shopping, have a nice night out, enjoy a decadent breakfast in bed, and drive home. What happened was that we did some shopping, ended up getting room service (well, you know - kids these days) which was *delicious* - I think I'll be dreaming about the mashed potatoes with lobster and Boursin on my deathbed, and the salad and crabcakes were delicious too. We enjoyed the room. The mattress was fine, but the pillows were very old and lumpy instead of soft and springy and supportive. When a pillow in a hotel room is starting to separate and bunch and lump, it's kind of hard not to think about the fact that it's evidently been used a lot, by a lot of different people, possibly for years. I replace my pillows at home at least once a year, they're not expensive and you'd think a $250 a night hotel might do likewise. If it takes shifting costs, believe me - nobody will mind if you decide to stop putting monogrammed gold foil stickers on the toilet paper. The quality of the linens was also surprisingly low - I've had better linens in Holiday Inns. Everything was basically fine until someone in an adjacent room started chain smoking the stankiest, nastiest, profoundly foul cigars in their bathroom, around 2 or 3 in the morning. It's a non-smoking facility and one is warned about the fine for smoking in the room, so when OUR room filled with disgusting cigar smoke it woke up my boyfriend, who woke me up to help sort it (it was so bad in our bathroom that I was actually retching while trying to figure out how to block it from getting in) I called down to the front desk in an aggrieved state - they said they could not move us to another room, but that they would not charge us the fine for smoking in the room. Um. Thanks? Neither of us was able to sleep comfortably in the fetid room after all the hullaballoo of trying to make the cigar smoke stop filling our room, but I think we both managed to get back to sleep a little before dawn. We called in our room service order. The image I had was, you know, typical romantic room service breakfast type thing. Robes, trays of delicious food, luxurious morning in, hot coffee. None of that happened. We called in our order. We sat around for an hour drinking coffee, waiting on showering and dressing until we'd had breakfast etc. in bed. I called down after we'd waited an hour and 15 minutes and said if it would be much longer to cancel as we'd go out instead. Room Service said it was coming right up. I called again after we'd been waiting an hour and a half. We had to eat, and at this point we were barely going to have time to scarf down some eggs, shower, and dress before the designated checkout time. We were both sick of sitting in the room by now, too. We showered, dressed, and continued to wait for breakfast to arrive. It was ridiculous. Breakfast arrived two hours after we ordered it, and after we'd been told three times that it was on its way when someone obviously should have said "We're swamped and we're quite sorry, it's running very late, if you'd like to eat elsewhere we will cancel your order." Everything on the tray was completely cold. Completely. Like I'm not sure how it managed to be colder than room temperature. I guess it was sitting somewhere with a nice cold draft, probably for at least half an hour or longer. By then I was actively angry. I called down to the front desk and expressed disapproval. And that is pretty much when we saw evidence of quality in the hotel - the staff was apologetic and courteous. They understood we had a long, uncomfortable night, followed by a long, hungry wait for a cold, congealed mess of a breakfast. The breakfast was comped, and I think they might have also comped the room service from the night before (which was delicious - I'd had such high hopes for breakfast as a consequence).

I feel a bit weird giving this hotel 3 stars, because I just wrote a review of a Holidome that got four (though I was on the fence between 3 and 4 with that one too) - but beyond all the glitz and pretty and polish and the nice address and the historic appeal and the lovely elevator, what you really really want from a hotel is a good night's sleep. If it's a luxury hotel that you're paying a substantial sum of money to stay at, you expect it to be comfortable. Honestly, the Holidome had a much nicer bed and much nicer pillows and much nicer linens. We did not wake up to a room full of stank cigar smoke. Nobody kept us waiting for two hours for breakfast. When we had breakfast, it was not cold and congealed and gross. The luxuries a hotel offers are really only going to be thoroughly appreciated by people who have also had their basic needs met. All the other flourishes seem like pearls on a pig if you slept badly and were kept hungry all morning. I wish it had been the grand experience I'd so been looking forward to. I do love hotels. For the price, I can't recommend it without reservation. Mostly because of the sleep quality due to the pillows and sheets being inferior. Our other problems are probably not faced on a regular basis by guests.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2014 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.