We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not my personal syle, but excellent hotel for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“not my personal syle, but excellent hotel for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I much prefer sleek, modern hotels for business trips but nevertheless, i thought the Raphael was an excellent stay. Walking distance to country club plaza, decent sized rooms, comfortable bed and fairly quiet. Kansas City as a whole is an old city - the intercontinental was located across the street and that place looked very dated from the outside. At least the Raphael has charm and a good restaurant - albeit it has a bit of "the shining" feel that comes with old hotels

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear BigLeagueC,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, even if we do provide alittle different style than you are used to. Thank you for your kind comments. We hope we will have another opportunity to host you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    80
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
79
252
34
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here on a business trip but wanted something a little bit special as well for husband and wife.....

man it was awesome, from the minute we hit the front driveway, hands on to assist, friendly team on the desk, and when we got to our room wow!!!!!!!!

awesome coffee machine, amenities, the spa bath was out of this world, not to mention the huge shower with rainshower head as well..the toiletries were great, big cupboards and drawers, the view fantastic and as for the bed....it was so soft and comfy & guess what a proper quilt!!!!!!!!!rare for hotels these days....the heating/cooling worked awesome.

we had 2 breakfasts and a business lunch at the restaurant, our business associates were very impressed as we were. the staff and food were totally awesome.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL, DONT STAY ANYWHERE ELSE IN KANSAS - YOU WILL LOVE THE EXPERIENCE>

Amy

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Amy S,

Thank you for being our guest, and sharing your thoughts. We are so pleased to have had the opportunity to hosting you at the Raphael and Chaz. Your comments will be shared with all of our associates.

Please make plans to come back and see us again!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Amazing room, exceptional staff . Drinks at the fire such a highlight because of Josh! He was such a wealth of knowledge not only of the history of the hotel, but of the wine offerings, What an asset to this hotel! This man deserves a raise!

Room Tip: Excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear ScobbyM<

We promise to share your comments with Josh from Chaz! thanks so much foa ll your kind comments about him, Chaz, and the Raphael. We truly appreciate your input and your patronage. Please plan on returning to se us again soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsborg, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel with excellence, look no further. For banquets, Chad and Tyler are the best. Luggage, it doesn't get any better with Rick. Comfort, historical, and great water pressure for a relaxing shower with nice robes. Room service is top notch with great choices for food. The hot chocolate in the evening was the perfect temperature. Should be rated a 5 star hotel. Maybe if they put their restaurant on the top floor for a breath taking view the Country club Plaza. I even talked with Bill Cosby in the elevator. That should tell you the class if he stays there.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Airbeanie,

What a very complimentary review, thank you so much! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate your willingness to share your thoughts. It is always so helpful to share this type of review with all of our associates, it does make a difference. Please plan on returning and seeing us again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a beautiful historic hotel. We stayed in a Suite which had 2 Queen beds and a pull out sleeper sofa. We were impressed with how large the room was and the bathroom was also large and beautiful! All the bedding and furniture looks very updated and well taken care of. The curtains are on an electronic system so you just push a button to open and close them! When you walk into the hall and ride the elevator, you're reminded of the historic beauty of this building. The elevators are relatively small and a little slow moving but nothing to complain about. We were there around Christmas and lobby was absolutely beautiful with the Christmas decorations. Every staff member that we came in contact with was very kind and helpful when we had questions. We ate breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel basement and it was just a beautiful as the hotel. The food was amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Luvtrips1,

Thank you so much for your very generous review of your stay with us at Christmas! We truly appreciate your comments and thoughts. Please don't wait until next Christmas to come back and see us again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Have stayed here numerous times over the past 30 years. It is an older hotel but well taken care of. Most rooms are not large but are clean and comfortable. Staff is young but capable. Very little noise. The best part of staying here is the location, just a block (or so ) from Country Club Plaza.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear John,

Thanks so much for your very kind review regarding your recent stay with us at the Raphael Hotel. We will look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We visit the Plaza area several times a year and the Raphael is always our choice. Great location, wonderful rooms and impeccable service. The rooms are great, the bar and restaurant are great, and it has no equals. Not as cheap as others, but it is worth it to us. Quiet, romantic and worth a visit. You visit once and you will be hooked.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Charles,

Thanhk you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visists to the Raphael.It is always so helpful to share these comments with all of our associates, who make it all happen. Please plan on returning soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2014 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.