We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a disappointment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never a disappointment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is one of the cutest, romantic, and most professional boutique hotels that I have ever stayed at. I have stayed here with my husband multiple times and we have never had a bad experience.

Arrival starts with a friendly greeting with a warm smile from the valet staff. You can self park or valet for free (the valets appreciate the tip though and it's well earned!) When you check in, the front desk staff are always so friendly and accommodating. We have never actually asked for a room upgrade but when available (especially if you are staying for any special occasion such as a birthday or anniversary) they have given us a free upgrade without us asking! It's always such a nice surprise when it happens!

I have not had the pleasure of eating in the restaurant but have heard good things. My husband and I have gotten room service before and both feel it was above average. The bathrooms have always been clean and the beds always comfortable. If we have ever had an issue in one of the rooms, we've alerted the front desk and they look to fix the problem ASAP!

Checking out is always a smooth process as well. Maybe we have just been lucky with timing,but we have never had to wait in line to check out. The process was always quick and painless, just the way we like it.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. You can walk right across the bridge to the Plaza (outdoor shopping location) that has a wide variety of shops and restaurants as well as a movie theater. There is so much to do within walking distance of the hotel.

This is a historic hotel so you do have to be realistic about some of the building's features (i.e. the elevators are cozy). Clearly the staff at The Raphael keep a well maintained, well lit, and comfortable hotel that wins my husband and I over every time. Their rates are always reasonable when you plan ahead. I recommend this hotel every time someone asks about a hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors with views of the plaza are always fantastic as the plaza is lighted at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Kimberly,

THANK YOU! WOW, you really said it all! How nice of you to share all of this. We truly appreciate you taking the time to do so. Please next time make time for CHAZ as well. We would love to hear from you again.

Happy 4th of July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    79
    23
    11
    8
See reviews for
79
243
34
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Rahpael the night of our wedding. It was absolutely amazing. From the time we arrived, when the FREE valet serviced greeted us at my car. To when we arrived in our plush Presidential Suite for the evening. It was just great prefect way to end what was already a perfect day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Newly Weds,

Thank you for choosing the Raphael for your very special day, CONGRATULATIONS! We are so appreciative of you sharing your experience and your thoughts. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our getaway in KC at the Raphael Hotel. From the moment we arrived we were taken care of by the wonderful staff. The hotel is besutiful and the architecture is truly something to enjoy. The room was nicely appointed and even had bath salts! We had a great view of the Plaza from our room and everything in the plaza was within walking distance. The Nelson Atkins Museum of Art is also close by as well. This was a perfect getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear "Getaway" Guests,

Thank you for selecting the Raphael as your "Getaway" of choice. We truly appreciate your kind comments. Thank you for being our guests. We hope you plan on returning soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

From The Time I Parked The Car In Front, With The Complimentary Valet, To The Checkout, The People There Were Professional, Curtious, Willing To Help And Even Made Things Simple And Pleasant. I Will Go There Anytime I Visit Kansas City. Thank You For A Wonderful Experience!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear RecenT Raphael Guests,

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, what more can we say? It really helps us to maintain this kind of satisfaction with all of our guests, when we can share this kind of experience with all of our associates.

Please plan on returning soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I am in love with this hotel! The staff was incredible: from valet, the front desk, bartender in Chaz to the housekeeper on our floor. Such a gorgeous hotel in a fabulous location. This is my ideal place to stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Recent Raphael Hotel Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a great review! We truly appreciate your mentioning all the individual staff members in particular.

We love being "Your ideal place to stay", come back and see us again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Raphael Hotel is a beautiful hotel, room was large and spacious with a great view. Although the best part was the service, we've never gone to a hotel and had such helpful and genuinely nice people. If you get a chance make sure you eat at The Chaz restaurant, amazing food!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Raphael and Chaz Guests,

How nice of you! Thank you for all your kind words about the Raphael and Chaz! We love to share reviews like this with all of our associates who make it all happen. Thank you for caring, we hope to see you again soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Incredibly courteous and accommodating staff, perfect location within easy walking distance of the best shops and restaurants, superb cleanliness, the only thing that could have made this better would be staying for free!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Recent Raphael Guests,

Thank you for all your kind words! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and your thoughts. Please plan on returning soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2014 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.