We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but skip the restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Pinecraft, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, but skip the restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have stayed here over 20 years and many different flags. Marriott has done well, freshening the lobby with very chic furnishings. The front desk staff was stellar. Breakfast was such a disappointment both in quality and service. The bar is worth a Pre-bedtime cocktail, but that is all the time we care to spend in the restaurant. Make sure to take a walk around Loose Park, just up the hill.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

Thank you for your review and your input. While I am so pleased you enjoyed the Hotel, I must aplogize for your disappointment with your breakfast experience. We normally provide excellent an excellent breakfast and service. I'm very sorry we let you down. I hope we will have the opportunity to do it properly for you on your next visit. Thank you again for your patronage and your patience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    75
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
74
216
31
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location on the Country Club Plaza. Newly redecorated--a boutique hotel. We had a nice one bedroom suite. Cozy restaurant with good food. Parking can be an issue if it is snowing and the hotel is crowded but valet parking is offered.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms do not have plaza view or noise, but no view. I would rather sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Recent Raphael Hotel Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and review. We love your "boutique boutique" description. We will look forward to your return. Thank you for being our guest...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas CIty, MO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I celbrated our anniversary at the Raphael. It was a beautiful stay and the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The room had a view of the plaza and everything is within walking distance. Our dinner reservations were only about a 10 minute walk and we had an enjoyable walk back to the hotel. While this is an older building, it has been renovated to include adequate power and interenet capability. The hotel offers complimentary valet parking and I would recommend taking advantage of that service.

Room Tip: Plaza view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Recent Raphael Guests,

Thank you of your very kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed our Hotel as well as the Plaza. Next time you must try Chaz in the hotel for a wonderful dinning experience, you won't be disappointed! Thank you again for your patronge, we will look forward to your return...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a quick weekend get-way to Kansas City for Spring Break to catch a Sporting KC game. According to Trip Advisor this was the #1 hotel and it did not disappoint. Apparently due to a basketball tournament in town the website said they were sold out but a quick call to the front desk they were able to find us a queen suite at a great price. We arrived a little late to our drive in but were able to check in quickly and happy to find the couch bed linens easily in the closet. Most hotels you have to call down for them. The Sporting KC stadium is a short 25 min drive with a lot of shopping and eating venues surrounding it. However, it was nice to come back to the hotel, step outside the door and find dinner. I was estatic to find H&M and Buca which we don't have at home. The hotel valet was no where to be seen for quite a while on Sunday morning but I am not sure if they were short handed or very busy. The front desk didn't seem to care. However, when the valet did show up they were very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Spring Breakers,

Thank you for choosing the Raphael Hotel for your Spring Get-Away, and all your kind words. We are always striving to provide the best with our facility and our services. Your input on our complimentary valet service is valuable and we appreciate it. Please come back and see us again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Traveling through the area and had stayed at this hotel a couple years ago, so decided to stay here again as we were familiar with the area. comfortable, clean and nice! Wish they had a pool! We would stay here again in a heart beat! Great places to eat and shop within walking distance The place has several nice touches - like the fire places out front with chairs around them. Also love the decorative white lights outside the main entrance. We had a bedroom with two queen beds and a living room and bathroom on other side of the living room. Made it nice to get ready and not interrupt the others still sleeping. Bathrobes and hair dryer very nice! Nice selection in the fridge and snack cabinet - but we did not have any. Our room was on the 4th floor and view was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear "Another Great Stay Guests",

Thank you for being our recent guests, and sharing all your kind words.We certainly appreciate your input and your patronage, please come back and see us again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I decided very spur of the moment to stay for the weekend very recently. They do it right here. We stayed in a king suite with a separate living room. Our bedroom overlooked the plaza. Charming, charming, charming. Room was very clean, housekeeping services were wonderful. Staff is fantastic. Looking forward to going back. The location is unbeatable. Not our first time here nor last.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear "Weekend Away Guests",

Charming is one of our favorite words we love to hear from our guests. Thank you so much for sharing your recent visit with us. We promise to keep the charm going, so please return and visit us again soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two weekend nights. We were able to get a somewhat reduced rate and free breakfast through the Marriott reward program. Reservations were made online and were easily made. The people that work at the Raphael are what really make it a very good place to stay.
The doormen are friendly and helpful every time you leave and return. It was snowing and umbrellas were gladly provided as we left to walk around the Country Club Plaza. Check in was quick and there were no problems.
This is a hotel that was originally an apartment building built in the 1920s. Our room was a little small, but it had a nice view of the Plaza. My only complaint was that the weak water pressure. I have experienced worse, but it could have been better. There were nice amenities and our room was cleaned very well and on time.
We ate breakfast at the hotel both days. It was very good both times.
The Country Club Plaza is not what it once was. Many shops close early in the evening. Brooks Brothers just left the Plaza, as have many other great stores. There are still quite a few good places to eat. If you want to experience the Plaza, the Raphael is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear "Charming" Guests,

Thank you for being our guests, and for all your kind words about your stay. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Please plan on returning soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City
Address: 325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2014 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.