We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique property.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Hilo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique property.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great place to take your significant other for a special occasion. Staff is wonderful, personal wake up calls, Chaz restaurant is very good for a hotel. I chose this location because my wife was staying for the first week; she loved it. Concierge level gets lobster or filet included for breakfast along with many other choices. Valet parking is included and the location is perfect for the wife shopping at the plaza, directly across the street.
So far, it's great, however I'm a business traveler and like the amenities of a large chain hotel. No pool, jacuzzi, buffet and the worst, maid hand washes the glasses in the room. Who does that anymore? Also since the hotel was built many years ago, the outer walls are not insulate to current standards. A cool current of air was omnipresent. Internet was slow and cable always had a few station with no signal.
Staff always would come and fix it, but what a pain!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear BBP Guest,

Thank you for all your comments and observations. We truly appreciate all of them, and promise to give attention to the Housekeeping point. We are always striving to be better, and you have helped us to continue that effort. Again thank you, and I hope we continue to have the opportuntiy to host you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    77
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
77
226
34
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I love to go to the Raphael Hotel for a romantic weekend on the Plaza in Kansas City. They even have the wonderful Chaz restaurant in the property. The hotel is very nice. The staff are second to none. The security and convenience are awesome.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room overlooking the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Recent Hotel and Chaz Guests,

Please "Keep Coming Back", as you mentioned in your review! Thank you for kind review of the hotel and our restaurant Chaz! We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Hope to see you again soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was there recently for a conference and had a wonderful experience. The staff was fabulous. I asked for a wake up call and when the phone rang there was an actual person on the other end wishing me a good morning. The rooms and amenities were terrfic. The food was excellent. The Jazz at the Chaz was amazing. I can not wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mr. "Wonderful Hotel"'

Thank you so much for all your generous comments! We are very happy that you enjoyed our Hotel and CHAZ our restaurant. It is always so nice to share reviews like this with all the people who make it all happen. Please come back and see us again soon...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I spent a week at this property. Loved the location, the room, and the accommodations. So glad this property was converted into a hotel so many years ago. The restaurant needs a little sprucing up but the food was great. I love period furnishings but they can still be clean. :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Recent Raphael Guest,

Thank you for completing our Guest Survey, and sharing your experience. Thanks to guests like yourself, I have an opportunity to give attention to any situtions that may need it, as well as share all experiences with all of our associates. Again thank you for your input and your patronage. I hope we will have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, USA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I recently spent two nights in the Raphael. It was a pleasure from check in to departure. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was well supplied and large. I had breakfast in the restaurant. It was good, the service was excellent and it was reasonably priced. I had a question at checkout but it was handled very professionally by Patrick Joyce. I recommend the Raphael highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Recent Raphael Guests,

Thank you so much for your very kind review of the hotel and our staff and services. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have stayed in a range of hotel rooms and suites in KCMO, including The President, International, Sheraton, the Phillips and Embassy Suites. The Raphael offers style, charm, amazing comfort, convenience, location, and efficient SERVICE. At their CHAZ restaurant we felt like we were in New Orleans. Try It!

Room Tip: We usually choose to view the Plaza, but this time we got a first floor, end King suite with extra w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Recent Rafael and Chaz guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about both the Raphael and our restaurant Chaz. We are very proud to be considered Charming and providing the Best Service.
All of our associates work very hard every day to insure this for every visitor. Please return and see us again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My family and I have been staying at the Raphael annually for nearly 15 years. It's always been an attractive boutique hotel, and the change in ownership a couple of years back resulted in much needed repairs and upgrades. The trade off was a complete loss of personalized service. Our last stay in Dec 2012 was horrific. The reservations had a mix up - we get 3-4 rooms and for our first night we only had 2. I volunteer to sleep on the couch, ask for the bedding to be put in the room, along with more glassware and towels as we are three to a room instead of 2. We get back late and I don't realize that the one thin blanket I've been given is not nearly enough to stay warm - freeze all night. Ask for more blankets the next day, get blankets but the housekeeping staff took the sheets - still are not making the room up for 3 instead of two. Had to ask for coffee and cups, had to ask for towels. My guess is the housekeeping staff does not get a room census or doesn't read it. Upon check out we asked the valet for our car - they kept insisting that someone else's car was ours and actually asked as we were driving away if that car they had brought around wasn't ours?! Staff used to great us by name every year (having spent thousands there over the years), not anymore.

Room Tip: Plaza view is more expensive but only front rooms are truely plaza view, a side room is charged plaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

I am so sorry to read of the challenges you endured from your visit back in December. Thank you for sharing your experience so we can learn to improve with the details you provided.This is certainly not typical of our normal service and response. I apologize we did not do a better job of hosting you on this visit.

Thank you for input as well as your patience and your patronage. I hope we will have the opportunity to regain your trust and confidence with our facilities and our service again one day.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2014 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.