We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My family and I have been staying at the Raphael annually for nearly 15 years. It's always been an attractive boutique hotel, and the change in ownership a couple of years back resulted in much needed repairs and upgrades. The trade off was a complete loss of personalized service. Our last stay in Dec 2012 was horrific. The reservations had a mix up - we get 3-4 rooms and for our first night we only had 2. I volunteer to sleep on the couch, ask for the bedding to be put in the room, along with more glassware and towels as we are three to a room instead of 2. We get back late and I don't realize that the one thin blanket I've been given is not nearly enough to stay warm - freeze all night. Ask for more blankets the next day, get blankets but the housekeeping staff took the sheets - still are not making the room up for 3 instead of two. Had to ask for coffee and cups, had to ask for towels. My guess is the housekeeping staff does not get a room census or doesn't read it. Upon check out we asked the valet for our car - they kept insisting that someone else's car was ours and actually asked as we were driving away if that car they had brought around wasn't ours?! Staff used to great us by name every year (having spent thousands there over the years), not anymore.

Room Tip: Plaza view is more expensive but only front rooms are truely plaza view, a side room is charged plaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

I am so sorry to read of the challenges you endured from your visit back in December. Thank you for sharing your experience so we can learn to improve with the details you provided.This is certainly not typical of our normal service and response. I apologize we did not do a better job of hosting you on this visit.

Thank you for input as well as your patience and your patronage. I hope we will have the opportunity to regain your trust and confidence with our facilities and our service again one day.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    77
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
77
226
34
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

First off, let me say that this was our first time visiting Kansas City! I chose the Raphael based on it's reviews here on TripAdvisor.

We stayed 2 nights at the Raphael in one of their Presidential Suites. We couldn't have been more pleased. The room was very nice, up-to-date, and more than what we had expected. The sitting area was very spacious with a couch and several other chairs, and a table. We only sat in this room in the evenings to have a nightcap and discuss the days adventure! Never turned on the TV, so cannot speak to that.

The bathroom amenities were very nice, which was highlighted with a jacuzzi tub (in it's own room), seperated by the vanity, and then the toilet and shower were in a seperate area. The shower was very spacious as well and had 2 shower heads. Very nice addition to our stay. Much more than we had anticipated.

The bed was super comfortable and the bedroom had a nice sitting area as well. This suite did not dissapoint.

The only dissapointment about our stay is that our room wasn't cleaned until late in the evening on Saturday. We stayed in our room until around 10:30 that morning with the "do not disturb" sign hung. Unfortunately, the staff forgot about us and never came back. Not a big deal, however worth noting! It's only fair to say that this was our only hiccup during our stay.

The Keurig Coffee machine in our room was also a very nice touch! My wife loved this!!!!

Seriously, our stay really couldn't have been better. Great location and a nice romantic getaway. Shopped all day Saturday at the Plaza, and enjoyed a nice dinner at Chaz Saturday evening.

If you want to try something different, make sure you go by and check out a bar called, Manifesto. Drinks there are amazing.

By the way, the staff at the Raphael were more than helpful when suggesting places to go, shop, eat, etc. Thanks Raphael Staff for making our trip even better!

Room Tip: Presidential Suite is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear recent Raphael Guests,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and kind words you shared about your recent stay with us at the Raphael. I( do want to apologize for the delay with your room follow up, but I hope everything else made up for that delay. it sounds like you enjoyed our City as well, so please come back and see us again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We only spent one night here but I don't have a single complaint. Our double queen room with Plaza view was perfect for our family (myself, husband and daughter). I would like to stay here again during Christmas and have this wonderful view of the Plaza lights. The staff was very friendly and check in was quick. The bed was comfortable and our room was very clean and updated. I enjoyed soaking in the big bath tub while admiring the nice tile work and marble floors. It was very nice to stay in a room with a real thermostat and heater vents! I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Beautiful Old Hotel Fans,

We agree with you, we think we have a great place too! Thank you for your kind words, and your patronage. Please come back and see us again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We took our three teenaged kids for a quick weekend to KC to shop on the plaza and see the WWI museum. My kids loved the hotel and the employees were very nice; always having a friendly greeting when you walk in and parking your car for free--nice touch. The rooms are newly refurbished and clean and the restaurant (Chaz)is excellent, with amazing service. We would stay there again if we went back. Ti is a nice boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Get the suite--lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Recent Suite Guests,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. It is always so helpful to share this type of experience with all of our staff, who make it all happen every day. Please come back and see us again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned home from another wonderful trip to the The Raphael. My wife and I have visited the hotel numerous times over the past years and every time is just a special as the first. From the moment you walk in, you are made to feel welcome. We took advantage of the "February Sunday Special" and were upgraded from a standard king room to a king suite upon arrival. Although we live in the area, The Raphael could be considered out "hotel away from home." We will never stay anywhere else in Kansas City.

Room Tip: Splurge and go for a suite. We have stayed in numerous ones over the year and they are all wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Recnet Guests of the Raphael Hotel,

We love being "your hotel away from home"! Thank you so much for allowing us to be your favorite hotel. It is always so nice to hear from our local friends as well. Please come back and see us again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Raphael Hotel. Our suite was beautiful and comfortable; the staff was friendly, polite, and professional. Also, very easy access to the Plaza and other downtown venues. What a great place to stay. I want to return to Kansas City just to stay at The Raphael Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Recent Raphael Guests,

Thank you so much for your very kind review and comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is always so helpful to share these type of comments with all of our associates. Please come back qnd see us again soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

From the time I booked this reservation online until we checked out, this could not have been any better. I live in South Florida and my mom lives in the Kansas City area. I flew in to KC that morning and hooked up with Mom and we made our way to the Plaza. Growing up in KC, I always love the ambience of the Plaza and this trip was no exception. It was cold outside, but we were warmed by the wonderful reception we received from everyone. Laura let us check in early and we were taken to a beautiful suite on the 9th floor that had a side view of the Plaza...not head on, but not bad either. The room was really quite nice...better than any I've stayed in before. I must say that the thing that impressed me the most in regards to the room were the sheets on the very comfy beds...they were the softest sheets I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping beneath...honestly, they were wonderful. While I would say that I usually sleep at hotels, I never get a good night's sleep; not so at The Raphael...not even my mom's snoring disturbed me this trip :) We had breakfast at Chaz and it was quite good; we were still full from the night before at The Cheesecake Factory...but, we ate what we could the next day and enjoyed it. It was my mom's birthday and they put a candle in her omelet! Again...I will definitely make The Raphael a place to go when I want to do something special in KC again. Everyone who represented this hotel went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and very special...thank you so much!

Room Tip: For the best views request a room on the higher levels...9th floor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Birthday Girls,

We are so happy to read of the great time you had for a very special birthday celebration! Please don't wait for the next birthday, but come back just to visit and a
have a good time with us and Mom! Thank you for your kind words, we will be looking forward to your return soon...

Happy Birthday,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#3 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2014 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.