We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Moorpark, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Holiday Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The staff at The Raphael is exceptional. We stayed here while visiting our family over Christmas with our 2 daughters and we could not have asked for a better experience. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. However the best part of this hotel is the staff. The customer service provided by the staff is excellent. The service rivals other 5 star hotels like the four seasons.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear "Holiday Guests",

Thank you for choosing the Raphael Hotel for your Holiday retreat. We agree with you and feel that all our staff are FIVE STARS! Thank you for all your kind words that we can share with all of our associates who work so hard to acheive this type praise. Please come back and see us again soon.

Happy New year,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    95
    25
    13
    8
See reviews for
96
291
37
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed here three times and have never had a bad experience. If there was ever a mistake, they bent over backward to be sure we were pleased. The hotel is small enough to be cozy and intimate, the staff friendly and helpful, and the interior design just right. The on site restaurant, Chaz, is also very good for dinner or breakfast and the bar has live jazz trios playing. The location to walking around the Country Club Plaza shopping district is second to none.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

Thank you for all your kind words as well as your recent patronage. It is always very helpful to share these comments with all of our associates who make it all happen.

Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We are Kansas City locals and stay at various hotels in the city on special occasions. The Raphael is our favorite. Every staff member from the valet to the front desk to the wait staff are welcoming and efficient in their work. We love the view of the Plaza lights and the convenient location. It is our favorite hotel in the city!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear "Charming Boutique Hotel"guests,

Thank you so much, you have used some of our favorite descriptions! Please come back and see us again soon...

Happy New Year,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here over the Christmas holiday period. The hotel is beautiful, perfectly appointed, immaculately maintained, and the service was just excellent. I never say that. One of the most memorable hotel stays of my life.

Room Tip: We had a Plaza view room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Guest Relations Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear "Quite Simply Immpecable" Guests,

WOW, how nice are you? Thank you so much for taking the time to post and share your recent experience with us at the Raphael Hotel! We truly try to make every visit a "Memorable Hotel Stay" as you quoted. Thank you for letting us share this with all of our Team members.

We will look forward to your return...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Raphael is an excellent hotel. I travel on business around 70% of the time and this is one of the very few hotels that I have given 5 out of 5. It starts with the welcoming and helpful front of house staff and keeps the standard right through the experience. Well appointed and very large rooms with Keurig coffee makers and quality toiletries. Free wifi and parking and a great selection of free newspapers including the NY Times. There is also a reasonable gym (by hotel standrads) and a good restaurant where you don't feel conspicuous eating alone at the bar. Even the live music in the restaurant, something that usually makes me cringe and grumble in equal proportions, is surprisingly good but unobtrusive. The hotel is also just across the river from the Plaza district so there are multiple dining options if you want a change. Highly recommended - I have stayed there several times and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in the Kansas City area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Director of Sales at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear "Very Good by any Measure" Guests,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your kind words and to share your thoughts, as it means so much to all the people who work hard everyday to provide this type of experience. I promise we will share it with everyone.

Again thank you, and we will look forward to your return.

Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed several times over the years at the Raphael, and it keeps getting better and better. The service has always been very strong, but they have upgraded the rooms and the restaurant has significantly upgraded in offerings and quality. Keep in mind that this is an older, city hotel and the rooms are small. However the amenities and quality of the rooms are very good.

This will probably be my go to place in the Plaza area of Kansas City.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Director of Sales at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear "Things Continue To Get Better" Guest,

What a great compliment, thank you so much for your kind words. We work everyday to do just this very thing. We difinitely want to remain your "Go to Place on the Plaza"! We will look forward to your return. Thank you again.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, WI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at The Raphael for a girlfriends getaway and had a great stay. The staff was fabulous, from the bellmen to the front desk. Everyone knew our name and we really felt like we were walking into our home away from home and that the staff wanted us to be there!
The staff was knowledgable about the area offering suggestions for entertainment (and even late night pizza!).
I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Great Stay Guest,

I am so pleased you and your friends had a great time on your recent stay with us. I promise to share all your kind commentsw to all of our associates who work so hard every day to make everyone feel they are at home when visiting the Raphael Hotel. Please come back amd see us again soon, we'll be looking for you!

Happy Holidays,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 110 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,681 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips
Hotel Phillips
#29 of 110 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#19 of 110 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2014 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.