We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Historic boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Historic boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed here three times and have never had a bad experience. If there was ever a mistake, they bent over backward to be sure we were pleased. The hotel is small enough to be cozy and intimate, the staff friendly and helpful, and the interior design just right. The on site restaurant, Chaz, is also very good for dinner or breakfast and the bar has live jazz trios playing. The location to walking around the Country Club Plaza shopping district is second to none.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

Thank you for all your kind words as well as your recent patronage. It is always very helpful to share these comments with all of our associates who make it all happen.

Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    79
    22
    11
    8
See reviews for
79
239
34
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We are Kansas City locals and stay at various hotels in the city on special occasions. The Raphael is our favorite. Every staff member from the valet to the front desk to the wait staff are welcoming and efficient in their work. We love the view of the Plaza lights and the convenient location. It is our favorite hotel in the city!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear "Charming Boutique Hotel"guests,

Thank you so much, you have used some of our favorite descriptions! Please come back and see us again soon...

Happy New Year,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here over the Christmas holiday period. The hotel is beautiful, perfectly appointed, immaculately maintained, and the service was just excellent. I never say that. One of the most memorable hotel stays of my life.

Room Tip: We had a Plaza view room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Guest Relations Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear "Quite Simply Immpecable" Guests,

WOW, how nice are you? Thank you so much for taking the time to post and share your recent experience with us at the Raphael Hotel! We truly try to make every visit a "Memorable Hotel Stay" as you quoted. Thank you for letting us share this with all of our Team members.

We will look forward to your return...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Raphael is an excellent hotel. I travel on business around 70% of the time and this is one of the very few hotels that I have given 5 out of 5. It starts with the welcoming and helpful front of house staff and keeps the standard right through the experience. Well appointed and very large rooms with Keurig coffee makers and quality toiletries. Free wifi and parking and a great selection of free newspapers including the NY Times. There is also a reasonable gym (by hotel standrads) and a good restaurant where you don't feel conspicuous eating alone at the bar. Even the live music in the restaurant, something that usually makes me cringe and grumble in equal proportions, is surprisingly good but unobtrusive. The hotel is also just across the river from the Plaza district so there are multiple dining options if you want a change. Highly recommended - I have stayed there several times and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in the Kansas City area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Director of Sales at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear "Very Good by any Measure" Guests,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your kind words and to share your thoughts, as it means so much to all the people who work hard everyday to provide this type of experience. I promise we will share it with everyone.

Again thank you, and we will look forward to your return.

Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed several times over the years at the Raphael, and it keeps getting better and better. The service has always been very strong, but they have upgraded the rooms and the restaurant has significantly upgraded in offerings and quality. Keep in mind that this is an older, city hotel and the rooms are small. However the amenities and quality of the rooms are very good.

This will probably be my go to place in the Plaza area of Kansas City.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Director of Sales at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear "Things Continue To Get Better" Guest,

What a great compliment, thank you so much for your kind words. We work everyday to do just this very thing. We difinitely want to remain your "Go to Place on the Plaza"! We will look forward to your return. Thank you again.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at The Raphael for a girlfriends getaway and had a great stay. The staff was fabulous, from the bellmen to the front desk. Everyone knew our name and we really felt like we were walking into our home away from home and that the staff wanted us to be there!
The staff was knowledgable about the area offering suggestions for entertainment (and even late night pizza!).
I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Great Stay Guest,

I am so pleased you and your friends had a great time on your recent stay with us. I promise to share all your kind commentsw to all of our associates who work so hard every day to make everyone feel they are at home when visiting the Raphael Hotel. Please come back amd see us again soon, we'll be looking for you!

Happy Holidays,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Raphel is situated in a historic building that was built in the early 1900s. Don't be afraid! All the amenties are updated and it really just adds charm to the building and ambience. The service was fantastic! We arrived after midnight after some travel mishaps and the staff greeted us in our car helped grab the sleeping kiddo's and gear and practially carried all of us up to our room. They seemed to know our needs before we did asking if they needed to alert room service for warm milk or snacks. Everyone was very friendly and conversational in a little more familiar way then in a typical 5 star "professional" way (very Kansas City). My only complaint was the restaurant in the hotel: the food was very average and VERY salty (also very Kansas City). We had also heard that the rooms were very small. We stayed in a suite which I thought was very comfortable and adequate as far as space. There is not a lot to do inside the hotel, but it is located across the street from 'the Plaza' which is full of shopping, eateries, and walking paths. Other than that it was a beautiful and quaint hotel. A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, General Manager at The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear "Charmed Guests",

We think you are completely charming as well! Thank you so much for all your wonderful comments that you were so nice to share. It is always so helpful to share this type of feedback with all of our associates, who make it all happen everyday! Please come back and see us again soon...

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 325 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#1 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#2 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raphael Hotel is an elegant, charming boutique accommodation modeled on the finest small European hotels. Readers of Travel+Leisure voted The Raphael Hotel one of the 2014 T+L 500 World's Best Hotels. With a combination of a significant historic landmark, vintage hospitality, and individualized service, this Kansas City luxury hotel delivers a unique destination experience in the heart of Kansas City, Missouri's famed Country Club Plaza.The hotel's signature restaurant, Chaz on the Plaza, is noted for its intimate, romantic atmosphere and its distinct brand of modern, regional American cuisine. Menus offer a concise, yet diverse variety of appetizers, salads, soups, entrees and desserts. Signature items include fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, and a hand-cut, wet-aged prime beef Kansas City strip steak that advances Kansas City's beef reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Hotel Kansas City
Raphael Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;