We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I regularly stay here and this location, though less-flashy, is GREAT.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza to your Saves list
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“I regularly stay here and this location, though less-flashy, is GREAT.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Get a Club-level Suite.

Intercontinental KC really hits the mark here for service and amenities. The concierge in Club level are never boorish, over-bearing or inauthentic. You will rarely 'want' for much. This is a well-trained aspect of their staff. I am always surprised by the hor d'oeuvres at this hotel's Club Level. I stay often at many higher-rated hotels with this particular amenity, but the Intercontinental KC always seems to do something 'memorable...' Just a diminutive aspect I that resonates with me.

Other points of notice:

-Front desk is not 'exceptional,' but friendly
-The door is always attended and have yet to open the front door to the hotel myself
-Bellhop is fast and accommodating
-Plenty of live music on the weekends in the lobby
-Room service breakfast is surprisingly delicious, warm and fresh
-Dining Room breakfast is just as delightful, and service is always very pleasant
-Rooms have always been clean, and the view from the upper levels overlooking Country Club Plaza is quite memorable, especially at night
-This Hotel makes for a great little getaway with a loved one for a weekend - Music, shopping, club-level amenities, fine dining and breakfast in bed...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Please know we appreciate your feedback and 5-star rating!

We all look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Kansas City!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    202
    88
    55
    41
See reviews for
103
183
37
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental for only one night while visiting the Country Club Plaza. We had a king room on the fifth floor overlooking the Plaza which is beautiful in the fall. Of course, one pays for that view!! The room was nice and large, but the bathroom could use some upgrading. The bedding was nice and we slept well, but the a/c did not adequately cool the room.

We especially enjoyed the balcony that had a small table and two chairs. Even though it was the end of October and rainy, we were able to sit out there and enjoy the Plaza. We also enjoyed the music in the lounge after an excellent dinner at The Capital Grille.

We had a nice breakfast in The Oak Room, but it was not outstanding. We've enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the past, but maybe that is only available on the weekend. The doorman and valet were very friendly and did an excellent job. There were a couple of areas that do need improvement -- the front desk was short-handed. Each time we walked by there was a long line. She also told us she did not have any one-dollar bills!! The other complaint was we did not have an extra roll of toilet paper in the room!! That has never happened in any hotel. All in all, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your valuable feedback. Please know your insight is appreciated. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.

So you know, a breakfast buffet is normally not served in the Oak Room during the week.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

On a recent trip to Kansas City for a business conference, I had a chance to stay at the InterContinental at the Plaza. While this hotel is not in the middle of it all, in terms of the downtown area, the Plaza offers plenty options for dining and especially shopping.
The hotel itself offers the usual amenities, such as breakfast, a lounge and bar area, and meeting areas if that is what you are looking for. The king size rooms are adequate, if not great.
This wouldn't be my first recommendation if you are looking for inner-city KC, but the area is not too shabby.

Room Tip: On my first night there, I was located in room 219. This room sits directly above the lounge/bar are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and please know we appreciate you recommending us to other travelers!

The Country Club Plaza is the most desired area in Kansas City. WIth 15 square blocks of shops, restaurants and night clubs, it offers plenty of variety to suit all visitors! Other areas offer pockets of options, but none with the variety and scope of the Plaza.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for a quick weekend getaway to KC. Room was clean, bed was comfy and overall the property had all of the amenities you would expect for an Intercontinental but wasn't anything super special. The staff was very friendly.

What did stand out was the location so close to the Plaza and the Friday evening entertainment in the lounge. After dinner it was nice to come back to some really great live music and relax with a nightcap before retiring.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Plaza and was noisy even though we were on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your experience on Trip Advisor. Please know we appreciate your recommendation to other travelers to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you do not use a fitness center when you travel, then this hotel is a 5 - great location and very friendly staff, and lots of plugs in the room (although the selection of TV channels is slim at best)....but if you use a fitness center, then this hotel is a 3....for me it is a 3. I travel a lot and always rely on the fitness center. This fitness center has towels, fruit, and water...terrific. But the equipment is sorely lacking. No recumbent bike and only a few machines with retrofitted TVs...although there is a community TV in the corner that blares...usually sports. The treadmills and ellipticals are old and have seen better days as far as how smooth they run. Perhaps the hotel feels the center does not get enough use and therefore there is no incentive to update - but if it were updated, perhaps it would get more use. Last week, I was at the Hilton Union Square in San Francisco....now that is a fitness center!

I am planning to be back here in February. I hope they have revamped the fitness center by then...I will check before making reservations.

I would encourage management to read other reviews on here and Yelp...many say the same things.....

Room Tip: Ask for a plaza view...it is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback.

We're happy you rated all aspects of your stay 5-star with the exception of the fitness center. We normally receive excellent feedback about our fitness center, but do appreciate your input.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here for a work conference - the rooms were nicely appointed, although a little dated. The location was great for Plaza shopping, restaurants, etc. I enjoyed the hotel bar and the outdoor seating area with the fire pits. The staff was awesome - very helpful and accommodating. Bedding was amazing - I slept very well. They don't have a great pool, but otherwise the hotel is very nice and I would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your experience on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased to learn you enjoyed your room, the bed, the food & beverage outlets and the service provided by our team!

I'm not sure if your comment about our pool is reflective of the fact it is an outdoor pool and closed for the season. Our pool is one of our most popular amenities in the summer. Two months ago it was featured in the Kansas City Star as one of the best outdoor pools in the entire metropolitan area,

We look forward to serving you again during your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Perfect location. Came to KC for a World Cup qualifying soccer match, stayed an extra day. Access to lots of great restaurants and things to do, and shopping if you're into that. Hotel was clean, just old. Staff was super friendly, esp the doorman...what a nice guy! Had a few minor issues with the room that we're promptly resolved. And the US national team was staying here, too, so some celebrity soccer sightings were the icing on the cake!! Would def stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to see some of your favorite celebrities.

We are also glad to see that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Kansas City. We will look forward to that opportunity to serve you again!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#23 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.