We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A higher standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza to your Saves list
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A higher standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The ICKC sets a standard among Kansas City hotels. It's location is perfect along Brush Creek and Country Club Plaza. It's very close to nice restaurants, Seasons 52 is our favorite, and some awesome shops. Williams-Sonoma is just across the way and always has something going on. Our favorite shop is probably The Better Cheddar. It started as a sandwich and cheese shop and has turned into so much more! All within easy walking distance for most everyone.

Staying at the ICKC we always stay on the concierge level. It's a little more expensive but so worth it. A light breakfast is served. Snacks are most always available and an assortment of drinks. In fact, they have a machine that makes a latte as well as Starbucks and you don't pay $5 a cup! That pays for it for us right there. Not to mention the concierge, very knowledgeable and a great resource for getting a reservation. Concierge Craig, in fact, got us a reservation we were unable to get ourselves.

We have yet to visit the bar and restaurant onsite but things always look busy.

Nice hotel, great crowd, perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor! We're very happy to learn you enjoyed your stay.

Please know we will share you comments with Craig.

We all look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Kansas City!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    202
    88
    55
    41
See reviews for
102
182
37
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
watertown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'm pretty big with first impressions and the InterContinental in Kansas City didn't disappoint. Upon entering the hotel the decor gave me a sense of sophistication and class. The employees at the front desk and concierge were all very friendly and quite attentive. I thought that the accommodations were fantastic; the rooms were clean and quite spacious with comfortable beds, wireless internet, with a balcony that overlooked the pool and a view of the Country Club Plaza.

The Oak Bar, located just off the lobby was pretty cool with live music weekend nights. The bar boasts a wide range of liquors, including 40 kinds of beers; the only unfortunate thing was that none of the beers were on draft (nothing major). The appetizers from the bar menu were also quite delicious.

Being that this was my first time in Kansas City, the location couldn’t be more perfect. Walking distance to the Country Club Plaza which is a fifteen-block outdoor museum surrounded by shopping, dining and entertainment venues.

If you want to explore and experience some nightlife a 5 minute cab ride can take you to the entertainment district of KC, Westport. From local bands to national touring acts you can catch top notch entertainment here. Had an absolute blast in KC, and it was primarily a business trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very kind comments regarding the many aspects of your stay. We're obviously happy to learn how much you enjoyed everything.

We would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our 7th year stay at the IC. We have alway enjoyed our stay and we are still appreciating the hospitality in the lounge. This year I have special thanks to housekeeping. I realized the next day I left a jacket in the room and called to leave word with housekeeping to hold it. I got a call back from Ms Curry, head of housekeeping, to tell me it would be at the front desk. In all the hundreds of hotel stays we have had over the years only once did I get such a quick and helpful response to my housekeeping difficulty. Many, many thanks. I love those jackets. It turned out to be two jackets I left. We picked them up on the way back from Jefferson City on the way to the airport. Again, many thanks. It is appreciated.

Room Tip: The view looking down on the Country Club Plaza is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your 5-star experience on Trip Advisor!

Please know we appreciate your loyalty to the hotel during the last seven years and we look forward to serving you many times in the future.

We will be sure to share your comments with Ms. Curry!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at the hotel again after a 15 year gap. The hotel feels old. The owner or Intercontinental has not put much money into the property and it shows. It looks like a Ritz Carlton circa 1995. The room was fairly basic but large. The bed was just ok by recent hotel standards and the bedding felt "moist". The front desk attendant who checked us in was very efficient and welcoming given the late hour of our arrival. The front desk staff in the morning were rather cold and perfunctory. More like the post office than a hotel. The wait staff at the restaurant for breakfast were friendly and welcoming. The restaurant itself was nice and bright but again seemed like it had not been updated in many many years. I don't know where the Intercontinental chain is trying to position itself against peers but this property doesn't do much for the brand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We're glad you found your room to be large and enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

It was a surprise to learn you felt the hotel looked "old". There has been extensive renovations in the last five years including all guestrooms, all corridors, the lobby, the restaurant and lounge, the 11th floor Concierge's lounge and the rooftop meeting space.

Last week, we were awarded the AAA four-diamond award for the 22nd consecutive year and three weeks ago, we were selected as the "Best Hotel in Kansas City" by the readers of Ingram's magazine for the 5th consecutive year.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This previously was a Ritz Hotel. It is luxe with the old world feeling of paneled walls and antique furniture in the public spaces. The staff is well trained and friendly like one expects, but doesn't always find in beautiful hotels. I opted for a larger room. it wasn't that much more expense than the standard room and worth it. There was a small balcony with table and two chairs overlooking the Plaza and beyond it the midtown area highrises. The bed was bliss. there were black out shades which i like when traveling. Nice closet space with iron and digital safe. Beautiful bathroom, but I had water saving showers in hotels. Not as refreshing as a shower should be no matter how your turn the dial to change the tiny beads of water. The pool deck was overflowing (holiday weekend) and the water refreshing. The hotel wasn't that expensive and definitely worth the price.

Room Tip: all the rooms have a view. the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the InterContinental Kansas City and for awarding us your 5-star rating!

We look forward to another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in our great city!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I traveled to attend a meeting at the InterContinental Hotel in KC at the Plaza. It's an older nice hotel that use to be a Ritz Carlton Hotel so you have the rich woods you always see in their hotels. The staff was very nice the food was good and the hotel was clean and well kept. One thing I noticed was the way they nickle and dime you on services such as their internet. First of all they don't have free internet in the lobby and you don't have the ability to use the internet if you are attending a meeting, etc. I have not stayed at a hotel in a couple years that didn't at least have free internet service in the lobby. When you do purchase the internet for your room they only allow you to connect 2 items to it. I normally travel with my laptop and my ipad (only to read the daily papers I get) and my iphone.. so I noticed an additional charge for the 3rd connection.. I stopped by the desk and the they explained why the charge... they don't tell you that you can only connect two items to your internet per room without an additional charge.. so they did how ever remove the extra charge .. they would be wise to let people know. Also many of the people attending the meeting could not get into their rooms until 5 to 6 pm and were suppose to be at a reception at that time.. so after traveling they had no were to get changed. I have told groups that I have worked with that they should avoid having their meetings in Kansas City because of all the fees the cities require hotels to add to your hotel bill.. or renting a car at the airport.. I got a car for $10 per day for 3 days yet with all the fees that were added by the city for 2 new buildings downtown they are charging about $5.00 per day for each of them and a new "rental car" facility at the airport which added an additional I think $4 per day as well as some sales tax and state taxes by that time the bill was about $90 for the 3 days.. so the fees are way out of whack and people should avoid flying into Kansas City if they can.

Room Tip: The tower rooms facing the Plaza give you a wonderful view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're very happy to learn you enjoyed the hotel, the amenities and the service provided by our staff.

Like most hotels in the area of the Country Club Plaza, we do charge for internet access. However, please know that IHG Priority Club guests receive free internet access. There is no charge to sign up for Priority Club and you may do so when checking in as it is a very quick process.

We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm a Royal Ambassador with Intercontinental. If you're not familiar that entitles me to:

Upgrade at booking - nope, had to ask for it at check in. Even after I did, and was indeed upgraded, my status STILL not acknowledged.

Welcome gift - nope.

Fruit and Water - nope.

Free mini-bar - had to ask for one to be put in the room. Then after it was put in the room, had to ask for them to fill it...

Free Internet - called down to the desk and told to put it on my bill and if I'm "a gold or higher" I'd be able to have it taken off at checkout. Hello? Royal. How about acknowledging it. Once. Just once.

I was upgraded, but the carpet is stained, the wallpaper is peeling, and the room is overall dirty.

I've tried calling the manager. He wasn't around. Emailed him. Nothing.

This is a HoJo masquerading as an Intercontinental.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

As communicated to you, please accept our apologies for the difficulties you experienced while our guest. Your reservation was not noted as to your Royal Ambassador status, so our staff was not aware you were entitled to the various perks that come with your status. Considerations have been made to you and we hope to have a second opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#15 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#23 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.