We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza to your Saves list
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
St Louis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This previously was a Ritz Hotel. It is luxe with the old world feeling of paneled walls and antique furniture in the public spaces. The staff is well trained and friendly like one expects, but doesn't always find in beautiful hotels. I opted for a larger room. it wasn't that much more expense than the standard room and worth it. There was a small balcony with table and two chairs overlooking the Plaza and beyond it the midtown area highrises. The bed was bliss. there were black out shades which i like when traveling. Nice closet space with iron and digital safe. Beautiful bathroom, but I had water saving showers in hotels. Not as refreshing as a shower should be no matter how your turn the dial to change the tiny beads of water. The pool deck was overflowing (holiday weekend) and the water refreshing. The hotel wasn't that expensive and definitely worth the price.

Room Tip: all the rooms have a view. the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the InterContinental Kansas City and for awarding us your 5-star rating!

We look forward to another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in our great city!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    193
    84
    55
    41
See reviews for
94
170
37
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilton Manors, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I traveled to attend a meeting at the InterContinental Hotel in KC at the Plaza. It's an older nice hotel that use to be a Ritz Carlton Hotel so you have the rich woods you always see in their hotels. The staff was very nice the food was good and the hotel was clean and well kept. One thing I noticed was the way they nickle and dime you on services such as their internet. First of all they don't have free internet in the lobby and you don't have the ability to use the internet if you are attending a meeting, etc. I have not stayed at a hotel in a couple years that didn't at least have free internet service in the lobby. When you do purchase the internet for your room they only allow you to connect 2 items to it. I normally travel with my laptop and my ipad (only to read the daily papers I get) and my iphone.. so I noticed an additional charge for the 3rd connection.. I stopped by the desk and the they explained why the charge... they don't tell you that you can only connect two items to your internet per room without an additional charge.. so they did how ever remove the extra charge .. they would be wise to let people know. Also many of the people attending the meeting could not get into their rooms until 5 to 6 pm and were suppose to be at a reception at that time.. so after traveling they had no were to get changed. I have told groups that I have worked with that they should avoid having their meetings in Kansas City because of all the fees the cities require hotels to add to your hotel bill.. or renting a car at the airport.. I got a car for $10 per day for 3 days yet with all the fees that were added by the city for 2 new buildings downtown they are charging about $5.00 per day for each of them and a new "rental car" facility at the airport which added an additional I think $4 per day as well as some sales tax and state taxes by that time the bill was about $90 for the 3 days.. so the fees are way out of whack and people should avoid flying into Kansas City if they can.

Room Tip: The tower rooms facing the Plaza give you a wonderful view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're very happy to learn you enjoyed the hotel, the amenities and the service provided by our staff.

Like most hotels in the area of the Country Club Plaza, we do charge for internet access. However, please know that IHG Priority Club guests receive free internet access. There is no charge to sign up for Priority Club and you may do so when checking in as it is a very quick process.

We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm a Royal Ambassador with Intercontinental. If you're not familiar that entitles me to:

Upgrade at booking - nope, had to ask for it at check in. Even after I did, and was indeed upgraded, my status STILL not acknowledged.

Welcome gift - nope.

Fruit and Water - nope.

Free mini-bar - had to ask for one to be put in the room. Then after it was put in the room, had to ask for them to fill it...

Free Internet - called down to the desk and told to put it on my bill and if I'm "a gold or higher" I'd be able to have it taken off at checkout. Hello? Royal. How about acknowledging it. Once. Just once.

I was upgraded, but the carpet is stained, the wallpaper is peeling, and the room is overall dirty.

I've tried calling the manager. He wasn't around. Emailed him. Nothing.

This is a HoJo masquerading as an Intercontinental.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

As communicated to you, please accept our apologies for the difficulties you experienced while our guest. Your reservation was not noted as to your Royal Ambassador status, so our staff was not aware you were entitled to the various perks that come with your status. Considerations have been made to you and we hope to have a second opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Kansas City is a close location for us and the Intercontinental came to the top of search for a fun long weekend. Outdoor pool with resort features was the clencher. We enjoyed the stay, close walking distance to the services provided by the Plaza. Hotel has been remodeled and was clean, but it is showing it age in a few ways.

Rooms were remodeled, staff was courteous and helpful. Pool staff was very attentive overall it met our expectations.. but did not exceed them. Have rated this stay as very good, because average is fair and was the next step.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us!

We're pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. Please stay with us again the next time you are ready for another Stay-Cation!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The InterContinental has changed hands/names many times since I have lived in Kansas City but it remains a classy, well-run hotel that is pricey but a special occasion treat. We stayed here with giggling girls for the One Direction concert. The hotel staff was gracious and always on hand to help. The bell hops were efficient and helpful. The concierge group of rooms hosted lovely snacks and a delightful breakfast which was excellent with breathtaking views of the plaza. (this is a group of rooms you pay extra to be a part of and it allows you private access to these rooms and the snack/breakfast area). Well worth it. The parking is easy (15.00 for self-park $25 for valet per day). They do accept AAA discounts so that was helpful since one double room is around 189.00 with the discount. The pool was fabulous. There was a steel drum being played poolside and it reminded me of a beach retreat with hula hoop and other games. Our view was over the pool looking onto the plaza and it was was amazing. The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the the check in staff. They were not friendly and when I needed a little help they were equally unhelpful. The person in front of me was treated like royalty so I know they are not generally grumpy. I probably did not look rich enough for them. Otherwise, outstanding place if you want a staycation or if you are from out of town this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the 11th floor-it is a bit more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the 5-star review! We're glad you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and the concert!

We'll look forward to serving you the next time you are in town!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here last week when I was in town for the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City's Agricultural Symposium. This is a very nice hotel in a very nice part of town! Short walk to the nightlife and shopping experiences at the Country Club Plaza. The Oak Room Restaurant is an added feature . . . great breakfast at a very reasonable price. I highly recommend the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Country Club Plaza and the sunrise . . spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us!

We appreciate your kind comments and the 5-star review. We're certainly very happy you enjoyed the hotel's amenities, and those of the Country Club Plaza!

We would love to serve you again in the future, so please stay with us next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here on business several times. Check in staff very nice and good room in good condition. Agree with prior review that AC does not get very cool which is unfortunate as it was warm when I was there on the 17th. But otherwise very comfortable. My only issue was that we were meeting some business associates at the hotel for breakfast and were not only told there was no room but the woman who greeted us was borderline unprofessional and looked completely overwhelmed. Seems like a hotel should be able to handle overnight guests for breakfast (8 am) but we were sent away and walked across the street to the Raphael.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we're glad you enjoyed your time here. However, it was a surprise and a disappointment to learn of your experience trying to be seated in the Oak Room. What you described is not acceptable.

If you would be willing to share any details with me that would allow us to follow up with the Oak Room Greeter to provide additional training, please contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#23 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.