We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Five Days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza to your Saves list
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, Uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Great Five Days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is an easy review to write. This has got to be one of the best hotels to stay in Kansas City. Set in a superb area, within easy walking distance of The Plaza. I cannot find a fault. Our room was spotless and well appointed, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5-star review!

We are obviously very happy to learn you enjoyed all aspects of your five night stay with us.

We will look forward to serving you again the next time you return to the area!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
St. Louis , MO
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting family. The outside areas of the hotel are well maintained, as well as the inside. I love the complimentary lemonade in the lobby. After check in, we proceeded to our room. It was smaller than expected, and we had hardly any room for a roll away bed. We also stayed on the concierge level, which included access to the lounge. It was not bad, and not great, but just okay. It was very small and had very limited food selection and alcohol was only complimentary in the evening for only a few hours. As a loyal ritz traveler, I find the Ritz's club lounge product better, but the one at intercontinental is still a good perk. Room service was again good, not great. Employees were wonderful. As stated in a few earlier reviews, you do need to walk a long way to the rooms. Overall, it was a good stay and I would only recommend staying for 1-3 nights.

Room Tip: Plaza view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and thank you for posting your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be wonderful! We're also glad you enjoyed the complimentary lemondade we serve every afternoon in the lobby.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO CITY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

You have to walk miles to your room. The rooms all have balconies and are huge. The sofa in my room was very ols and the fabric torn Bathroom was old with shower curtains! Breakfast room was sunny and the food is very good. Would consider staying there again if I could not find anything better in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LANGUIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us.

We're glad you enjoyed the size of your guestroom, your private balcony and the dining experience in the Oak Room.

It was surprising and disappointing to read your comments about having to walk miles to get to your room. With only 366 guestrooms, the hotel is not overly spread out. I have never received this comment before, but do apologize if it was inconvenient for you.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Let me preface this by saying that I consider myself to be a "value traveler". My expectations from a $250 a night hotel are much different than an $80 a night hotel. That said, we had a nice stay at the KC Intercontinental this weekend but I would consider it an average value at the price ($240/night + taxes). Some of the service I received was excellent (the head valet offered me a bottle of water at the valet stand as I returned from a morning run), while other was just mediocre: at bedtime, we waited 30+ minutes for a blanket from housekeeping after calling twice. Both I and another travelling companion had to return to the front desk multiple times to get functioning key cards (we were told once that sometimes "you just have to jiggle the handle"). There were no clean towels at the pool for an hour or more in the late afternoon on Saturday. None of these are reasons not to stay at this nice hotel but also are not the type of issues I would expect at a four- or five-star hotel which is why I am giving three stars overall.

The rooms were nice with great views of the plaza but the bathrooms were just average. They could have been more functional for a family with a door separating the commode from the vanity. Dirty caulking in the shower was not a deal-breaker but also not indicative of a five-star hotel which I believe is what the IC strives to be.

On another note, I usually travel solely for pleasure, rarely for business, and so feel more acutely when I have to pay for items that I would normally expect to be covered. Wireless internet is available for free in the lobby (but I was not able to get it at the pool) but costs $11.95 a day in the room. Parking is $15 a day as well. I realize this tends to be the industry standard but it rubs me the wrong way. I never have understood the long-distance phone calls for $11.00 for the first minute.

I should mention that the outdoor pool area is very nice on a sunny day and has plenty of room for lounging, sitting and relaxing. Definitely an enjoyable aspect of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the plaza have nice-sized balconies with a table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SciGuyMrD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for posting your experience on Trip Advisor.

We're glad you enjoyed your room, the service provided by our staff and our outdoor pool.

Please accept my apologies for the delay in delivering extra pillows to your room and for the problems you experience with the electronic key.

Please know the charges we provide for all services is very competitive in the market place.

Once again, thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
158 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Check in was friendly and quick. Room was very clean and the furniture was in good condition. Nice balcony with a view of the nearby Plaza. Parking garage was easy to manuever, although the $15 charge is a little steep in my opinion. This hotel is only about a 15 minute drive to Kauffman stadium which was the purpose of our stay. Overall we had a great stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5-star review and for recommending our hotel to others. We appreciate that!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Staff is terrific, from the front door to every corner of the building. Training must be continual and an important part of company culture. The property is in a great location, and highly recommend the Concierge floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimsigmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. Service is everything!

We'll look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Gotta first say that I was without a doubt amazed by this hidden gem in the midwest USA called Kansas City, MO. The InterContinental sits perched on a hill overlooking the picturesque Plaza area and along a beautiful creek. The hotel property has had various lives but yet it still maintains it's old world charm. Great lobby, welcoming staff with smiles and a quick salutation making you feel right at home from the start. You walk in and the first thing you see is the grand room with an oversized fireplace, worn in comfy leather chairs and couches. Next to that you have a great full bar and access to the outside veranda where you can have breakfast, lunch or dinner and it overlooks the pool and The Plaza. My room was an upgraded room with a larger balcony with had a bistro table and chairs overlooking the creek and The Plaza. Even though it was on the second floor you still had a great view because the hotel itself is elevated. As stated in other reviews this hotel is in walking distance to The Plaza which is filled with special boutique & chain shops, bars, restaurants, movie theater, book stores and many other places worth a visit such as the gondola rides on the creek. Make sure to schedule a ride, you'll love it. At the InterContinental Hotel you also have the option of being on the Concierge level which gives you other amenities on that floor. Make sure you take the glass elevator up to the roof for a great view of The Plaza. One of your Concierge at the hotel is John and he will do all possible to get you into Jack Stack BBQ if you're unable to do it yourself or any other hard to get into places. He grew up there so he knows a lot of people in the righ places. He's also a hip-hop dance instructor so ask and you might get a class or two. The InterContinental Kansas City at The Plaza is a great home away from home so leave your Ruby slippers back home because you won't need them here.

Room Tip: Ask for Concierge Level for additional amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerzboyMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience on Trip Advisor!

Please know your review will shared with John and our entire team. They will enjoy reading it as much as I did.

We look forward to serving you again the next time you travel to our great city!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#15 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,816 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips
Hotel Phillips
#36 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing