We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in KC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza to your Saves list
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Ellsworth, Kansas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best in KC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent a long weekend at the Intercontinental on the Country Club Plaza. This hotel has a long history as one of the premier hotels in KC beginning as the Alameda Plaza, then a Fairmont property, and now IC...might have even been a Ritz at one time. Whatever... the rooms with a view of the Plaza make even a "hometown" girl like me swoon. So beautiful day and night, and ofcourse especially over the holidays. Book a Concierge level room or suite...yes, these are more $$$ but the Concierge lounge is outstanding with an expanded elegant continental breakfast, noon snacks & tea, evening appetizers and cocktails, and later evening desserts, cordials & coffee ! An outstanding value and gives you easy walking distance to all the Plaza attractions, shopping, and restaurant/bar venues. Very friendly, courteous and helpful service from the doorman, to check in, to anyone you meet on their staff.

Room Tip: Again....do the Concierge level for the best value considering all the food, drink and service you r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your 5-star review!

Please know how much we appreciate your loyalty to the hotel over the course of many years!

We all will look forward to serving you again the next time you stay with us!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    224
    98
    58
    43
See reviews for
126
213
39
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winfield, KS
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I are small business owners and we booked a suite at the Intercontinental to do some planning for the upcoming year. We had a very smooth check-in with friendly staff. Carl is who helped us. Our room had a sitting area that made it perfect for us to work in the room. Our view of the Plaza at night, the lights were still on in mid-January, was incredible! I love the location of this property as well. We were able to walk into the Plaza for dinners rather quickly. We had a few drinks in the Oak Room which had some nice entertainment. It was a great weekend!

Room Tip: Get a view of the plaza!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on line!

We appreciate you staying with us for your planning weekend and are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We hope 2013 is a great year for your business!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent 5 days at the InterContinental for a conference and felt that it was a good fit for our large group's needs, minus the confusing floor layout and haphazard scattering of meeting rooms nestled between guest rooms on each floor. This simply added to the frustration of trying to locate conference sessions with limited time to spare. My room was quite comfortable and included a walk-out balcony, but the absolute best attribute to the property is that it is just steps away from the Plaza and all of its eateries and shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're glad you enjoyed your five day stay with us. Thanks for the feedback on your guestroom, balcony and the location of the hotel in the heart of the Country Club Plaza.

We regret that you found the layout of the meeting space to be confusing, There are six conference suites that you are referring to, and each is in the exact same location on each floor.

Again, we're glad you enjoyed your time with us and we would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auxvasse
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I attended a convention at the hotel, but did not actually stay there. The one problem I saw is that our group was just a little too large for the place. They ran out of rooms in our price category and turned a lot of people away like I was, but I did not mind the dawn walks thru the plaza because I was staying at another hotel nearby. The common area for the ballrooms was not large enough.
What I enjoyed most was the people who worked in this place. Even though I was not staying there, they tried their best to treat me well. The doorman took my coat for me. My husband spent the day in the lounge next to the desk and was treated very nicely. They didn't seem to mind if he didn't order food from them, but made sure he was comfortable and taken care of.
Food was very good except for one exception. Polenta should not be the main dish for lunch for group of people even if it is Lent. That just came across as strange. The other meals were wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We regret that you didn't get to stay with us, but are happy you enjoyed the convention.

There are a few things we want to ensure you are aware of. When groups decide to stay with us, they tell us how many rooms they need each night and a room block is established. The hotel makes these rooms available until 3 or 4 weeks before the group arrives. When that time comes, or when all rooms in the block have been reserved, the hotel sells the remaining available rooms to other travelers. In the case of your group last week, they used all rooms in their block and there were not any other rooms for your group as the hotel was sold out.

As for your lunch when Polenta was the entree, please know this menu was specifically requested by your group's meeting planner. Obviously when it comes to groups we service, we suggest items from our banquet menu, but we are always happy to customize the menu to suit the needs of the group when the planner requests that we do so.

Lastly, the banquet space reserved for your group was perfectly suited for the number of guests your meeting planner expected. There were many more attendees than anticipated so the space probably did feel a little snug.

Again, we're glad you enjoyed the convention and hope we have the opportunity to serve you as an overnight guest in the near future.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent three nights at the Intercontinental Kansas City and found their rooms to be very comfortable, their lobbies and lounges upscale, and their amenities fitting for a hotel of this class. However, upon checkout, they insisted we booked a room for four nights, not three, and charged us a $75 cancellation fee. Unfortunately, we didn't have a copy of our confirmation email, only the confirmation number since we booked by phone. Therefore, it was our word against theirs. Nor did they confirm the number of nights with us upon check-in, as most hotels do. We complained bitterly and asked for the supervisor only to be told "she doesn't make exceptions."

They also added $15/day for parking to our bill, which was never told to us in advance. Surprises like this are not appreciated. As a business traveler, I spend 40+ nights at hotels each year, and have NEVER been charged a cancellation fee. Given we spent three nights here, and dined at their restaurants three times, generously tipped the housekeeping staff each day, and were billed $45 for parking (without prior notice), we expected and deserved to have been extended the benefit of the doubt. Instead, they took us for $75 for which we received nothing except ill will.

We will never stay at this hotel again and strongly recommend others to be very wary when booking. Do not trust that your reservation is correct, do not assume you have free parking, and abandon all confidence that they will own any mistake or assume any responsibility for miscommunication.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and the service provided by our team.

I do apologize for the communication issue with our self parking charge and early departure fee.

There is a very large sign at the entrance to the garage to let our guests know there is a self parking fee. We regret that you did not see it. We have never before had a guest tell us they did not see the sign. A very large majority of the hotels on the Plaza charge for parking, as do all the hotels in the Crown Center and Downtown area.

As for the early departure fee, this is explained to our guests at the time of check-in. The registration card signed by all guests clearly has the day of departure on it, along with an explanation of the early departure charge. Early departure fees are an industry standard and have been for about 20 years. Our fee of $75 is much less than many hotels, who charge a full days rate when guests leave early.

Again, we are glad you enjoyed the hotel and services, and regret the communication issue.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Joseph Missouri
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice two night getaway, Room not ready on checkin, comped a drink at the bar, worked nice, called when ready

Room was very nice and clean, accepted pets, overlooked the christmas lights on the plaza.

Very quiet, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was good.

Very pricey by my standards, well beyond what I would spend normally.

Very nice. Has a patio to sit on and enjoy view

Loose Park about 3 blocks away to walk a dog, Plaza deserted in the early morning, great walking, much to see

Room Tip: The deluxe room overlooks the Plaza with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us during the holidays. Thanks for posting your experience on Trip Advisor.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

You can see from my other reviews that I am not hard to please. We stayed the last weekend of 2012. This was a slow weekend so that we could enjoy the Plaza lights and shopping without the crowds. We requested an early check-in at 2 PM. Being Priority Club Platinum Elite members this is usually accommodated with ease, as are most special requests. We were quite surprised however to arrive after 3 PM (regular check-in time) and be told that there was no room available for us and that we could leave our luggage with the bell-hop and wait in the lounge. We had plans for the day and they did not include this wait. We checked with the front desk after 45 minutes and a room was still not available. We had also requested a high floor and were told that we could be put in the 4th floor. That wasn't exactly what we had in mind, but we just agreed to try to hurry things along. After checking back with the front desk again, we gave up and went shopping in the clothes that we traveled in. Our guests tried to have a good attitude and make the best of it, but it was really inconvenient for all of us as we had brought specific shoes for walking outdoors from shop to shop and they were in our luggage. None of us wanted to have to open up suitcases in the middle of the lobby and dig for proper walking shoes.

Upon return we were told that our suitcases were waiting for us in our room on the 3rd floor. I asked why and was told that the room on the 4th floor had not finished in time. We have stayed there before and the view of the Plaza is not as good on the lower floors and as the point of staying there was to be able to see the Plaza lit up for the Holidays it was disappointing. They were able to find us a room on the 4th floor and move our luggage again. We were given breakfast vouchers for the next morning, but the front desk staff was barely apologetic and only offered the vouchers after expressing for the 3rd time our extreme disappointment.

Once we got to the room that evening however it was lovely. It would have greatly increased our enjoyment to have been able to relax in the room when we arrived. The rooms are very large and the view was excellent. The balcony is large with a table and 2 chairs and plenty of room to enjoy the view of the Plaza. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet Sunday brunch. The service was slow to be able to get drinks or anything requested, but being able to help yourself made the meal pace more enjoyable. Our head server, Timmy had a great attitude and ended up making our breakfast really special. He brought our daughter a special dessert for her birthday and treated us like family.

Overall I would say that the location is exceptional, but if you are coming to be wowed the service level just simply isn't there for that. Frankly, when you pay this much the expectation is greater and I was disappointed and embarrassed for my guests that had to wait so long to be let into our room. I had hoped to impress them, but instead we were all put out and frustrated. I rated the overall hotel as average, as the front desk service level was so poor, but the view and location were good.

Room Tip: Higher floors with balconies present a better view of the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, please accept my apologies for the delay in responding to you. I check the Trip Advisor site every morning. When I looked on February 5, we did not have any new postings. When I checked this morning (February 6), I saw your posting and noticed it was dated January 27.

Most importantly, please accept my apologies for the very poor level of service we provided during your stay. We pride ourselves on delivering a very high level of friendly and professional service. I sincerely regret that we did not do so with you.

It would be appreciated if you would contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com so we may get more details from you and make amends.

Thank you,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#13 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.