We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway and Plaza Lights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza to your Saves list
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
St Joseph Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Getaway and Plaza Lights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice two night getaway, Room not ready on checkin, comped a drink at the bar, worked nice, called when ready

Room was very nice and clean, accepted pets, overlooked the christmas lights on the plaza.

Very quiet, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was good.

Very pricey by my standards, well beyond what I would spend normally.

Very nice. Has a patio to sit on and enjoy view

Loose Park about 3 blocks away to walk a dog, Plaza deserted in the early morning, great walking, much to see

Room Tip: The deluxe room overlooks the Plaza with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us during the holidays. Thanks for posting your experience on Trip Advisor.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    202
    88
    55
    41
See reviews for
102
182
37
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

You can see from my other reviews that I am not hard to please. We stayed the last weekend of 2012. This was a slow weekend so that we could enjoy the Plaza lights and shopping without the crowds. We requested an early check-in at 2 PM. Being Priority Club Platinum Elite members this is usually accommodated with ease, as are most special requests. We were quite surprised however to arrive after 3 PM (regular check-in time) and be told that there was no room available for us and that we could leave our luggage with the bell-hop and wait in the lounge. We had plans for the day and they did not include this wait. We checked with the front desk after 45 minutes and a room was still not available. We had also requested a high floor and were told that we could be put in the 4th floor. That wasn't exactly what we had in mind, but we just agreed to try to hurry things along. After checking back with the front desk again, we gave up and went shopping in the clothes that we traveled in. Our guests tried to have a good attitude and make the best of it, but it was really inconvenient for all of us as we had brought specific shoes for walking outdoors from shop to shop and they were in our luggage. None of us wanted to have to open up suitcases in the middle of the lobby and dig for proper walking shoes.

Upon return we were told that our suitcases were waiting for us in our room on the 3rd floor. I asked why and was told that the room on the 4th floor had not finished in time. We have stayed there before and the view of the Plaza is not as good on the lower floors and as the point of staying there was to be able to see the Plaza lit up for the Holidays it was disappointing. They were able to find us a room on the 4th floor and move our luggage again. We were given breakfast vouchers for the next morning, but the front desk staff was barely apologetic and only offered the vouchers after expressing for the 3rd time our extreme disappointment.

Once we got to the room that evening however it was lovely. It would have greatly increased our enjoyment to have been able to relax in the room when we arrived. The rooms are very large and the view was excellent. The balcony is large with a table and 2 chairs and plenty of room to enjoy the view of the Plaza. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet Sunday brunch. The service was slow to be able to get drinks or anything requested, but being able to help yourself made the meal pace more enjoyable. Our head server, Timmy had a great attitude and ended up making our breakfast really special. He brought our daughter a special dessert for her birthday and treated us like family.

Overall I would say that the location is exceptional, but if you are coming to be wowed the service level just simply isn't there for that. Frankly, when you pay this much the expectation is greater and I was disappointed and embarrassed for my guests that had to wait so long to be let into our room. I had hoped to impress them, but instead we were all put out and frustrated. I rated the overall hotel as average, as the front desk service level was so poor, but the view and location were good.

Room Tip: Higher floors with balconies present a better view of the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, please accept my apologies for the delay in responding to you. I check the Trip Advisor site every morning. When I looked on February 5, we did not have any new postings. When I checked this morning (February 6), I saw your posting and noticed it was dated January 27.

Most importantly, please accept my apologies for the very poor level of service we provided during your stay. We pride ourselves on delivering a very high level of friendly and professional service. I sincerely regret that we did not do so with you.

It would be appreciated if you would contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com so we may get more details from you and make amends.

Thank you,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
493 reviews 493 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel staff are absolutley first class, the food is nice, and the lobby and bar of high quality. The rooms definitely need an update in the worst way. Location is perfect near the Plaza. Food was good and the service from the staff was good as well

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind comments about the hotel in general and our staff. Your feedback will be shared with the team.

It was disappointing to learn you felt your guestroom was outdated. All guestrooms were renovated in 2009 and all guestroom corridors were completely renovated in 2012.

We hope you visit Kansas City during your next trip to the United States as we would enjoy the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Wife and I stayed at the Intercontinental for four nights beginning December 23, 2012. Our visit was to be with our musician daughter over the Christmas holiday. We could not have made a better hotel choice. The rate was very reasonable for a very large room with a beautiful overlook of the Plaza and its Christmas lights. We received the very best service anyone could expect for any hotel. Perhaps because it was Christmas time, parking in the handicapped area, and maybe other areas, was without charge. Perhaps because we are frequent guests at Holiday Inns, we were also granted entry to the executive lounge for continental breakfasts, and were also able to visit there for cocktails one evening.

The hotel building has existed under several hotel names since before Ronald Reagan just missed obtaining the nomination for President at the Republican convention in 1976. But it appears to be in top shape now as an Intercontinental.

We visited the bar only once, to have drinks and bar food. That room is still beautiful with its extensive wood paneling and high ceiling. It reminds me of Cliff House in San Francisco. The dining room has been changed to be a more intimate space since we last stayed at this hotel when it was under a different name and management. We only had salads or appetisers, but the service was friendly and excellent.

Kansas City is one of the most attractive cities in the nation. Will we stay at the Intercontinental again? You bet we will.

Room Tip: View the Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your 5-star review!

We're very pleased you enjoyed your time here with your daughter and enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Please know we appreciate your comments about the extensive renovation work that has taken place in the last four years.

We're glad to learn you will be back, and we'll look forward to serving you again when that time comes!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We came back to the InterContinental after many years and were pleasantly surprised. They did renovate it as I saw on Trip Advisor and our room on the concierge floor was very nice and roomy if you could overlook the tiny bathroom. What we enjoyed the most during our stay was the attitude of EVERY staff member. They were so very gracious and friendly and could not seem to do enough for you.
I know we will again continue to stay there on our trips to Kansas City.

Room Tip: Book a room on the concierge floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5-star review!

We are also glad you came back and we look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Kansas City! Please know how much we appreciate your business!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Am currently in my room right now at the InterContinental trying to get to sleep. Went to bed around 11:30 and am still trying to get to sleep and it is nearly 2AM. The seal on the glass balcony door is AWFUL and there is air blowing through the cracks creating a terrible buzzing noise comparable to that of a giant horsefly right next to your ear. Not to mention there are weird banging noises every once in a while making it impossible to sleep. Other than that, rooms are very nice, but very very small-especially for the price. This is the only time we have decided to switch things up from our usual Plaza hotel--as we thought it would be NICER-- and we will definitely not stay here again. What a disaster. Just NOT worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for the noise you could here through your balcony door.

If you would, please e-mail me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com so we may learn your room number. This will allow us to install new seals on the balcony door.

Thank you,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It gets a 4 because of the overall experience, great room rate, great location, comfortable bed, staff may need a little more training. Ask for a view room. Not perfectly clean, room was small. Be careful with weekends, this is a wedding hotel!

Room Tip: Book ahead, ask for plaza view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're pleased you enjoyed your overall experience and that you will stay here again.

Regarding your comments about staff training, should you care to share any specific feedback with me, please feel comfortable in sending me an e-mail at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Thanks,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#23 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.