We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall OK, Will stay again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Riverton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Overall OK, Will stay again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It gets a 4 because of the overall experience, great room rate, great location, comfortable bed, staff may need a little more training. Ask for a view room. Not perfectly clean, room was small. Be careful with weekends, this is a wedding hotel!

Room Tip: Book ahead, ask for plaza view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're pleased you enjoyed your overall experience and that you will stay here again.

Regarding your comments about staff training, should you care to share any specific feedback with me, please feel comfortable in sending me an e-mail at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Thanks,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    185
    82
    52
    40
See reviews for
91
166
36
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend for a football game. It is in a great location but the hotel was very disappointing. The rooms are run down and old, not very comfortable.
We atyed on their club level which was supposed to be nicer. The concierge in the club lounge could not think of a restaurant recommendation.
Overall not worth it, there are better places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was disappointing to learn you did not enjoy our renovated guestrooms. We are very proud of the fact we have received the coveted AAA 4-diamond award for 21 consecutive years, recognition which is heavily based on the quality of our guestrooms.

Please accept my apologies for our Concierge's failure to recommend a restaurant to you. They are all very well versed in this area and have always been very quick to suggest their favorites. We have never seen this type of comment before, and will be sure to share your comments with our Concierge team.

Thanks for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at the Intercontinental in KC near the Plaza. The view of the Christmas lights from the top floor was excellent. Recommend that you request a room facing the plaza, ours did not and this would have been much nicer. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall the hotel was nice, a bit dated and agree with other reviewers, room size and bathroom size was small and cramped. The bed was very comfortable and the room was cozy and clean. The best part of this hotel was the close proximity to the plaza, can't beat the location. I was not impressed overall, expected much more; however, I had a nice stay and the employees were friendly and helpful. Had a great time just before Christmas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

We're glad you enjoyed the hotel's location, and that you found our staff to be very helpful and friendly!

We're disappointed you felt the restroom was small, but hope it had all the amenities you expected.

We'll look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happy New Year!

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Had a king room with a balcony and plaza view. Room was large and very nice, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large and clean. Loved having the plaza view with the Christmas lights and being so close to be able to walk across the street and be on the plaza.
Room and the hotel had everything we needed. Had the brunch on Sunday and it was very good. The room with the exericise equipment was very nice with ample machines. All staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and thank you for posting your 5-star review!

We're very happy you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and we all look forward to serving you during your next trip to Kansas City!

Happy Holidays!

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Property looks and feels stale. Employees make you feel at home, so that is a nice plus, but overall not what I generally want from this chain...However, yoou can'r beat the location if you need/want the Plaza!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We're happy to learn you enjoyed the hotel's superior location on the Plaza, and that our staff made you feel at home.

Since 2009, every area in the hotel has been renovated, so it was disappointing to see your comments about the hotel being "stale". If you would like to share any more feedback along these lines, please feel to send me an e-mail at dbreckenridge@kansascity.com.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a room on the 11th floor (concierge level) and since we normally stay at HI Express or LaQuinta, of course the size of the room blew us away! One whole wall was floor-to-ceiling windows with a great view of the Plaza. It surprised me that this bathroom in this huge room (with 2 closets) was so tiny! Mouldings were chipped/a little moldy and had been painted over many times. Decor was a little dated, and lighting could have been brighter.

We went to the "happy hour" in the concierge lounge, great view, light snacks and make your own drinks. Good to meet friends before dinner. We were in a party in the rooftop lounge, and the food was top notch! Would have been a nice touch to have a couple waitresses taking drink orders in the room, but it was ok.

The price for this room was about what an all-inclusive resort costs, and nothing was included (except the happy hour and a small cold item only continental breakfast). So, based on value, I would not choose to stay here. Based on proximity to the plaza and the view, it is nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We're pleased you enjoyed your large guestroom and expansive view of the Plaza.

Our bathroom size is very similar to all other hotels I have worked at and visited, but I'm sorry it was smaller than you expected.

We're also disappointed you didn't find value in our 11th floor Concierge's Lounge. We consistently hear from guests that they really enjoy the complimentary cocktails & Hors D'oeuvres in the evening, and the complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. The breakfast features fresh baked goods, fresh fruits, fresh juices, lox and bagels, granola, yogurts and a wide variety of other beverages.

Please know we appreciate your feedback and value your business. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I live in Kansas City and stayed at the Intercontinental for a wedding, where the reception was in the rooftop ballroom. I needed to get ready for the wedding, checked in at 4:30 (supposed to be checked in any time after 3 pm) and they didn't have a room ready! Told me they'd call me when one was available. I got a call at 5:45 saying my keys were at the front desk...a little late for the 6pm wedding I was attending. My boyfriend had his credit card on file for the room, yet they needed mine to actually swipe to check in. In hesitation, I gave them mine (afraid we would get charged twice). After checking out the next morning, we went to the front desk to assure only one card would be charged. His card was on file to be charged, and they charged his $196. I then checked my account to double check, and I have a charge from them for $296! Also, after driving back from the wedding to the hotel, there was no parking in the parking garage...I parked my own car, and carried my own bags from the driveway into the hotel...where the valet proceeded to tell me that where I parked was for valet only - even though all FOUR levels of the garage were full, and proceeded to charge me $7 for valet when they didn't even park my car or carry my luggage. Terrible experience for the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to apologize for your unpleasant experience. Obviously, we failed to provide you with the level of service you have a right to expect.

I would appreciate it if you would contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com so I may get more details from you and make amends.

Thank you,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#15 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.