We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza to your Saves list
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well appointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Intercontinental Kansa City at the Plaza is literally a block and a half from the Plaza, and at night, has a spectacular view of the Plaza. The staff are helpful and friendly. Like it has been noted in other reviews, I was surprised about the internet and the difficulty I had with the internet in this facility. I had to call for help 3 times in 48 hours. I will not discuss the cost as several other high end hotels have also charged. I think this is one of the perks that should be offered. The buffets I had while dining here were very good and this is surprising for a hotel buffet. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City during your recent trip! We appreciate and value your business.

We're glad you found our staff to be helpful and friendy, and that you enjoyed the hotel's location and the buffet meals in the Oak Room.

Please do accept my apologies for the access issues you experienced with our internet service. To require assistance three times in a 48 hour period is unacceptable. We will have our IT Manager look into this issue.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to being of further service to you the next time you are in Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    202
    88
    55
    41
See reviews for
102
183
37
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

KC Intercontinental is a perfectly adequate hotel that long ago replaced the Ritz as the manager of this location. The Plaza is a great place to be as KC goes - so this is a good tourist hotel location and an OK business locale. But as other reviewers have mentioned - the Intercontinental's occupation (aka invasion) of a previous Ritz property leaves the hotel guest wanting. Things feel faded. Bathrooms are of the 1980's Ritz-Carlton ilk. Nice but outdated. 1st floor services were nice - restaurant, front desk, doormen. But as I checked out, I found myself interrupting a phone conversation the front desk personnel was having with a friend on the phone. Its little stuff that makes an ok hotel become a great hotel. I think the staff desires to please the customer - they are very nice. I just think this hotel is in need of some capital investment - and I don't know if the business model is sustainable in Kansas City or not. Time will tell. Final comment - every hotel that does not make its WIFI free should be ashamed. Its like charging us to flush a toilet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor.

In the last five years, the hotel has invested millions of dollars in upgrades and renovations, including guestrooms, guestroom corridors, the lobby, the Oak Bar, the Oak Room, the Concierge's lounge, and meeting space. This is one of the many reasons the hotel has received AAA's 4-diamond award for 21 consecutive years, and has been selected by the readers of Ingram's Business Magazine as the "Best Hotel in Kansas City" for the last eight years.

We're glad you found our staff to be very nice and that you sensed their desire to serve. Your feedback will be shared with the entire team.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stadsbygd
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for four nights during the IBPA - conference in the beginnig of November 2012. The hotel is i classic and gives a sense of heavy class. But it is worn... It is in need of an upgrade The location is great on the Plaza. But in a hotel like this - you dont expect to pay $12 pr 24 hours to use internet on two devices. If you use it in three devices it turned out you have to pay another $12. That should not be necessary in the year of 2012.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor.

We're happy that after your 4 day stay at the hotel, you left with the thought that the hotel had a heavy sense of class.

I would be interested to hear your specific thoughts on which areas of the hotel are in need of renovation. All guestrooms, the Oak Bar, the Oak Room and the 11th floor Concierge's lounge were completely renovated in 2009. Since that time, each guestroom corridor has also be renovated, as has the hotel lobby and many exterior areas of the hotel. If you would like to share more thoughts with me, please feel comfortable in contacting me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

As with any product or service the hotel provides, the rates are established by market place conditions. A large majority of the full service hotels on the Plaza continue to charge for internet access, so we presently do also.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fancy Gap, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Intercontinental for a conference. The hotel was nicely located near the Country Club Plaza which is home to great restaurants and shopping. The room was very nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The view from our room was a nice view of the shopping and restaurant area. It rained one day so we ate at the hotel restaurant for lunch and the lunch buffet was excellent.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5-star review!

We're obviously very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, including your guestroom, the unobstructed view of the Plaza and lunch in the Oak Room!

We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We always look forward to our stays at this hotel. The service and location are top notch. The concierge lounge is well worth the upgrade, especially for desserts and after dinner drinks. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your 5-star review on Trip Advisor!

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found value in upgrading your reservation to include use of the 11th floor Concierge's Lounge. It really is a great opportunity to enjoy complimentary food and beverage offerings while taking in the beautiful view of the Plaza. The personalized service provided by the Concierges is a great way to feel pampered.

Thanks for your loyalty to the hotel and we'll look forward to serving you the next time you are in town!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Here for a 3 night business stay. The service is impeccable and the location can't be beaten. Rooms are large and very nicely appointed, but the bathrooms could used a bit of updating. Gloppy latex caulking around the tub and marble surfaces is not what you would expect to find in a hotel of this quality. Overall, a fine hotel with a terrific staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor!

We appreciate your kind comments about our staff, the service they provide and the location of the hotel.

My apologies for the concerns you had with the caulk in your bathroom. If you would like to let me know which room you stayed in, we will be sure to re-caulk the bathroom. You may contact me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Falls, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hotel is located right across from the Plaza. Tons of shops and dining options.

The bar in the hotel has a decent selection of food for a reasonable price and the wait staff is very friendly.

The lobby offers free coffee and tea in the morning and lemonade in the afternoon/evening. Nice touch!

We booked a standard Kind and were upgraded. The room had 2 balconies, 2 bathrooms, a sitting area and was clean and comfortable. The room faced the main road but i thought the noise level was low and not bothersome.

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay near the Plaza or traveling on business!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience on Trip Advisor!

We appreciate your kind words and will look forward to serving you again.

Very happy to learn you received a free upgrade.

We're also pleased you enjoyed the complimentary drinks in the lobby. The lemonade has been a big hit during the summer and fall, but my guess is that Hot Chocolate will soon be the featured item!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#23 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.