We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of highs, couple lows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza to your Saves list
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lots of highs, couple lows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed Labor Day weekend just to relax. First and best highlight is Melanie in the executive level lounge on the 11th floor. She was warm and gracious and a true asset to the hotel. Bad news if you want to enjoy the pool on weekends. The hotel sells pool memberships to locals. So your 4 star hotel on the plaza in KC turns into Jersey Shore. Great thinking Intercontinental. We had the pool to ourselves during the week, however. Hotel location is the best and staff are friendly and well trained.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for spending your holiday weekend with us and for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your observation that our staff is well trained as obviously, there is a large focus on this. Your kind comments about Melanie will be shared with her. She really is a true hospitality professional!

My apologies for the pool being crowded on Labor Day. It is a very popular day to spend poolside and the hotel was full over the weekend. I'm happy to hear you were able to enjoy the pool more during the week.

We look forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    202
    88
    55
    41
See reviews for
102
182
37
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

In August 2012, I attended a business conference that was held at the Hotel Intercontinental. This was a great location. The Staff from Valet's to the Front Desk on to Management were very helpful and Curtious. Even the behind the scenes staff would greet you as you walked by.

Mirianda Ye was most helpful in getting arrangements made for the differant conference functions during the week our association was there.

The rooms were very nice and comfortable. I did expierence one issue with Housekeeping not cleaning the room on one day. I had been out of the room all day and did not return until late evening. I called down and fresh towels were delivered right away. The next day the Housekeeping Supervisor came to the room in person and apologized for the mix up.

The food is very good, but a little on the pricy side. Almost $20 for breakfast. But they do have a great lunch deal for under $10.

This is an excellant location with many things to do within a short walk of the Hotel. I would most definately stay here again for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors (4th fl. and up have the better views of the area around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5-star review!

We appreciate all your kind comments. Please know they will be shared with Miranda and the entire team.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Labor Day weekend on the Plaza in Kansas City celebrating our anniversary. I booked the Intercontinental for it's location to all the action, relative price point, and foreseeable amenities. I was completely pleased with all three. I had been advised by a client to ask for a renovated room which I did after making my reservation. Upon check-in I asked for any available upgrades. The woman at the front desk said there was one Plaza view suite left on the 10th floor which she gave to us for the same rate. From then on it was all smiles for us. The room was clean, appealing, and comfortable. Since I have no frame of reference for the "un-renovated rooms" I would suggest asking upon making your reservation the same way I did. The valets were all very friendly and quick about bringing our car around. On Saturday night in the lobby bar there were two guys (one on guitar and one on bass) playing popular songs from the last 3+ decades - they were awesome! The hotel is right on top of the action on the Plaza and we were able to walk everywhere including dinner both nights. We chose to experience the restaurants around the hotel, but the Oak Room looked popular. I'm glad that the next time we go to KC we can book the Intercontinental and not think twice. Cheers!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Happy Anniversary!

We're so happy you spent your special weekend with us! Thanks for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City and thank you for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor.

Please know we appreciate all your kind comments, and we wll be sure to share them with our team.

Please also know that we do NOT have any "un-renovated rooms". Every guestroom was renovated in 2009. The only exception is our Presidential Suite, which underwent a $250,000 renovation in November 2011.

Again, thanks for staying with us and happy anniversary! We're anxious to be of further service to you during your next trip to Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed in KC one night for business. It was another abnormally (100+degrees) Check-in was a breeze, the rooms were really nice. I did get a chance to eat dinner in the Oak room which I would recommend and overlooked the pool. The lobby was very nice and was setting up some live entertainment for the night. This is in a great location within walking distance to great shopping and additional dinning. Would come back.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 636. It overlooks the entryway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us, and for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor!

We're happy to learn you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you will stay here again on your next trip to our great city. We will all look forward to the opportunity of serving you again!

Happy Labor Day!

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is located a block from the Plaza shopping area, which has all the upscale national chains, and lots of restaurants. The hotel itself is okay, seems like it could use a facelift. I was attending a conference, so was only there at the beginning and end of the day.

It was very easy to get a taxi, as they wait in the garage to be called by the doorman.

Had a couple of minor issues: the safe wouldn't open, and the toilet didn't flush easily, but no big deal.

Used the gym once, which was fine. I would have gone swimming, but the pool was more for sitting by and drinking than swimming laps.

Concierge (11th) floor is worthwhile.

I'd stay here again if I was in KC.

Room Tip: Ask for the Concierge (11th) floor. You get free breakfast, cocktails and snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the InterContinental Kansas City, and for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor.

Your comments about our staff being very nice will be shared with the entire team. My apologies for the difficulty you had with your safe and with the toilet. I hope you made us aware of it during your stay so we could immediately correct the issue.

I don't know what floor you stayed on, but I'm guessing it was a lower floor given your comment about the hotel needing a uplift. Our guestroom corridors did not show as well as the rest of the hotel, and the renovation of all corridors was just completed last week. The lower floors were done last. The new look is very appealing.

Thanks for plugging our 11th floor Concierge's Lounge. There really is great value in purchasing this upgrade considering the food and beverage items served complimentary in the Lounge. Additonally, the view of the Plaza from the Lounge is about as good as it gets.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here in August, but I can just imagine what it looks like in November when the lights come on. The room was great; we stayed for two nights and could not have been more comfortable. Kansas City is not the most walking friendly place in the world, but the Country Club Plaza is very pedestrian friendly, and this hotel is right next to it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5-star review!

We're very happy you felt so comfortable while our guest. In the hospitality business, that's always our goal, and we feel very passionate about it.

We would encourage you to stay with us when the Plaza lights are on. The lights transform a beautiful outdoor shopping and entertainment area into a magical place. The view from the hotel is really spectacular. The lights will be on this season from November 22, 2012 through January 13, 2012.

Once again, thanks for your kind words and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I spent the week of August 19-24, 2012 at the Intercontinental Hotel in Kansas City, Missouri and it was fabulous! The service was top notch - from the welcoming doormen, to the friendly front desk, to the detailed maid service/turndown service, to the attentive fitness center attendant, to the elegant, inviting hallways and common areas. I did not eat at the restaurant, so I cannot comment on that serivce or quality, but I will detail below the pros and cons of my stay.

The Pros: The Location is one of, if not THE best KCMO has to offer. As a single woman, I felt 100% comfortable walking around the hotel and The Plaza area at night by myself (and I did do this!) The bed was comfortable and the room was spotless every single day of my stay. The fitness center had everthing you would need in a fitness center, however, if I had to complain a little, it would be that the fitness center is small in comparison to the size of the hotel. But it was clean and had adequate ventilation - something we all know can make or break a fitness center at a hotel. The parking is directly connected to the hotel, so my car was never far away had I needed it in a pinch. I had free parking due to the conference I was attending, however, I would guess that the parking is between $10-$20 a day - which is par for the area. The pool is very relaxing and inviting. The fountains in the pool are a nice touch which give you the feeling you are at a day spa - it was nice and there were not a lot of kids splashing around while I was there- another perk of staying at a pricier hotel.

The Cons: The location of being in Kansas City's Plaza is wonderful - if you plan to eat at nearby restauarants regularly, however, being in this location, there isn't a close by drug store or gas station if you were just in the mood for a drink and a candy bar. This sounds a little rediculous, however, the soda/bottled water in the rooms of this hotel are $3.50 and up. So, sometimes I was in desperate need of a diet coke and I was forced to purchase one from the little store in the lobby- which was very expensive. It would have been nice to just run somewhere close by and grab one cheaper. So- word to the wise of those staying here for a few days or longer, stop somewhere and stock up on bottled water/soda before you arrive at the hotel.

All in all, I would definetely stay here again if I was in the area. It's not just a star or two above your normal Hilton or Marriott, it's 3 or 4 stars above them! (OH! And for a fun time and great food and beer, be sure to hit up O'Dowds Little Dublin Irish Pub in the Plaza. It's within walking distance and is AWESOME!)

Room Tip: **when checking in (and this goes for any large, conference accomodating hotel) be sure to ask if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostKansasCity, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for posting your experience on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your comments that you found our service to be top notch and our staff very friendly.

Obviously we are biased, but we agree with you that our location is the best in Kansas City. The Country Club Plaza offers so much variety relative to dining, shopping and night life. With the hotel being just a few shorts steps from the Plaza, our location really is perfect.

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and thank you for your business.

We'll look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Kansas City!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#15 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#23 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.