We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat was tender.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue - Country Club Plaza

Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue - Country Club Plaza
4747 Wyandotte, Country Club Plaza, Kansas City, MO 64112
816-531-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,213 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Meat was tender.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A caveat: we are new to Kansas City barbecue.
The meat was incredibly tender.
The flavor? The meat was incredibly tender.
Maybe that’s a hallmark of Kansas City barbecue.
The ketchupy sauce provided was boring, and why would you want meat that didn’t have any flavor at all? Zippo. None.
Sure was tender.
We ordered what was suggested: the Jack’s Best sampler: the crown prime rib, baby back ribs, and beef burnt ends. For sides we had beans and cheesy corn. For a starter, the gumbo.
The gumbo was the clear winner, by a mile. It was a fair gumbo. Not like something we’d expect out of a Cajun restaurant, but decent for barbecue place.
The beans . . . if you don’t like the sauce, you’re not going to like the beans.
The corn was bland.
We’re still confused how they managed to get all the flavor out of the meat.
But it sure was busy (we waited an hour for a table) and everyone seems to love it, so maybe that’s what Kansas City style is.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    170
    63
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, high prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Overall, it was okay. Nothing spectacular and the prices are high. I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great BBQ with very reasonable prices! I had the Jacks Best, which included crown prime rib, baby back ribs and beef burnt ends - everything was delicious. Add to that a nice atmosphere, great service and an excellent beer selection for a very nice birthday dinner celebration. And if you are celebrating a birthday, make sure you tell your server - you'll be treated to a free chocolate dessert that is amazing!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best ribs I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I went to Jack Stack on a Friday night for dinner. The place was packed with families and shoppers, and the front desk told us it would be about an hour long wait. Because they don't take reservations, we had planned for this and didn't mind. We just shopped around the restaurant until we got the text that our table was ready.

Once seated, service was unbelievably fast. We both ordered the combo with pork spare ribs and burnt ends. The pork burnt ends were fantastic, but the brisket burnt ends were a little chewy. The ribs were phenomenal and literally falling off the bone. As far as the sides, I would highly recommend the cheesy corn bake and the cheesy potato bake. Both were excellent. We would definitely come back here (and get ribs with a side of ribs).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis, mo
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good BBQ but not the best KC has to offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Ate here to test out some Q. Atmosphere was classy and cozy and staff was extremely pleasant. We tried the onion ring appetizer for starters…which were ok. For dinner, I had burnt ends (tasty) and the hubs had a combo plate. (He was pleased) The BBQ sauce was a nice touch. Our overall opinion of this restaurant was positive. It is definitely worth a shot at trying.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue - Country Club Plaza also viewed

 

Been to Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue - Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiorella's Jack Stack Barbecue - Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.