We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel terrible wait for the elevator” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kansas City Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #36 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Okay hotel terrible wait for the elevator”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel was clean and the staff were all friendly. My only real issue with the hotel was the 20 minute wait for the elevator. I would have walked up and down however being on the 10th floor and in heels did not make this a good option. I would suggest next time the hotel is full to post better signs for the stairs so those only going up one or two floors could use them

Room Tip: Very pricey to not have breakfast included
See more room tips
Green Features: Having flavored ice water was a nice touch in the lobby.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for posting your review of our Hotel. I am glad to hear that our staff was friendly during your stay. I do apologize for the long wait for the elevator. We are currently renovating our entire elevator system to provide better and faster service. I hope that you will stay with us again in the future should you return to Kansas City to experience the improvements yourself. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    204
    122
    58
    32
See reviews for
53
86
29
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed here in April for a Sweet Adaline convention the place was sold out but what service they gave to us 3 different conventions going on same week end they were great. Food was exelent in the breakfast buffett to. Rooms clean , modern and comfortable. On the down side parking is not included in the already high priced rooms nor is the internet also if you use there parking service rate is duble to park your car so if you stay there park your own car

Green Features: Extra friendly service also breakfast buffet was great just keep in mind parking does not come with room or internet extra charges for those services
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
It is always a pleasure to give our guests excellent service and give everyone authentic mid-west hospitality. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities and our Metro KC restaurant. Our parking is contracted and we offer Valet and Self parking options. Thank you for staying at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. We look forward to having your group back in Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great location. Clean & finely tuned hotel. Staff exceptional as usual. Within walking distance to great restaurants, nitelife, conv center. Nice pool & great gym. As others siggest go for a high fllor for the view.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the very nice review of the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service and your hotel accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again if your travels bring you back to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I recently stayed here for a business conference. It was my first time to the area, and the experience was an overall positive one. I agree with another reviewer that the main hotel's elevators were terribly slow. My room was clean and comfortable. I had room service the first evening, nothing fancy, but the service was quick and the food excellent. I would easily see myself returning here. The conference facilities were very good, also. You have to step outside at night and experience the great light show that takes place on this building (and others in the area)!

Green Features: They respected my wishes to conserve my towels by not changing them daily. Some places change them anyway even if you follow their policies. Good job!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that your overall experience at the hotel was a positive one. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the delay in the elevators. We are currently upgrading them to be more quick and efficient. In your comments you mentioned that you were here for a business conference and I am glad that you found our facilities to be very good and that your conference was at our hotel. Thank you for being green in your guest room as we are taking every opportunity to be green. Thank you again for staying with us and giving us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Older room in other hotel tower.Very poor directions. Hot room, they worked on ac but it still wasn't very good. Bar prices not given, glass of Very Bad Hot red wine $16! Choose it because of pool on top floor But it was so Stuffy you couldn't breathe let alone stay & swim.Most likely won't return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel. I apologize that you did not have an enjoyable stay and that your room was not to your liking. We are in the process of renovating several areas of the hotel and will be working on the guest rooms soon. We appreciate your feedback as we rely on it to know where we can improve. I will pass on your comments to the appropriate management. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great hotel with clean rooms, but the concierge lounge here is huge!

The evening and breakfast spread in the lounge definitely goes the extra mile compared to other properties.

The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. I will definitely go back here on my return to Kansas City.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your nice review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the concierge lounge it is one of the most popular features of our property and we are very proud of it. We look forward to serving you again when you return to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for a week at the downtown Marriot in June. Our room was in the older section which is the old Muelbach which is connected by a bridge walkway to the newer section. Room was clean and service was excellent. The elevators in the new section were terribly slow and very noisy. The charge for parking was too much per day and a higher charge for valet on top of that. Security on the Mulebach side was invisible. I saw a security person twice during the week and never at night. The location is great and getting around downtown was very easy. Not a bad stay but not great either.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor facing a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth M, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit. I am delighted that you liked your room accommodations and the service was excellent. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the delay in the elevators. We are currently upgrading them to be more quick and efficient and this will be completed soon. The parking at the hotel is contracted out and this is an additional charge. Our Security staff is present in both towers 24/7 and might have been on a call. The Safety and Security of our guests is of the utmost importance to us. I will share your comments with our staff. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kansas City Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.