We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Kansas City Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Power and Light Package
Ranked #46 of 111 hotels in Kansas City
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average, comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here for a night in May 2013 for business. The rooms were average - clean and comfortable. I'm not sure I'd choose the hotel for a leisure trip, but it was good for an overight work stay. I was put in the building across the street, which was not an issue for me. The location was close to both my office as well as the Power & Light District for dinner, which was nice.

Room Tip: Should request to be in the main building if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    142
    91
    46
    29
See reviews for
34
62
26
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had not been back to KC in over 20 years but attended a wedding over the weekend and found this hotel to be a total gem. A very service oriented place with everyone from the bell staff, restaurant and bar servers to front desk staff totally on top of their game. I stay at many other Marriotts across the country on a regular basis but have not found one to be any more impressive than this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed our Midwest hospitality during your stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown! We value your business and we strive to meet your expectations. We thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I recently completed a tour of the midwest and attended six major league baseball games in six cities, and overall this was a great location and hotel. The room was clean and bright and staff at the front desk was excellent. My toast from room service was a little soggy though.

Overall, it was ok and I may be back next time I go to a Royals game.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found the Kansas City Marriott Downtown to your liking. We look forward to serving your travel needs when you return to the Kansas City area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My daughter's wedding was in Kansas City last September and we stayed at the Marriott Downtown. Not only were we treated poorly, someone went "shopping in my rented room and helped themselves to my jewelry, my purse and a Kindle Fire HD" . We were told by the security not to call the Kansas City Police Department because the Marriott does their own security--so I did called the KC Police Dept and filed a police report. I was told the Security at the Marriott believed I was lying and wanted to get money from the Marriott. I told them I wanted my stuff back and they again stated I was lying about my missing items. The hotel does not have safes in the rooms and I was told I should have put my valuables in their safe at the front desk. Are they kidding--Why can't I rent a room without a person or persons go thru my stuff and help themselves to my personal property?

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay this past September. We have instituted many property upgrades for our guests including the addition of safes located in each guestroom. Our guest’s comfort, safety and security continue to be a top priority. We thank you for alerting us to this issue during your stay and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Best consierge Lounge I have found. Fun lobby restaurant with good food . Good views from high floors. Rooms are recently renovated and spacious. Ask for room in tower by the lobby it is a hike to the other tower.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. So glad you were able to experience our authentic Marriott hospitality, plus enjoying our restaurant! We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott during Memorial Day weekend. Loved being near the Power & Light District on Sat night! My husband and I stay there everytime we're in town. The lobby has been redone since we were last there and it's a nice addition - it's got an updated look and is a fun place to hang out and have a drink. The room was big (and very clean), the bed was really comfortable and the staff was friendly/knew their stuff.

Room Tip: Get a room facing south - best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We're glad you experienced our caring service, great hotel amenities and great location! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

There were two sides to this hotel. The main hotel was very nice and recently updated. The second hotel was across the street with covered breeze way to cross over. The was very inconvenient when traveling with a group. Some people were on one side and some on the other. The rooms were very nice on the other side, but, the lobby was very outdated and not very inviting.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we want to thank you for your comments and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel
Marriott Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kansas City Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.