We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, courteous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Kansas City Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Power and Light Package
Ranked #46 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, courteous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wonderful responsive, attentive lobby staff. The newer building is clean and comfortable. Room was spotless, quiet and comfortable. Lacks certain essentials though, such as makeup mirror, Qtips and shower gel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed our Midwest hospitality during your stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown! We value your business and we strive to meet your expectations. At Marriott, we hope you enjoy our Bath & Body Works Aroma Therapy products. We thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    142
    91
    46
    29
See reviews for
34
62
26
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very convienient location. Staff was very accomodating. The rooms were VERY clean and the beds were comfy. The breakfast buffet was good too. Flat screen tvs if that's a big deal for you, overall we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the city was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we want to thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your guestroom and breakfast. We look forward to you next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Perfect location to Power & Light District. Beautiful view of the city from our room.Gracious Staff.
The only place I'll stay..The rooftop pool(enclosed was a little chilly but has a great view.
The beds were very comfy and the room was spacious.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building facing the fountain in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we want to thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your guestroom and the pool during your stay. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We attended a wedding in KC and stayed here the first week of May. From the time we pulled up to the door we had EXCELLENT service. Every single staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. The room was clean (I'm a hotel cleanliness snob) and the bathroom was spotless as well. We had an awesome view. The bed was comfy and the breakfast buffet was good and a reasonable price. I was more than impressed and will definitely stay there again if I need a room in the downtown KC area.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view of the KC skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty M, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed our Midwest hospitality during your stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown and also that you enjoyed your guestroom, city view, and breakfast. We thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott to attend a concert at Power and Light. This hotel is within walking distance to everything! The rooms were super clean, but most importantly, their STAFF was the nicest staff. I came across at least 10 different team members this morning and EVERY single one of the employees greeted us with huge smiles and "Good Morning" as we were leaving. They seemed very genuine and that they truly enjoyed working there. I would definitely reccommend this hotel for the business traveler or for staycations! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It has a nice location downton, though you do have to walk a few blocks to get to the restaurants in the Power & Light District. The staff was very helpful and always hustling. The bar area in the lobby is really a nice touch. It has plenty of space and comfort to enjoy a drink. They like to light up the front of the hotel at night so that was a pleasant surprise. I also thought the fitness area was really good.

Room Tip: The front looks out towards a plaza, the back towards the downtown airport (not the main airport in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuscaloosa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Can not say enough good things about this hotel...the staff is excellent, friendly and nice, the rooms are spacious and very clean. Central location, close to Convention Center and great places to eat (and drink) I will stay here if back in KC, MO again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel
Marriott Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kansas City Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.