We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most Marriotts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Kansas City Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Power and Light Package
Ranked #43 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
DC
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Better than most Marriotts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Great downtown location- can walk to Power and Light district and downtown office locations and Sprint Ctr the elite lounge is open all day during the week- great service at the desk and valet - fitness floor is on the top with city views

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear SaminDC: Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. We are definitely in the heart of it all with the Power & Lights District and Sprint Center just blocks from the hotel. Our fitness center was just recently renovated and we are glad you were able to enjoy it. Thank you again for staying with us - we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    165
    103
    53
    31
See reviews for
37
70
27
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Service, nice hotel. Room was nice and comfortable. Every interaction with staff was more than pleasant, excellent customer service. New coffee central is nice. Housekeeping efficient and friendly. This was my second visit and will definitely return. Great to be in an area where you can walk around town to power and light district and to costinos market. Front desk staff excellent.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Daddavisfive: We truly appreciate all of the positive comments about your stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. I will share your great comments about our staff through our daily newsletter. We are indeed within blocks to a very exciting district, Power & Light as well as the Sprint arena. We hope you can visit us again and perhaps make it to the River Market area and a few other noteworthy sites. We thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This property is one of my all time favorites, and each time I visit, I seem to find myself in awe of the impeccable service which is provided. On this particular visit, a bellman named Robin was the star of the show! Not only did Robin recognize me as a return guest, he remembered my name! This is amazing due to the fact that it had been nearly a year since my last stay! He greeted me with a smile, was helpful in answering my questions, providing directions, and made me feel welcomed and comfortable.

The one item I could comment on needing improvement at this hotel is the business center. The copy machine is a pay per use, and one must use a credit card or obtain a prepaid card from the front desk. I do not generally run down to the business center with my credit card in tow, so this was a time eating fiasco. Perhaps it would be nice to consider offering the copy/fax machine as a courtesy to guests?

It is the dedication of amazing employees such as Robin that keeps me coming back to Marriott!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear 40WeeksOnTheRoad: It was great to have you with us at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. We appreciate your postive comments about the staff and services of our hotel. As you mentioned, Robin, certainly stands out among our staff. I will share your feedback with him so he knows he was of assistance to you. Your comments about the business center will also be considered. We now offer a complimentary computer in the lobby for a quick look at emails which has helped our guests - but will investigate the usage of a copy machines as well. Thank you again for staying with us. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I love this hotel. Even in the middle of a blizzard, this place felt warm and inviting. My room was great, very large, clean and well-designed. The decor is pleasing, the staff is highly competent, and the food is delicious. I hope to have the pleasure of staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the park. (It seems like most of them do.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear HydroHopper:

Thank you for your recent review of the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. We really appreciate your positive feedback on the staff and services of the hotel - even in the blizzard. We hope to have the opporutnity to serve you again during better weather conditions so you can get out and enjoy all of the sites that are just blocks from the hotel! Thank you again. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland,ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel but the rooms we stayed was quite far from the front desk. It's an older Marroitt but clean. There is a very nice grocery store about 2 blocks away. I've heard that the area is much livelier in summer months.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear tayshan1: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. We do hope to have the opportunity to see you again - there are many sites to take in within blocks of the hotel, i.e. Steamboat Arabia, antique stores, City Market and many other interesting stops. We look forward to your next stay and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We live in KC but wanted to stay downtown during the Big 12 basketball tournament. This hotel has a great location for all downtown activity. Our room was nice with a beautiful view of the city. We found the staff to be friendly, the hotel was clean and the lobby was fun-central. We are Marriott Gold members so was granted access to the concierge lounge. That was a nice plus also. Our only negative about this hotel was having breakfast in their adjoining restaurant, Metropolitan KC on Saturday morning. First of all, on Saturday, since the concierge lounge was closed, I asked the front desk if gold members received a complimentary breakfast. Supposedly we were to receive a purple coupon for the restaurant upon check-in and did not. I'm glad I asked. However, the restaurant hostess desk was very disorganized and the young girl hostessing was not a good fit for that job. We waited 15 minutes to be seated, others much longer, and then upon being seated, we noticed an entire section of empty tables available that never were filled. The buffet was good and had a nice assortment to please all. When we left our table, we left the purple coupon on the table with a tip. However, a few steps away from our table, our server stopped us and asked if we left a tip!!! I am dead serious -- we just couldn't believe how tacky this woman was! But all in all, our 2 night stay was very nice and we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear brodgekc: Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. March Madness is such a great time for the city and we appreciate you visiting us. Our hotel is truly in the "heart of it all" and we are glad you had the opportunity to share in the excitement. I apologize for the less than perfect experience in our restaurant. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please feel free to give me a call at 816-855-4440. We would like to rectify any less than favorable situation you may have had while our guest. Thank you again. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here one night for business. The bed was so comfortable that I stripped the sheets to get the manufacturer. The hotel staff was very friendly, and the hotel is very clean, also there are several places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear CBR0107:

Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed our hotel. We receive alot of favorable comments about our bedding. After a day of work or sightseeing it is nice to experience a guest room that has the comforts of home. We hope to have you back with us again - we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kansas City Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.