We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kansas City Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #36 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
cleveland,ohio
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel but the rooms we stayed was quite far from the front desk. It's an older Marroitt but clean. There is a very nice grocery store about 2 blocks away. I've heard that the area is much livelier in summer months.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear tayshan1: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. We do hope to have the opportunity to see you again - there are many sites to take in within blocks of the hotel, i.e. Steamboat Arabia, antique stores, City Market and many other interesting stops. We look forward to your next stay and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    200
    122
    58
    32
See reviews for
52
85
29
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kansas city
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We live in KC but wanted to stay downtown during the Big 12 basketball tournament. This hotel has a great location for all downtown activity. Our room was nice with a beautiful view of the city. We found the staff to be friendly, the hotel was clean and the lobby was fun-central. We are Marriott Gold members so was granted access to the concierge lounge. That was a nice plus also. Our only negative about this hotel was having breakfast in their adjoining restaurant, Metropolitan KC on Saturday morning. First of all, on Saturday, since the concierge lounge was closed, I asked the front desk if gold members received a complimentary breakfast. Supposedly we were to receive a purple coupon for the restaurant upon check-in and did not. I'm glad I asked. However, the restaurant hostess desk was very disorganized and the young girl hostessing was not a good fit for that job. We waited 15 minutes to be seated, others much longer, and then upon being seated, we noticed an entire section of empty tables available that never were filled. The buffet was good and had a nice assortment to please all. When we left our table, we left the purple coupon on the table with a tip. However, a few steps away from our table, our server stopped us and asked if we left a tip!!! I am dead serious -- we just couldn't believe how tacky this woman was! But all in all, our 2 night stay was very nice and we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear brodgekc: Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. March Madness is such a great time for the city and we appreciate you visiting us. Our hotel is truly in the "heart of it all" and we are glad you had the opportunity to share in the excitement. I apologize for the less than perfect experience in our restaurant. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please feel free to give me a call at 816-855-4440. We would like to rectify any less than favorable situation you may have had while our guest. Thank you again. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here one night for business. The bed was so comfortable that I stripped the sheets to get the manufacturer. The hotel staff was very friendly, and the hotel is very clean, also there are several places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear CBR0107:

Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed our hotel. We receive alot of favorable comments about our bedding. After a day of work or sightseeing it is nice to experience a guest room that has the comforts of home. We hope to have you back with us again - we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, Ca
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Lots of remodeling. The bar is a great spot. I was there for business again and as luck would have it, the second of huge snow storms in February. The staff did a great job considering what they were up against. They had a diminished food supply which I thought was to be expected. Half the downtown area was closed off, including most of the restaurants Tuesday and Wednesday. Anyway, service from the staff rocked, my room was spotless and updated since last year and I was always greeted with a smile. The concierge room was a nice, added bonus. Good assortment of breakfast items in a quiet area. A good trip in a good establishment.

Room Tip: For a taste of local flavor, head up to the Quaff. About two walking blocks north of the hotel. A lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear MikeandJim:

Thank you so much for the great comments about the staff and service at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. It was great to have you back again this year. We, too, are so excited about the renovations that have been taking place. Most of our customers do spend time now in our Lobby Bar (Barcentral) before heading out for the evening or just catching up with friends. We hope to see you again next year - and, hopefully there won't be a snow storm! Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had to stay the night during the recent snow storm and were greatly impressed with the hotel. It is within walking distance of the P&L district were you have plenty of food options if the hotel resturaunt is too expensive for you. The rooms were clean and spacious, but what made them our the magnificent views of the city! The hotel bar is great and good for people watching too. The breakfast and coffee bar were added pluses.

Room Tip: All rooms came with a wonderful view but the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear mmansfield719:

Thank you for your great remarks about the staff and services from your recent stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. The back to back snow storms were a bit of an unusual situation but I am happy to hear you weathered through one of them with us! We hope you come and visit us again when you can thoroughly enjoy the area and all that it has to offer. Thank you again for your positive feedback - we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Last week I was in KC at the downtown Marriott. I have been there several times. The rooms are always clean, comfortable and quiet. The remodeled lobby is a great place to relax with friends, grab a late night snack or do light work.

Last week I was in the hotel during the snow storm. The staff universally remained positive and pleasant despite being very busy and short staffed. Matt the front desk manager was especially helpful and proactive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear David D:

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. We appreciate your return business. I will be sure to let Matt know that he was helpful in assisting you during your visit with us. Hopefully the next time you are in KC the weather will be a little more conducive to enjoying the downtown area and all it has to offer. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We attended a convention during which we had snowy weather; staying at the KC Marriott Downtown with the underground walkway to and from the convention center was perfect. The accommodations were spacious and the bed was ahh at the end of the day. We had cocktails and apps at the lobby bar...great waiter, drinks, and food. When we returned, I discovered an additional charge on my debit card, called the hotel, the accountant called me right back, looked up and found the error and sent me a new billing all in the same day AND within just a couple of days it was off my account. Almost forgot to mention the bell service...Great, as well!

Room Tip: We were right next to the ice machine/vending room and never heard a thing. I don't know if ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Lisa H:

Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. I am so happy to hear that the snow storm didn't put a damper on your experience at the hotel or during your conference. Our associates truly came together as a team to provide top notch service for our customers. We hope you have the opportunity to visit Kansas City again and stay at the Marriott Downtown where as you say, the beds are "ahhh" at the end of the day! Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kansas City Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.