We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than last year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Kansas City Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Power and Light Package
Ranked #39 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
El Dorado Hills, Ca
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Even better than last year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Lots of remodeling. The bar is a great spot. I was there for business again and as luck would have it, the second of huge snow storms in February. The staff did a great job considering what they were up against. They had a diminished food supply which I thought was to be expected. Half the downtown area was closed off, including most of the restaurants Tuesday and Wednesday. Anyway, service from the staff rocked, my room was spotless and updated since last year and I was always greeted with a smile. The concierge room was a nice, added bonus. Good assortment of breakfast items in a quiet area. A good trip in a good establishment.

Room Tip: For a taste of local flavor, head up to the Quaff. About two walking blocks north of the hotel. A lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear MikeandJim:

Thank you so much for the great comments about the staff and service at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. It was great to have you back again this year. We, too, are so excited about the renovations that have been taking place. Most of our customers do spend time now in our Lobby Bar (Barcentral) before heading out for the evening or just catching up with friends. We hope to see you again next year - and, hopefully there won't be a snow storm! Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    173
    109
    54
    31
See reviews for
40
73
27
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had to stay the night during the recent snow storm and were greatly impressed with the hotel. It is within walking distance of the P&L district were you have plenty of food options if the hotel resturaunt is too expensive for you. The rooms were clean and spacious, but what made them our the magnificent views of the city! The hotel bar is great and good for people watching too. The breakfast and coffee bar were added pluses.

Room Tip: All rooms came with a wonderful view but the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear mmansfield719:

Thank you for your great remarks about the staff and services from your recent stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. The back to back snow storms were a bit of an unusual situation but I am happy to hear you weathered through one of them with us! We hope you come and visit us again when you can thoroughly enjoy the area and all that it has to offer. Thank you again for your positive feedback - we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Last week I was in KC at the downtown Marriott. I have been there several times. The rooms are always clean, comfortable and quiet. The remodeled lobby is a great place to relax with friends, grab a late night snack or do light work.

Last week I was in the hotel during the snow storm. The staff universally remained positive and pleasant despite being very busy and short staffed. Matt the front desk manager was especially helpful and proactive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear David D:

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. We appreciate your return business. I will be sure to let Matt know that he was helpful in assisting you during your visit with us. Hopefully the next time you are in KC the weather will be a little more conducive to enjoying the downtown area and all it has to offer. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We attended a convention during which we had snowy weather; staying at the KC Marriott Downtown with the underground walkway to and from the convention center was perfect. The accommodations were spacious and the bed was ahh at the end of the day. We had cocktails and apps at the lobby bar...great waiter, drinks, and food. When we returned, I discovered an additional charge on my debit card, called the hotel, the accountant called me right back, looked up and found the error and sent me a new billing all in the same day AND within just a couple of days it was off my account. Almost forgot to mention the bell service...Great, as well!

Room Tip: We were right next to the ice machine/vending room and never heard a thing. I don't know if ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Lisa H:

Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. I am so happy to hear that the snow storm didn't put a damper on your experience at the hotel or during your conference. Our associates truly came together as a team to provide top notch service for our customers. We hope you have the opportunity to visit Kansas City again and stay at the Marriott Downtown where as you say, the beds are "ahhh" at the end of the day! Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice hotel with modern lobby, restaurant and bar area in a good part of downtown that is convenient to the Convention Center, Power & Light District, and some popular restaurants.

Good sized rooms, very nice health club. Bedding and pillows were a little soft for my tastes. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful--one of the best concierge/bell hops I have encountered anywhere. Within 5-10 minute cab rides to other popular areas of the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear elchevere:

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding the staff and services during your recent stay at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. Our lobby area, including the bar and restaurant, have been recently renovated. Barcentral has become the gathering spot for both our hotel guests as well as the neighboring community. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in the Muehlbach part of the Downtown Marriott Kansas City. It's a beautiful property with nice rooms and a gracious and very accommodating staff. We were there on the Friday after KC's record snowfall - you would never know, the hotel was business as usual. We had fun exploring the original lobby and other parts of the historic Muehlbach Hotel. It was President Truman's home when he visited KC, which was quite often. Over the years many other presidents and celebrities have stayed here as well. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: This property is connected to the KC convention center. It's close to all sorts of restaurants a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel1KansasCity, General Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear KizerBender:

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your postive feedback on the staff and services of the hotel. Your comments have also been shared with all of our associates so they know their efforts provided a positive experience for you. We often hear great comments about our location to the convention center and to the Power & Light District. We hope you visit us again and have the opportunity to take advantage of all that Kansas City has to offer. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

During the recent torrent of snow we received, my company put myself and some of my associates up at the Kansas City Downtown Marriott. The staff was very friendly and willing to take the time to make sure our accommodations were taken care. Elite level service to say the least. The hotel itself was in immaculate condition and was maintained at that level despite the influx of stranded travelers. All-in-all it was a top notch experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kansas City Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.