We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not meeting Marriott expectations” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kansas City Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #36 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not meeting Marriott expectations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Please note that I write comments both positive and negative, I do not use this site as a complaint board! I recently stayed at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown, and was not impressed at all. First, on arrival at 1800 hrs (not a very busy check-in time), I was not greeted as I walked in nor was there anyone present at the Elite Member check-in location at the desk. I was then told that I could not get Concierge lounge access because I was only Silver level of rewards.
Then when I wanted to find somewhere to go for dinner, the concierge desk was not staffed and a front desk person came over (because there were several of us looking for information) and rudely stated,” I do not do this, I am on the desk”. So, I asked a bell-hop for directions and he did not speak much English, but did ask a colleague who was able to give me directions to the place I was looking for (Constentino’s).
The room did not have a refrigerator, nor were there any drinking glasses in the bathroom, so I only had two glasses in the whole room. The next morning I wanted to work-out prior to my shuttle to my workplace, and I was informed that it opened at 0530 (not 24hrs). I got on a cross-trainer (nicely there are many) but only 3 had access for headphones to listen the TV while exercising. There were 2 personnel at the entry desk, who did not offer to orient me, or anything. I had to go to them to ask about the headphone connection.
So, overall this hotel in my opinion did not hold up to the Marriott standards, I have changed my career and become a road-warrior and my coaches have taught me to pick one brand and stay with it as much as possible, I have been fairly pleased with Marriott, I have been at several Hilton’s and like Marriott better. But, recently I stayed at the LaQuinta Inn in Columbus IN and was more impressed and received more customer service than this Marriott.

Room Tip: pick another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    199
    121
    58
    31
See reviews for
52
83
29
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with directions and whatever else we needed. The concierge lounge was always well-stocked, clean, and enjoyable. The restaurant downstairs was totally acceptable as far as hotel restaurants go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, Manager at Kansas City Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear Tom G;

Thank you very much for staying with us on your recent Kansas City trip. Our staff strives to make every guest experience a great one. Our location in Downtown Kansas City in the Power and Light District does offer every guest an array of dining and entertainment options. We hope to see you next time your travels bring you this way.

Sincerely,

Cynthia Savage
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very, very nice hotel with very nice, helpful, courteous staff. Very near the convention center and downtown Wheeler Airport. Great views of the river and historic downtown Kansas City. My only complaint about Marriott in general is the extra charge for use of the business center. I am the fortunate possessor (this year, anyway) of a gold card, and Ray up in the concierge lounge let me in a little early so I could get some important work done on the fee-free computer. Unfortunately, I predict the loss of gold this year and a return to Marriott computer begging next year.

Room Tip: For a great view, try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night. If you are traveling to KC I highly recommend it. Parking is on site and is reasonable when compared to other cities. Great view from the 18th floor, and a full breakfast is $12.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Our first time to Kansas City, and the hotel was one of only a couple hotels right downtown. It was clean, well maintained, near bus stops and walking distance to fun night life, all weekend long. The restaurant on site was good, the only thing disappointing was there was NO complimentary wi-fi internet in the rooms, you had to pay!

Room Tip: Nice view of the fountains across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, OH
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here again for a convention. Very convienant and an overall nice hotel. Room service was a little limited on their offerings, but you will not go hungry. Staff works hard to at their jobs. Nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here with a few friends for one night. The rooms were nothing exceptional but they were somewhat updated and very clean. The beds were nice and had plenty of pillow choices. The A/C had a tough time keeping up. Noise was never a problem. We only had to wait for the elevators a few times. The entry/lobby was huge and seemed nice as well. Parking was easily accessible and $13/day for self-park.

Room Tip: Ask for view to the south
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kansas City Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 983
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Marriott Downtown puts travelers in the heart of a lively downtown. Guests are just steps from the Power & Light District, with shopping, great restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. Kansas City Chief’s football, museums, jazz clubs and shopping at Crown Center and the Plaza, are minutes away. This premier hotel has two distinct towers: the Marriott Tower and the Muehlebach Tower which offer 983 luxury guest rooms and nearly 100,000 sq ft of diverse function space. The Kansas City Marriott Downtown is the KC's most popular venue for civic and social galas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kansas City Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Marriott Downtown Hotel Kansas City
Marriott Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kansas City Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.