We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge

Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge
1333 Walnut Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
816 442-8115
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #233 of 1,141 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 14th Street
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Party of 4 came here for our 1st time for restaurant week. We all had the $30 pre fixe special-between the 4 of us we tried all of the choices available-it was a lot of food and everything was very good. The drink prices were reasonable also. Will come back another time to check out their regular menu. Outdoor area looked really nice, but it was closed as too cold.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    13
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“pre concert meal, awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had dinner at the bar before attending a concert (Springsteen) at the Sprint Center. What a great meal, I had the KC strip steak and it was perfect. We returned after the concert for drinks and the place was hopping! Great selection of Bourbons!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“This is the place for BEEF!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

While attending a training conference in KC, our group dinner was at Maker's Mark. We hads the calamari, wine board, crab cakes, spinach and artichoke dip as appetizers, The wine board was an excellent selection of cheeses both familiar and non. Delicious savory cheeses that I found mouth wateringly wonderful. The calamari was crisp on the outside and not tough inside. The artichoke dip was excellent. The crab cakes, well I'm from Maryland so I taste in crab is vastly different. I didn't find these appetizing. As my mine coarse I had the 8 oz ounce filet oscar style. The filet was cooked to perfection; medium rare and buttery tender. You could cut it with a fork and the meat would melt in your mouth! Several co-worker had the chicken and waffles and a couple had the scallops. There were rave reviews about all the food! The service was impeccable. We had several waiters that were very attentive and seemed to arrived t our table at just the right time. I had never been to KC and honestly had never known Maker's Mark had a restaurant and lounge. This place was wonderful, great service, great food and in a really cool part of downtown. Def worth the trip

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC-MO
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very good food, well presented in the trendy Power and Light district in KC MO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This was our third visit to this restaurant. This was the most pleasant. The place was not crowded and the service was as before, excellent. The food was well presented and presented in a timely fashion. I had the Ahi tuna, my wife the scallops.
On a previous visit the place was packed for basketball Madness, and the noise was frankly overpowering. This evening it was outstanding service, food and ambiance.
Do make reservations and enjoy yourself you will not be disappointed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a great meal (both had steak) and I had a Maker's Mark manhattan and all were excellent - as good as any Chicago steakhouse. The ambiance and service were equally good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.