We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit for Any Baseball Fan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Negro Leagues Baseball Museum

Negro Leagues Baseball Museum
1616 E 18th St, Kansas City, MO 64108-1610
816-221-1920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 176 things to do in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in 1991, this museum is a tribute to some of baseball's best unknown players.
San Diego
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Must Visit for Any Baseball Fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent multimedia venue showcasing the old Negro Leagues that also recaptures an ugly part of American history--segregation. The museum features murals with the timeline of the league as well as features of some of the greats, video presentations with narrations by James Earl Jones and Bernard Shaw, and life-size statues of the greats by position recreated on a miniature playing field with scoreboard. There even is a replica of the tiny, black only owned motel rooms where the players were forced to stay on road trips. I picked up some interesting baseball trivia tidbits I had not known before visiting, such as the fact night baseball originated in the Negro Leagues 5 years before it was adopted by Major League Baseball.

All in all, a wonderful place to visit and reasonably priced at $10 admittance fee. For an additional $5, you can also visit the adjacent American Jazz Museum if you purchase a combination ticket. You can visit and tour both places in +/- 2 hours.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    113
    18
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A must if you're in Kansas City; The is so much history here that you will be amazed. On my last visit during our family reunion we were able to meet Buck O'Neil.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you are a baseball fan or simply a lover of American history, this museum will capture your attention and heart. It is exceptionally well laid out and the timeline-style presentation is excellent both in its contextual approach as well as mixing the county's history with what was happening in baseball in the 19th and 20th centuries. It has plenty to keep kids, especially those who like the game, interested and moving along the paths. I definitely recommend seeing this and the attached American Jazz Museum. You can save a bit by purchasing a combined ticket and visit both. We spent about 4 hours seeing both museums.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The lighting just wasn't right and it was the third museum of the day. So maybe it was a little much for a day but this place just didn't wow me. Frankly, it would have had to blow me away because the WWI museum and the Truman Library are just THAT amazing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great history lesson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The museum has a lot of memorabilia from the era. It helps to open the eyes of children to the horrible part of our history that allowed (demanded) segregation and then the transition to non-segregated life. Buck O'Neal was a Kansas City treasure and there is much to learned about him there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Negro Leagues Baseball Museum also viewed

 

Been to Negro Leagues Baseball Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negro Leagues Baseball Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.