We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homerun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Negro Leagues Baseball Museum

Negro Leagues Baseball Museum
1616 E 18th St, Kansas City, MO 64108-1610
816-221-1920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 82 Attractions in Kansas City
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in 1991, this museum is a tribute to some of baseball's best unknown players.
Farmington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Homerun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I enjoyed the visit to the museum and found it to be very uplifting and educational. I would have enjoyed it more if I would have more time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    101
    15
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

You don't have to be a baseball fan to enjoy this museum about our national past time. The museum is self guided and will cover alot of history about baseball and this country. I think if you have young children who are playing any kind of sports they will enjoy it as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The NLBM is a great museum that is a must for all sports fans, as well as history buffs everywhere. The museum preserves and explores the beauty that came from a dark period of our nations history. Great place to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very interesting museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I attended this museum to fulfill a work diversity requirement and am so glad I chose it. I was very amazed at the information that they offer. It was a very nice self guided tour with stuff that I was never aware of. Even if you don't like baseball, I think you will enjoy it and if you are a baseball fan, it is a must see.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A must for baseball fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Small, intimate,informative. Well laid out. Points out the shame of segragation and the boldness of these men who loved the game enough to play any way they could. Not to be missed if you love the game

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Negro Leagues Baseball Museum also viewed

 

Been to Negro Leagues Baseball Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negro Leagues Baseball Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.