We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AAA Does Not Do It Justice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Visitors Center

Hallmark Visitors Center
Crown Center, Kansas City, MO 64108
816 274 3613
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 98 attractions in Kansas City
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: See everything behind the world's most popular greeting card at the company's factory headquarters.
Ft. Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“AAA Does Not Do It Justice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have lots of memories of visiting "The Card Shop" with my mom, so when my husband planned a visit to the Hallmark Museum / Visitors Center on our trip to the mid-west, I was relishing my trip down memory lane. I was not disappointed!

The Museum truly has something for everyone: the historian can appreciate the "through the years" exhibits -- highlights of the decades with headlines and front covers from the journals of the day; kids will love all the hands-on exhibits and activities (including a mechanical bow-making machine, which fascinated us "big kids"); the sentimental will enjoy the Hallmak commercials exhibits (bring Kleenex!); the chroniclers will love the opportunity to pose for a picture while "crowned" and have it sent to her email address; those who prefer audio-visual to print will enjoy the theater presentation; although the press operator was not there the day we toured, those interested in manufacturing will enjoy watching actual cards being made; and everyone should love the generosity of the Hallmark personnel -- they are helpful, kind, and seem to have an endless supply of gifts! Wow! Aside from the bows we made and the postcards that we were encouraged to take, we received two nice packages upon leaving. I am guessing that the gifts change during the year, but my gifts were first-class and useful -- a very generous offering!

I think if you want to amble through and enjoy the exhibits without carefully reading the background stories behind them, an hour is plenty of time to allow. We read lots and spent a good deal of time at each exhibit, so we spent between 2-3 hours. My husband, the non-card person, declared at the end of our tour, "The AAA does not do this museum justice!" Stop by; you'll love it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    15
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Story”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The museum tells the story of Joyce Hall, the founder of Hallmark. There are interactive details of how cards are created and of course the ornaments through the years. We especially enjoyed the gallery of one of a kind Christmas trees designed by the employees and given to Mr. Hall. The center is located in the middle of a huge shopping center so you can also see Hall department store. Worth checking out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A different view of corporate America”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I spent about an hour at the Hallmark Visitor's Center while in Kansas City. It is not flashy or noisy. It is a thoughtful reminder of Hallmark products throughout the years. I admit that I am a sap--and have been known to cry at Hallmark commercials, but I did love the retrospective of their products--from the earliest post-cards to their movies. Maybe it was just a "snow job" but this company seems to value their employees (ARTISTS!). This is such a difference with the way corporate America generally works. It gave me hope.
I wish Hallmark "the very best." And, I think that this is a wonderfully relaxing way to spend some KC time!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not for the younger crowd.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have a greater respect for a Hallmark card. The visitor center and not real easy to find, tucked back in with the corp. offices. A lot of reading. Make sure you see the short film they have as an option to see about the family that started Hallmark. Also the complex they built with their own proves that a company can make it work.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hallmark Center was Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a free venue! It is self quided so you can take it slow if you have the time or quick. A lot of history, clips of the tear producing commercials as well as Hallmark Hall of Fame productions. You actually see a printing press printing the inside message of a card as well as a die press cutting paper into designs. Lots of collectible ornaments on display as well as replicas of past Christmas trees for Crown Center.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hallmark Visitors Center also viewed

 

Been to Hallmark Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Visitors Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hallmark Visitors Center to your Saves list