We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Art Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art

Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
4525 Oak St, Kansas City, MO 64111
816 751 1278
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 82 Attractions in Kansas City
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum has a collection of life-like sculptures.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Big Art Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We go to lots of Art museums around the country and this one is Big for the size of Kansas City. If you are an art lover - this art museum is a must see (and free, except parking). The building is significant in architecture. It has a nice cafe with large portions that can be "shared" with all you can drink cofffee, tea, etc. The special exhibit of Monet opening in April 2011 is just ok (there is a cost), but not great. It combines 3 of the lily paintingsdone by Monet from the Cleveland, St Louis and KC museum and displays them together with some science behind the brush strokes. I would not pay for it if you have seen the large Monet lily paintings before like we have in St Louis.. But there are other Monet paintiing that art free to see that are very good works along with other famous European artists. Overall, a great art museum.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    141
    15
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, Missouri
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Great Art Collection in Kansas City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We came to see the Naismith Rules Exhibit and stayed to see much ot the art. We arrived early and enjoyed the outdoor sculptures and took many good pictures. Inside we browsed everything from Egyptian mummies to the latest modern art and photography. Although donations are recommended, this is a free museum and a great place to spend a morning or an afternoon.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great photo ops!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Aside from all of the beautiful art...we had our wedding pictures taken outside of the museum and they turned out beyond amazing! This is an amazing property both inside and out! Worth visiting more than once!

Visited May 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A place to visit often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

I've grown up going to this art museum. In recent years, pieces have been moved and live beside new neighbors, having new conversations, but this art museum is worth your time. Favorites include the temple room; the ceiling and walls were relocated and put back together inside the Nelson. The cloister is also usually a peaceful room, even though it is now cluttered with artifacts in the middle of it. The collection of armor us fun for kids, and I always like looking at the medieval art. If you live in K.C., the children's classes, although no longer offered in one of the museum's neighboring houses as when I was a child, are well worth the cost; so much better than those at a museum in JoCo that hands out worksheets to the children to do! Your children willnlearn about art and make art and never be ready to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent sculpture garden, but museum is closed Mon. & Tues.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

My friend and I walked to the Nelson-Atkins art museum from Country Club Plaza. We had finished shopping and eating lunch and wanted to check out the art museum. This was our first time to KC and it was recommended by other tripadvisors. We were only going to be here Dec. 20th (Mon) and 21st (Tues). We left on the 22nd. Tues. afternoon, it was in the low 40's. A little chilly, but not too bad. We're from the Chicago area, and there was a snowstorm there while we were in KC. Great weather in KC comparatively!! When we got to the museum (which seemed really far away but was only about a 5-8 minute walk), there was a museum guide outside that asked if we knew that the museum was closed on Tuesday. We said no, and were very dissapointed!! It was one of the things that my friend was REALLY looking forward to (she is much more of an art buff than I). The guile told us a lot about the sculpture garden outside, also where the Kemper was (but we are not contemporary art fans, so we did not go), nearest bus stop, and how to find the KC Reperatory Theater. He was very knowledgeable about everything we asked. He even told us how to access an online guide for the museum sculpture garden. The art museum provides free wi-fi. Sadly, we did not have any headphones or else this would have been great! There were some excellent sculptures to see here. One by Renoir!! We had a good time, but were dissapointed that we could not see the inside.

Note, public transit MAX line is a little bit far from the art museum. You have to walk toward Country Club Plaza to Main St. and the stops are to the right of the museum (Main & 45th and Main & 39th).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.