We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never leave hungry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Em Chamas Brazilian Grill

Em Chamas Brazilian Grill
6101 NW 63rd Terrace, Kansas City, MO 64151
816-505-7100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #223 of 1,141 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 45 Highway and Cosby
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Will never leave hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We've now been back to Em Chamas several times and it is still has a variety of delicious meat from beef, pork, lamb, and chicken all served on skewered as well as great service. The meats are served Rodizio style using a coin on the table one side to let them know you are ready to be served the variety of meats as much or as little as you want and flipping the coin over to the other side lets them know to stop. Your first trip will be to a extensive salad bar which may range from mash potatoes/soups/macaroni/lettuce salad.

Few helpful hints... Be sure to make reservations as they keep busy. Reservations can now be made directly in Em Chamas website emchamas.com
Be sure to go hungry so you are able to try everything.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Three of us visited Em Chamas for the second time in late October 2012. The restaurant's concept is to have servers bring flame-broiled meats around to your table on long skewers to be carved tableside for you with HUGE knives. There is a sizeable salad buffet with a few hot items that were very good and were kept fresh and refilled way before any item was close to empty, but the real star of the show are the meats. Several different preparations each of beef, chicken, lamb and pork are presented for your selection, and the servers come by very frequently to tempt you to take more and more. This is all you can eat and definitely NOT for vegetarians! Each diner has a little card that you turn one way for more meat, the other if you want to wait for a while. The cost per person is a little pricey at $29.99, but then this isn't a Golden Corral buffet, either!!! We had a $50 Groupon that was accepted with no problem; there was a sign at the entrance that said "one Groupon per table or two for a table of 6 or more". If you can skip the bottle of wine and the cup of coffee and desert at the end of your meal, this can be a good value for the money. Our experience both times was very good; the only problem both times was that I needed to let my belt out a notch when I left!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ok, it's a bit pricey but this resturant has plenty of specials so sign up on their web site. The food is plentiful, although I found certain cuts of the meat to be a bit undercooked and tough. The highlight was the fantastic wait staff! They were positive, friendly and very knowledgable. The greeters were preoccupied the night my family and I visited. Even though I made a reservation the day before they couln't find it and left us waiting for more than ten minutes when the resturant was virtually empty! Go figure. Don't waste your time with the tepid bananas that are supposed to be a palette cleanser....nasty! The cheesy biscuits are a throw away as well. My eleven year old loved the presentation and routine of being served meat off the skewer so this is a fun resturant for kids. I wouldn't make a habit of going all the time, as the decor is a bit sad......ongoing construction outside the windows, uninspired dining area with drab colors......sort of like a banquet hall. The desserts were the perfect ending to the evening. We ordered three different choices and they were all fantastic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must be a big eater...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Unless you can eat A LOT in one sitting, this is not the place for you. I had half a plate from the salad bar and maybe six bites of different meats. Had we gone to a nice steak house, it would've cost less, the food would've been higher quality, and we would've had leftovers to take home. They charge exorbitant prices for cheap family buffet quality food and send the meat to you to justify the expense. Try this in Brazil, not in KC.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent visit! Here's the beef (and other protein)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I had heard about Em Chamas from some friends, then had a coupon that pushed me there way. We had reservations and had to wait a few minutes because they were so busy. It was a Saturday night.

I am glad I went hungry and still didn't try everything I wanted. The salad, cold and hot bar was excellent. THEN, they started bringing the grilled meat around. The house special was probably my favorite, but all was good!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Em Chamas Brazilian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Em Chamas Brazilian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Em Chamas Brazilian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.