We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but good food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pierpont's at Union Station

Pierpont's at Union Station
30 West Pershing Road #900, Kansas City, MO 64108
(816) 221-5111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,141 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Description: At Pierpont's, we've given new meaning to the phrase, "The Best Steak in Kansas City." Now we've done for seafood, what we did for steak . . . Absolutely the best seafood in Kansas City -- Guaranteed! The Pierpont's invites you to experience Pierpont's at Union Station. Dubbed "the culinary jewel" of Kansas City's historically renovated Union Station, Pierpont's is rapidly gaining the reputation of serving Kansas City's finest steak and seafood selections. As a sister restaurant to Kansas City's legendary Hereford House, Pierpont's maintains the family tradition of serving prime steak, perfectly aged and prepared. With fresh seafood arriving daily, an award winning wine list, and the unique creations of some of the areas finest chefs, Pierpont's has been named "Best Place to Entertain an out-of-town Guest" and "Best Place to take a Group" from the local press.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Expensive but good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Relaxing dinner. Good food and service. The Godiva Chocolate drinks are wonderful. Union Station is a beautiful historical building. Restaurant is a little noisy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    96
    34
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet dinner, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Service was top notch. We were early for our reservation, so went to the bar. Bartender was prompt and friendly. When shown our table, the waiter acknowledged us as we were seated. Even saved us a dessert. Food was excellent and the warm bread was fantastic.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Love the food & atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband was at a conference in KC and we needed something light to eat for the evening. Our desk clerk at our hotel recommended Pierpoint for late night food. I ordered the sweet potatoes fries and they were the best ones I have ever had. My husband had the soup and he said it was very good. We tried to go back the next night, but was not able to get seated. If in KC, we will definitely go back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love this place for an intimate dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The architecture in this Union Station gem harkens back to the 1920s. And the steaks don't disappoint. In a city known for their beef, steakhouses have to do a lot to stand out. Pierpont's suceeds through their perfectly executed classic dishes and ambience.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Love food and architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful dining experience there recently ... my husband had the trout and I had the lobster Thermidor, both nicely prepared. Our server was Sara, very helpful, professional and even has a great voice. Because it was my husband's birthday, she agreed to sing a lovely madrigal for his special birthday evening. Our friends raved about the pork chop and the chicken entrees. Loved sitting at a booth in the bar ... so much to look at. Great place, classy, but not "stuffy." Only "weakness" was the oysters on half shell ... fairly small and too pricey.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierpont's at Union Station also viewed

 

Been to Pierpont's at Union Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierpont's at Union Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.